I heard the most beautiful song this afternoon when I was on my way to FedEx. Have you ever tried to drive with tears in your eyes? I was thinking about my oldest child getting married and how quickly the last 24-1/2 years has gone by. He’s a grown man, almost the exact age Steve was when we got married. And now Beth is grown, too, and will someday find the man God wants her to marry.
 
I ordered the accompaniment tape to this song. 

 Mark Harris – Find Your Wings
From the album The Line Between The Two

 
It’s only for a moment you are mine to hold
The plans that heaven has for you
Will all too soon unfold
So many different prayers I’ll pray
For all that you might do
But most of all I’ll want to know
You’re walking in the truth
And If I never told you
I want you to know
As I watch you grow

I pray that God would fill your heart with dreams
And that faith gives you the courage
To dare to do great things
I’m here for you whatever this life brings
So let my love give you roots
And help you find your wings

May passion be the wind
That leads you through your days
And may conviction keep you strong
Guide you on your way
May there be many moments
That make your life so sweet
Oh, but more than memories

 
I pray that God would fill your heart with dreams
And that faith gives you the courage
To dare to do great things
I’m here for you whatever this life brings
So let my love give you roots
And help you find your wings


It’s not living if you don’t reach for the sky
I’ll have tears as you take off
But I’ll cheer as you fly

 
I pray that God would fill your heart with dreams
And that faith gives you the courage
To dare to do great things
I’m here for you whatever this life brings
So let my love give you roots
And help you find your wings 

 



 
Here’s a picture we took of Mark Harris at a 4Him concert Beth and I went to almost 3 years ago.
 
markharris small 
TRIPLES with EMMA

12 thoughts on “

  1. I’ve never heard that song, but OH MY….I cried and cried when I read those words. Our oldest son is graduating from high school in less than 3 weeks, and going off to college in August. It’s really rough on me right now. I copied the words and sent them to him in an email.
    Thanks for sharing them….
    Chris

  2. Have you ever tried to drive with tears in your eyes? Yes, a number of times when  I have listened to Focus on the Family while driving! Those lyrics could be mine for my kids who have already “flown away.” But most of all I’ll want to know You’re walking in the truth — That has been my prayer for my children! Amen! :yes:

  3. :laugh:  Carolyn, I’ve done that so many times. I love to listen to Dobson and to Dr. Tony Evans. But there’s been bunches times when a song came on that really touched me, and I cry. Every time. I know other drivers probably thought I was crazy. And try singing along while you’re crying – that’s not easy! :laugh:

  4. I’m grown?  You look grown to me. You are older than Nanny was when she had me. By about 6 months.
    I have driven with tears in my eyes numerous times   Susan, it must be a mom thing

  5. Your site’s updates are simply SPECTACULAR!  You have such a B-E-A-utiful family… you did a marvelous job being a God-fearing parent!
    P.S.
    Those lyrics are very touching…

Leave a Reply

