Beth was home for lunch and said that Manuel has been telling her that for her 21st birthday he’s going to take her out and get her drunk. I’m quite sure she gave him that “go jump in the biggest lake you can find and don’t come back up” look that she has perfected over the years. She told him she didn’t think so. He kept saying, “Just a couple of Margaritas.” She told him it wasn’t happening.


But the other women there started asking him if Beth was back to #1 on his list…right there in front of her. He didn’t say anything. They also wanted to know what he was planning on doing once he got her drunk. He didn’t answer that one, either. Sounds like her Daddy needs to go over there and introduce himself  Manuel will be dwarfed in his presence.


Back when Manuel first started hitting on Beth, the other ladies said he had “high hopes”. She’s 5’10” tall….he’s….quite a bit shorter. She found out today that he does not have a driver’s license. He has a car, and he drives, but doesn’t have a license. The guy is 27 years old. He’s studying to get one, but I don’t think that will persuade the cops not to give him a ticket if he gets caught.


silver glitter


This is a change of subject, but I have been thinking about some things. Yes, I know….that’s dangerous. But this is aimed at those of us who are Christian.


When others see us, and our behavior, do they know for sure, without a doubt, that we live by God’s word? Scary thought.


We all slip up. None of us are perfect.


Rom 3:23-24…..23 for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God, NIV


But do we stay down there, or do we get back up and ask forgiveness? Do we actually try to live by all of God’s words, or do we pick and choose which ones we want to follow? I’m probably going to step on some toes here, but…it’s not the first time and I’m reasonably certain it won’t be the last. 


Gen 2:24……24 For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and they will become one flesh.  NIV

That says he will become one flesh with his wife. Not his girlfriend. Or boyfriend. Not a one night stand. Wife.  


Wait a minute….keep reading. Don’t stop now because you don’t like where this is headed! 


1 Cor 6:18-20……18 Flee from sexual immorality. All other sins a man commits are outside his body, but he who sins sexually sins against his own body. 19 Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; 20 you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your body.  NIV


Gal 5:19-21……19 The acts of the sinful nature are obvious: sexual immorality, impurity and debauchery; 20 idolatry and witchcraft; hatred, discord, jealousy, fits of rage, selfish ambition, dissensions, factions 21 and envy; drunkenness, orgies, and the like. I warn you, as I did before, that those who live like this will not inherit the kingdom of God.  NIV


Eph 5:3-4……3 But among you there must not be even a hint of sexual immorality, or of any kind of impurity, or of greed, because these are improper for God’s holy people.  NIV


Col 3:5……5 Put to death, therefore, whatever belongs to your earthly nature: sexual immorality, impurity, lust, evil desires and greed,  NIV


1 Thess 4:3-5……3 It is God’s will that you should be sanctified: that you should avoid sexual immorality; 4 that each of you should learn to control his own body in a way that is holy and honorable, 5 not in passionate lust like the heathen, who do not know God;  NIV

Prov 5:15-21……
15 Drink from your own well, my son-be faithful and true to your wife. 16 Why should you beget children with women of the street? 17 Why share your children with those outside your home? 18 Be happy, yes, rejoice in the wife of your youth. 19 Let her breasts and tender embrace satisfy you. Let her love alone fill you with delight. 20 Why delight yourself with prostitutes, embracing what isn’t yours? 21 For God is closely watching you, and he weighs carefully everything you do.  TLB

Some of these scriptures are talking to men, but they do not hold true only for men. Women should not engage in sexual immorality either. That is….sex outside of a marriage.


Now…..here’s where I am going to step on toes. Ladies….some of you are living with someone you are not married to, while calling yourself Christian. That is wrong. You need to either live separately, or get married. Some of you are sleeping with someone you are not married to. That is wrong. You need to wait till after the wedding.


Don’t think that just because you haven’t seen anything bad happen, that God is approving of the arrangement. Or that He doesn’t see. He isn’t. He sees. Even if you are not Christian, He doesn’t approve. But if you are Christian, He is grieved that you have chosen to directly defy His word.


When we do what God says not to do, we step out from under His protection, just like when a child wanders off from their parent in a shopping mall. And then we are fair game for all kinds of things that Satan would like to throw into our pathways. Like a host of diseases you don’t want to get. Don’t think that condoms protect. Don’t think that there really is such thing as safe sex. Latex does not stop the transmission of diseases. I know my cousin would tell you that, if he had not already died of AIDS.


Ex 15:26……26 He said, “If you listen carefully to the voice of the LORD your God and do what is right in his eyes, if you pay attention to his commands and keep all his decrees, I will not bring on you any of the diseases I brought on the Egyptians, for I am the LORD, who heals you.”  NIV


Yes, that was written to the Jews. But the Jews are a picture of the Christians, and the Egyptians are a picture of non-Christians. Obey God and He will greatly bless. He will not bring on us all the diseases the others get, if we obey Him. Do things according to the way He designed them. He isn’t trying to keep anything good from you. He isn’t trying to cheat you out of a little fun.


Do it His way, and be blessed. Do it your own way, and suffer. It’s your choice. But do you really think you know better than God? Satan did. He challenged God. He thought, “I’ve got a better way!” And we already know what his fate will be.


Is sex alright IN a marriage? OF COURSE IT IS! We were actually asked that once by a woman at church, who had just started coming to church. And how do you think we grow our churches? From the inside


The Bible does not limit what a husband and wife can do together. You must respect each other and if something is degrading to one of you, don’t do it. Don’t make one do something they find objectionable.


Luke 6:31……31 Do to others as you would have them do to you.  NRSV


Eph 5:28-29……28 In this same way, husbands ought to love their wives as their own bodies. He who loves his wife loves himself.  NIV


If you follow God’s rules, He will bless beyond belief. Do you want to spend the rest of your life wondering how much better it could have been, if you had only obeyed? 


TRIPLES with EMMA

26 thoughts on “

  1. My 21st birthday was spent near the beach, with lots of BBQ and yes, alcohol. I was also stupid and got a tattoo a few weeks prior. It’s very small, just plain black and in the extreme lower middle of my back. Ironically, it means Purity. :hammer: How stupid I was at 21!

  2. Now…..here’s where I am going to step on toes.
    Well, my toes aren’t stepped on but that was one of the biggest reasons Ron and I split up.  I just couldn’t handle doing “wrong” anymore!
    Now I can :sleepy: just fine at night!
    😀

  3. 😆 Sorry, Christy…..while you were posting, I was altering the smiley faces. I’m adding some and taking out some. I sure hope I get them all right! :giggle:

  4. I have often read your xanga posts… about your family, life, beliefs and I respect them a lot – and I’ve heard you mention how tall Beth is, and whenever you mention it… something is usually said about how it would be nice if she ended up with a taller man… to be completely honest this desturbs me somewhat… well maybe “disturb” isnt the correct word.
    Basically, I am curious why you’ve mentioned this and why other people have expressed the desire to see her with a man who is taller than she is. For one thing, if God deems it fit for Beth to eventually gets married, why does it matter how tall he is?
    I have a sister who is 5’7″ and she married a man who is 5’3″… she mentioned to me how for the longest time she was selfconscious because she was “taller than her husband”  and how “women should be shorter” – which is not true, and if it is…. where in the Bible does it say that women should look for men taller than them and men should seek women who are shorter?
    I know society places a large emphasis on looks and sex-appeal, and I will admit, my personal preference is to have the guy my height or an inch or two taller… but I also know men who find tall women EXTREMELY attractive, who are rather short themselves… and I know the Bible places men in a role of leadership who are supposed to be stronger and initiators as well as spiritual leaders… and I know men in general are the physically “stronger” sex, but does that necessarily deem it correct for us to have the mindset of seeking men (preferably) who are taller than us? And as I said above, I have personal preferences… but I was in love with my fiancee’s character before I was with his height and other physical attributes.
    My sister, the one I mentioned before – her name is Brianna and her husband’s name is Matthew… and she told me one day she no longer felt bad or “ashamed” or “weird” about the fact he was shorter because his heart, and character was so amazing… and the fact when they’re 80 they’ll both look completely different in all aspects it doesnt matter at all. What matters is the character of the man and his strength and worthiness is not displayed in his height, but the height he acheives to reach from his heart.
    I am not saying that you or other people are “concerned about looks” more than you should be… I was merely curious as to what you think about it and I’ve been thinking about the subject for a long time, both from what other people have said and my own personal experience.
    My personal experience being – I got rid of most of my heels because I did not want my fiancee feeling bad when we would go out together… because he had mentioned an insecurity about height to me early in our relationship – and I knew if he felt bad, it wasnt exactly my fault… but I could help make him feel better by doing something to help the situation, such as getting rid of my unnecessary heels since we are exactly the same height.
    I dont know… I just am very passionate about the issue, and for some reason this blog in particular brought back all the things that have been on my heart and in my mind for a long time…
    The young man you mentioned who wished to take Beth out for her birthday… I do not know him, so I admit my knowledge of him, Beth, and you will be extremely limited, but I think he does not respect her and I think Beth should continue to give him those silent looks of disproval and annoyance… and I think you are a very loving mother and I am amazed at how close you still are with your children even though most of them are on their own (from my understanding)…
    So, I hope you dont mind me just rambling and spilling all my thoughts onto your page… I’ll continue to pray not only about the issues I’ve mentioned but for you, and for God to bless Beth with a man of stoutheart no matter his height :flirty:
    -Lana

  5. Well, Lanora, first I think you read waaaay too much into the being taller thing. We joke about it a lot. If she fell in love with a man who was shorter than she is, then that would be fine. None of us would have any problem with it. We have always joked about her needing a basketball player.
    My daughter-in-law’s parents are that way….he is shorter than she is. We have friends in Michigan that Steve went to high school with….he is shorter than she is. They are all good people, there is nothing wrong with it.
    You are right….Manuel does not have respect for Bethany….at least not as far as dating her. He has one thing on the brain, and it isn’t respect. That’s another thing we joke about….a lot.
     
    We joke….a lot.

  6. Hrm, it did the same thing with someone else’s Xanga too… kinda odd. In any case, it said something to the effect of that this guy doesn’t really sound like he’s near deserving of Beth anyway… and really should take a hint… and that although I’m not one to talk about the age at which he is not licensed, you’d think if he was already illegally driving it wouldn’t be that big of a deal for him to take the test, since obviously he’s had lots of practice anyway

  7. :laugh: Since I know something about Manuel, I’m thinking he might not even be able to pass the test. 😮
    Thank you Scott. He is definitely not deserving of her. Not that I think my kids are perfect or anything. But he has only one thing on his mind. Forging a lasting, spiritually satisfying relationship is not it 😆 And I would worry about somebody like him, with the work ethic he has….or doesn’t have in this case. He just doesn’t want to work. I almost said “like” to work. I would like to be financially independent, too, but he takes the cake. He was working in the garden department, doing things like loading mulch and other things into vehicles, putting up displays, etc. Manual labor. Or “Manuel” labor :p  But he asked to go back to being the guy that gathers the carts in the parking lot, because the other was too much work. 🙄
    Oh, and Beth is stronger than he is, apparently. :giggle:  She can manage to do some heavy lifting that he just can’t seem to do.

  8. Excellent post, Cindy!:goodjob::love:
    And I’m going to play with  your cute new smileys! :sleepy::whew::what::hammer::ROTFL::steamed::sigh::hmmmmm::question::oh-no::grin::brokenheart::flirty::love:
    :wave:cj

Leave a Reply

