Here, Lauryn….these are for you:
Fresh Strawberries    
 
 I have had Fox News on most of the day, listening to coverage of the Virginia Tech shootings. Much is being made about whether or not NBC was wrong to show the videos and photos that Cho Seung-Hui made of himself. Fox has chosen not to show the videos, although they have shown a couple of the photos. It’s been said that the videos are upsetting to people. I don’t know what it says about me, but they do not bother me. Sure, this was a troubled young man. Normal people don’t make videos like he did. But seeing the videos and photos is not anymore upsetting than just knowing what he did. It’s not like he actually shot somebody on the videos. I’ve seen the videos and I just look at them as one more piece of evidence.
 
Just wanted to let you all know that Bethany is doing much better. The abdominal pain is only occasional and her respiratory infection is much better. She is off today as a regular day off, but she had enough energy to run to the grocery store. And she’s starting to be hungry again. She has now lost 14 lbs. She has to work Saturday, and then Monday is the day she has federal jury duty.
 
It’s steak, rice, green beans and biscuits for dinner.
 
Our phone works again!
 
Thought I’d do a slide show of animals sleeping at our house:
 








t385882 t385882 t385882 t385882 t385882 
 
I haven’t picked on you in a long time. I’m way overdue.


This morning, I saw the blog of someone I use to subscribe to. This person obviously did not like Sanjaya on American Idol. Now, not many people thought he was good. I have not been watching the show (I saw it once this season), but Bethany said his voice isn’t bad. He’s not the best of the group, but he wasn’t the worst, either. He needs some training.
 
But most of you know there was a person who started a website, where you can vote for the worst contestant. He was on Letterman Tuesday night. He and his friends thought it would be funny to get as many votes for Sanjaya as they could, just to keep him on the show. None of them really liked him, but they wanted him to stay. I understand Howard Stern got in on a similar deal.
 
Sanjaya is a 17 year old boy. His hopes were artificially kept up by people who were actually ridiculing him for their own amusement. He is a person with feelings, hopes and dreams. And last night when he lost, he cried. He was obviously crushed.
 
I’m sure he knew about the websites. Most people who watched the show knew about them. But still, at 17, he couldn’t help but get his hopes up. He is not yet mature enough to fully understand the meanness of people.
 
I saw a blog this morning that completely ridiculed this boy. Just downright made fun of him, his music and his appearance. And she got a whole long list of people to agree with her point of view.
 
I think that’s very sad. These are people who call themselves Christians. It’s one thing to simply say you didn’t think he had a chance, or you didn’t like his voice. It’s a whole ‘nother thing to go on the internet and ridicule and make sport of someone for your own enjoyment. Or so that you can be very popular with a crowd of people who likes to ridicule.
 
I know…..people ridicule others all the time. People make fun of others. People are mean. Doug said it best in a post earlier this week, when he said (among other things) that people  are mean, selfish and childish.
 
But they shouldn’t do it. They should remember to treat others the way they would like to be treated.
 
Luke 6:30-31…..Do to others as you would have them do to you. NIV
 
Many problems could be avoided if people would remember that.
 
Gal 5:14-15…..14 The entire law is summed up in a single command: “Love your neighbor as yourself.”   15 If you keep on biting and devouring each other, watch out or you will be destroyed by each other.  NIV

And we wonder why some people snap under the meanness of others, and shoot large numbers of people. 







TRIPLES with EMMA

23 thoughts on “

  1. Well, I have to agree with you.  That’s the entire reason I don’t even watch the show.  I can’t stand to see these people up there, even if they are doing it just for 15 minutes (more like 15 seconds) of fame be ridiculed.
    How’s Bethany?
    :sunny:
    Christy

  2. Hi, Christy….she’s feeling a lot better today. She is off work today as a regular day off. The abdominal pain is less and less each day, and her cough even sounds better. :yes:

  3. Cindy,
    I love the slide show of the ‘animals’, hee hee.
    Glad to hear Bethany is beginning to feel better. Thank you Lord.
    cynthia :heartbeat:

  4. “I use to subscribe to, a few minutes ago” :giggle:
    So did you unsubscribe after 20 minutes?? 😆
    I do agree with your point of view…Olivia wants to try for AI when she’s old enough, but I don’t know if I’m willing to let her go through that torture.  I think she’s good enough to make it, but there will always be lots of criticism in that type of venue.
    I’m with my sister…I’ve never been into the whole American Idol thing.
    Sooo glad to hear that Bethany is doing better…that’s got to be a relief!

  5. great post. The old saying Sticks and Stones may break my bones but words could never harm me, just isn’t true. Words are much more hurtful that sticks and stones. Words can lead to the mental instability that results in such tragedy as what happened this week at VT.

  6. Hi love your site….I think it’s the first time I visited.  It’s so nice to meet someone born the same year that I was…and my birthday is March 25TH…:wave::wave:  I look forward to reading all your weblogs. Love the kitties sleeping…adorable.  Have a blessed evening!

  7. I watched this season and was at a loss as to how he was staying on until I finally heard what was happening. I am surprised that the people responsible showed up on Letterman. Sounds like a power thing. It was sad to watch Sanjaya leave because of all that we now know. But I am sad when most of them leave.
    WOw your daughter lost alot of weight! I am glad she is better now!
    :sleepy: Those animal sleeping pics looks alot like our house! lol
    Kerri

  8. Yes! I have one friend!! You know, your animal slide show was the highlight of my day yesterday! There’s just something about sleeping critters ❤ I’m a FoxNews junkie as well. Do you ever watch any of the evening shows? O’Reilly, etc? Anyway, about Sanjaya… you know, I thought he was pretty good! Much better than the average bear, and MUCH less annoying than the scantily clad contestants. I haven’t followed the show much – in fact, this season is the first one I ever really watched at all – but I did like that Melinda girl until I found out she was a backup singer for someone (forget who)… for some reason that kinda takes my interest in her away… seems unfair. I like the thought of a “nobody” being discovered. She’s already been discovered in some capacity!

  9. You’ll have your list of friends back in no time.  I have watched some of those shows like O’Reilly. I don’t normally watch them, as a rule. We watch other stuff in the evening. But if I want to know what’s going on during the day, Fox News is the one to watch.
    Yeah, I agree….American Idol should be somebody that’s just being discovered. I really didn’t think Sanjaya was that bad at all. Bethany found some video clips of him yesterday and I listened. He isn’t polished, but he will be in time. He’s just a kid. I think people should be punished for all the mean things they’ve said about him. They should grow up.

Leave a Reply

