It’s 11:25 a.m., and Steve just called with a prayer request. They are out at one of our coal fired power plants doing an emissions test. They are up on one of the stacks, which are 300 feet. They are stuck because the elevator is malfunctioning. And they are in a place where they can’t even get to their safety harnesses. Please pray.

Image hosting by PhotobucketI decided I would post my reply to Suzanne as an update. The elevator is fixed and it was pretty quickly. They are fine. Thank you so much to all of you who prayed. There were many. you're special

“See, it really scared me, because of something that came to my mind first thing when I woke up this morning. One of my first thoughts was to make sure his life insurance was paid through the current date. Now why would I think that? So many, many times, God has told me things when I didn’t have a clue why. When I put those things together, it scared me. But they are fine now. When I told him my thought this morning, he said, “Maybe I just won’t go back up there today.” 


But last night, when I went to bed, Steve was already asleep because he had to leave very early this morning. When I laid down, I thought, “What if this were our last night together?” I should have realized then that something was up and I needed to pray, but my mind was too tired. I mean, I prayed, but my mind did not make any connection there.


God has given me a “heads up” before. When I was 27 weeks pregnant with our daughter, Rachel Elizabeth, I started thinking, “What if this baby were born now?” every morning for about 2 weeks, as I was taking Brandon to my mother’s house before work. She was born 2 weeks later, and she did not live very long. There have been many other times when God let me know something was not right and I needed to pray. Sometimes God has given me the answer pretty quickly to, “Why did I feel that need to pray?” Like the morning he was almost in a wreck. God woke me up and told me to pray. I later found out he was almost in a wreck at that very time. There have also been times I have felt that need to pray, and I may never know why. Like when I have been prompted to pray for Ethan.


So when I feel that need, I pray. I don’t ask too many questions. I always ask God why I felt that, but He doesn’t mind if I ask, as long as I did what He told me.


But I’m not finished praying today.  miracles_1

10 thoughts on “

  1. Thank you very much. I just talked to him and he said they got the elevator fixed so they can come down. That was quick work, because sometimes it takes a lot longer. This isn’t the first time an elevator at a plant has malfunctioned.
    See, it really scared me, because of something that came to my mind first thing when I woke up this morning. One of my first thoughts was to make sure his life insurance was paid through the current date. Now why would I think that? So many, many times, God has told me things when I didn’t have a clue why. When I put those things together, it scared me. But they are fine now. When I told him my thought this morning, he said, “Maybe I just won’t go back up there today.”  :nono:

  2. I went to get Enoch to pray, too… and when I brought him to my computer – the Lord had already answered! Praise God for HIS wonderful protection! I’m thankful with you…

  3. HE loves us so much that HE tells us to pray… because that is what will help us, the prayer is beneficial to us and to those we pray for… HE wants to commune with us, HE wants that close loving relationship with us, and HE wants us to see HE is working constantly on our behalf… HE isn’t distant…Thank you for sharing.We all need to see how important it is to pray and why…

  4. We all need to see how important it is to pray and why…
    Suzanne, I was just thinking when I read your comment, that He does also tell us why many times, for that very reason you said here. If we don’t ever see why He told us to pray, we will get discouraged and not pray. I wonder how many times he thinks, “Because I said so,” just like we tell our kids. Thank you for that comment.

  5. Wow!  So glad everyone is okay.  It’s times like this that I hate not being able to access Xanga from work!  😦  on another note… I picked up the car today and it’s great!  and my work day went smooth as glass.  So thanks for all the kind thoughts and the breathing lesson!  ha ha
    Christy

  6. That was quite an experience for them.  It is wonderful that the Lord answers our prayers. 
    You are right, when we get that nudge to pray, we shouldn’t wait.  God knows when it’s time. 
    Doug

Leave a Reply

