Updated


















On Fox News, they said this morning a woman was buried under 40 tons of gravel on I-10 in Houston. I always hate driving next to one of those trucks. They were able to dig her out and get her to the hospital.    

 


5:10 p.m.: I just saw an update – she is very lucky to be alive. I couldn’t tell for sure what she was driving, but it was something along the size of a Mustang, and the truck turned over on top of her car.

 


 

I also just heard on the news that a soldier from Katy was killed. His name was James Alexander Funkhouser, age 35. He leaves a wife and 2 daughters. Katy is part of the Houston metropolitan area. It’s about an hour from here. He was the soldier killed when CBS reporter Kimber Dozier was injured a few days ago. The Patriot Guard Riders sent out this email:

DoD Identifies Army Casualty

The Department of Defense announced today the death of a soldier who was supporting Operation Iraqi Freedom.


Capt. James A. Funkhouser, 35, of Katy, Texas, died in Baghdad, Iraq, on May 29, of injuries sustained when a vehicle-borne improvised explosive device detonated near his HMMWV during reconnaissance patrol operations. Funkhouser was assigned to the 1st Battalion, 12th Infantry Regiment, 4th Brigade, 4th Infantry Division, Fort Hood, Texas.

 


 

Think SUV’s are gas guzzlers? I just saw on the CBS news, an interview with some Air Force guys at Andrews AFB. An F-16, at full power, burns 28 gallons of fuel a minute.

 F16-08-june

Sharon (justhopingnow) has more on Mike Hermanson.



TRIPLES with EMMA


6 thoughts on “

  1. I for one am relieved to hear that she is all right.  Some of these trucks carrying heavyloads drive way too fast!!!  They need to slow down ALREADY!  Sheesh!

  2. I hate those gravel trucks, thats scary. She is lucky to be alive.
    My prayers go out to the friends and family of the soldier who lost his life.
    Melodie


  3. To be honest — crying spells. I was earlier thinking of course about his family and friends how horrible/sad for them. So I have no room to think about myself–this really had just struck my hard. By the way I was thinking I did this-and I was right. As I had mentioned I had visited Mike’s site last week and did not leave a post. Well I did send an email:
    Tue 23 May 2006 04:28:20 PM EDT
    Sending a quick note. Hope this finds you and everyone doing great. Let us know (believe it or not people does care) how you are doing. Take Care, Sharon in GA
    ***
    For some reason I kinda hope he had read it–but then I noticed the time.
    I plan to have a special remembrance for him and Adam tomorrow–not sure what right now. Thanks again for everything, Sharon in GA — by the way just think someone in GA communicating with someone in Iraq that got killed, then let people know — including YOU! in Texas, you shared and now the Patriot Riders (look at the posts about Mike) – helping Mike’s family and friends in North Dakota–
    I had already done that. Thank you so much.

  4. Makes me sad.  I just said a prayer for his family.
    I hate to be around truck when I am on the road.  They do travel way too fast.  I don’t have to deal with it much in our little town though.  Hooray!
    Have a good evening Cindy,
    Cynthia

  5. Oh, Sharon, there is an 8 hour time difference between you and them. When you sent that, the time was actually 12:28 A.M. on May 24. I am so sorry he did not see it. The funeral is at noon in Fargo, which is 1:00 your time. We should all remember to pray for them during the funeral.
     
    There’s an interesting website where you can figure time differences: http://www.timeanddate.com. When Ethan was in Iraq, I always had to stop and figure what time it was there when I sent an email. We had a 9 hr difference.
     

Leave a Reply

