Update 7:30…My heart is kind of heavy with something I’ve learned. I can’t share it publicly, but my unspoken request could use some prayer.


bestill_1  



It’s cold and rainy and yucky outside today. 


For Christmas, I made my sisters each a jar of spiced tea and one of spiced oranges. So this morning, my sister, Laurie, emailed and said her co-workers at NASA all wanted the tea recipe. So here it is, in case anyone else would like it. I combined two recipes to make my own version:


2 cups instant tea mix with lemon, 2 cups instant orange breakfast drink (Tang), 1 small packet lemon Kool-Aid, 1 cup sugar, 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1 tsp. ground cloves, and 3/4 tsp. ground ginger. Mix well and store in airtight container. To serve, put 2 tsp. in a cup and add 8 oz. hot water.


That makes a lot of tea (about 2 quarts), so you can always cut it in half if you want. She said she and her co-workers made a cup and added a slice of the spiced oranges I made. So here’s the recipe for the spiced oranges:


Slice one orange (leave rind on) and put in quart canning jar. Add 1 cup Karo, and 1/4 cup molasses. Add 2 large cinnamon sticks and 1 tablespoon whole cloves. Then add as much boiling water as is needed to bring liquid to 1/2 inch of the top of the jar. Seal. (Honey can be substituted for the Karo and molasses.)


lovednotunderstood_chasity


I’ve been reading more old posts that are just too good not to be read over and over again.
 


TRIPLES with EMMA

14 thoughts on “

  1. Hi, Suzanne….I wish it was sunny here. Our cats are begging to go outside, and they don’t understand, “It’s raining…you’ll get wet.” πŸ˜† They look at me like they are thinking, “So???”

Leave a Reply

