We are finally home. The hurried activities of Christmas are all over.


Yesterday in the morning service, those of us who went caroling the week before, sang “Away in a Manger” for the special music. After the service, we took Ashley out to eat with us at IHOP. She’s the girl from church who is dating David, the boy I told you about in an earlier post. He does not mind that she is a little overweight, because he likes what he sees on the inside. Remarkable, I think, for a 16 year old.


Ashley is very entertaining. We laughed so hard and so long, our waiter actually asked if we were laughing at him. We assured him we were laughing at Ashley. I know people thought we had been drinking. Ashley has the ability to say things that make her appear to be not all that intelligent (although she is), and Brandon has the ability to make the most out of it.


At 7:00, we had a candlelight Christmas Eve service, and a friend of Beth’s went with us. Beth and I both sang at that. Then Brandon and Rachael came over to open gifts. We gave them a barbeque grill, a Scrabble game, and some odds and ends. They gave us a Red Lobster gift certificate. Now Steve and I can have a date night   We got Beth a new bed, which was the biggest part of her Christmas gifts. She also got some pj’s, a picture frame, and a couple of new Air Force t-shirts. Brandon and Rachael gave her their old tv, because they got the new 61″ tv. Beth gave me a pretty candle in one of my favorite scents. It has a little mosaic shade on it, that makes it look like a lamp. I’m kind of a candle collector. I love a lot of candles. She gave Steve a new computer bag. He was very much in need of one.


I was in Walmart the other day, picking out some sterling silver earrings for Beth and Rachael. I was thinking I was glad I didn’t have to pick out earrings for Brandon, too.


After they left, I made a lemon pie, chocolate pie and started on the meat for the enchiladas. We decided to have a Mexican food dinner this year. This morning I made 72 enchiladas.


Today, we went to my sister, Heather’s house. All my sisters, their families and my parents get together on Christmas Day. My aunt and uncle also came, as well as Kathryn, one of the ladies from church.


My parents gave each of us daughters a copy of our maternal grandparents’ marriage license. I already had my paternal grandparents’ original license, so now I have both.


We had a good time. We always do when we get together. We laugh so much and enjoy each other’s company. My nephew Michael, and Holly, are getting married next December. We tried to give them advice today on their differences in sleeping habits. I guess you had to be there, but it was hilarious.


I am fixing to go make a pot of coffe, and then sit down and read the newspaper. I haven’t been able to do that in a couple of days.


Here’s the back of the shirt Bethany wore today:


Beth's shirt


Five days till Ethan comes home.

 




TRIPLES with EMMA

One thought on “

  1. :sunny: Cindy,
    Your plans for New Year’s Eve sounds like fun! We didn’t want to drive anywhere. We’re the only Christians in our cul-de-sac. So this is a chance to be with our neighbors for Jesus. The good news is no one drinks during this activity because there are children involved…I thought that was pretty cool. So we hang out and talk and of course Jesus always comes up in the conversation.
    God bless you!
    Cynthia :wave:

Leave a Reply

