Update 11:10 p.m…..Most people left church around 8:30 tonight, but Steve, Brandon, Rachael and I stayed till a little after 10:00 talking to Mark. He really needed to talk. He also needed to laugh some, and we did that. About 9:30, the Stone family stopped back by when they saw we were still there. They had taken their 3 dogs for a walk, so they stayed and talked. Mark said he has slept about 4 hours in the last 3 days.


Ashley called Mark tonight while we were still at the church. She wants to talk now. When she got caught, she didn’t want to talk. And she talked to him in that smart-alecky teenaged way that just makes a parent want to slap them. She complained about how all her freedoms were taken away and she didn’t care what happened to her. She was happy to be going to Minnesota, because she had wanted to go live with her aunt. But she didn’t know she was going to be in a drug treatment program. I guarantee she won’t like this. The school counselor and DARE officer told Mark that she will call and beg to come home, and when she does, he must tell her no. They said it was important to shock her, and to let her know she was not going to get what she wants. I don’t know if Mark can go through with that. But I hope he will listen to what these professionals are telling him now.


I don’t think I mentioned that she had been stealing money from him to buy the drugs, but was putting her own money from her job in her savings account. She managed to save $1000, while spending his money on drugs. She was high when they pulled her out of class on Thursday. She tried to fool the DARE officer, but he knew better.


Last night Bethany took Candice and Jordan out for a hamburger, and then they stopped by Brandon and Rachael’s apartment. They had not ever been there. That was her hot date. I started babysitting Candice when she was 8 months old, and still kept them in the summer and after school till about 3 years ago. I started keeping Jordan when she was born. Candice is about to be 15 in June, and Jordan will be 13 in August. They still like to hang out with Beth. They are like her little sisters.


This is Candice, Brandon and Jordan at the wedding in November:


Brandon with Candice and Jordan


Update 3:10 p.m….We are back up and running now. So far the problems seem to be fixed. But now I have to leave again   I accidentally deleted the previous post, ladies, so your comments are gone. I’ll finish this when I get home.


 cat44


Hopefully I will be able to update tonight. Steve has been installing some updates on the computer, and right now, programs are not behaving as they should  Hopefully he can fix those problems tonight. Our email is not even working right now.


After our evening service, we have our next financial management class.


Beth is still sick.


Mark is not in good shape. Every time he tries to speak, he cries. This thing with his daughter (in the last post) has really got him torn apart. He needs lots of prayer. It’s hard to watch him go through this.

TRIPLES with EMMA

9 thoughts on “

  1. Gee, I don’t remember what my comment was. :fun:Short-timers. Oh well, have a good evening. Doug is at David’s house painting and I have to go by there and pick him up for church tonight.

  2. Thanks, Sue. I’ll tell her. And we just can’t help but want to help Mark. He is a very special friend. :heartbeat: Ashley called him while we were at the church talking. All of a sudden, she wants to talk to him.

  3. I said a prayer for Mark and Ashley.  So many of our teens have so much stuff in their life. It hurts my heart. We kept three boys one weekend, they are 18, 16 and 14. The 18 year old is a displaced teen. He is a senior that will not be able to graduate because he failed every class one semester. His parents kicked him out because they couldn’t “afford him”.  We have offered to let him live with us, but we are “too strict” with our rules, you know, the ones like: we will know where you are and who you are with, you are to home by midnight on the weekend and by 10 on school nights, keep your room clean, we are not your servants.  Tough rules like that. He was staying with a single mom of the other two boys we kept. The first night I cooked dinner, set the food on the table, we all sat down, said the blessing and the 18 year old looked around and said “this is probably the first down I have sat a table and had a meal in at least 2 years”.   The other boys also said they never eat at the table. They make a plate and take it to their bedroom and eat. I have a living room/kitchen combo now. The TV was on and I noticed one of the boys couldn’t eat for watching TV, I got up and turned off the TV. It was a shock to his system. I told him dinner for a family was a time to eat and discuss the days events.All three boys had the strangest look on their faces. I made it a point that every meal we had while they were with us, was at a properly set table. This has really hurt my heart. Even with the crazy hours I use to work, we always, ALWAYS had one meal together.  The other two may have just been one of the parents, but those meals were eaten at the table.  Doug said last night to the church in his message:  “Kids learn more from what is caught than what is taught. Make sure you kids catch you living right, by God’s standards, by this book (the Bible)”.  Sad world for kids today.

  4. He is exactly right….they learn more from example. And that is what Ash has learned because her mom is an addict.
    We didn’t always sit down together for meals at the table. We  many times sat in the living room to eat, but we usually all ate at the same time. Until the kids were grown. They did prefer most times to eat in their rooms then. But I don’t mind. Gosh you have such strict rules :laugh:
    You know, that’s something that doesn’t make much sense to me. It is so easy to just do what’s asked of you. Those rules would not be hard at all to follow, since they aren’t extreme. It’s just the rebellious side saying, “You’re not going to make me do anything I don’t want to do.”
    It’s the same thing people say to God.

  5. Are y’all doing Dave Ramsey’s course? I listen to him every afternoon on the radio, but haven’t met anybody who’s done the class! Let me know what you think of it!

Leave a Reply

