Go here for some really cute pictures.


It’s Chinese food for dinner, Christy


My favorite candle use to be vanilla, but I am changing. I believe I now like Hazlenut Creme even more. Beth got me one for Christmas and I had to get  another one today. I use to have to be careful with candles at my house. But now there is nobody here to have candle-spitting contests


I had the link to this video on about a month ago, but Suzanne sent me the YouTube version today. So I wanted to post it again.


We cannot forget those who are fighting this war.

 


dcuboots 



I’m watching Fox News right now. We are under a tornado watch till 5:00 p.m. It’s nasty out there. Last night, 10 people were killed by a tornado in the Eagle Pass area. Brazoria County, which is next to Harris Co., where we are, has been under a tornado warning till 11:15 a.m.


rose cluster


Interesting comment on my last post. I did not want people to misunderstand our joking, so I thought I would do a post about it.


 We joke a lot about Bethany being tall, and needing someone taller than her to marry.  I have commented a number of times that I wonder if  Yao Ming is married. He is on the Houston Rockets basketball team, and is 7’6″ tall.


I think most women are drawn to men taller than they are. They want someone they can “look up to”, literally. Someone who is bigger and stronger. Someone who seems like they can protect them.


I think most men are drawn to women who are shorter than they are (or at least not taller)….for the opposite of the above reasons. They want someone they can protect…someone who needs their protection. I think it is a natural preference. There should be nothing particularly disturbing about those preferences.


But do I think it is absolutely necessary? Do I think the Bible says a woman must be shorter? Of course not! Physical appearance does not matter.


Scripture says that even Jesus was not an attractive man:


Isa 53:2…..He had no beauty or majesty to attract us to him, nothing in his appearance that we should desire him.  NIV


Have you ever wondered why?


Look at people we consider attractive today. Look at the Hollywood types. Are people attracted to them because of their character or their qualities? No. People are attracted to them because of their beauty and their money. Selfishness. It’s a “what’s in it for me” attitude.


Jesus wanted people to come to Him for who He was. For who He still is. Not what He looked like. And God knew that other humans would put all the value on looks, and little on character or purpose.


We have friends who do not fit the typical “male taller than female” stereotype: our daughter-in-law’s parents and a couple Steve went to school with. And there is a sweet lady in our church who was taller than her husband, who is no longer living. Her name is Emma. She was always tall and thin, and very regal looking. Norris was shorter than her. He was a wonderful man. Very sweet. And she loved him dearly. (I found out just 3 or 4 years ago that he was a very distant cousin of mine – the 2nd distant cousin that I knew from church, but didn’t have a clue we were related.)


When Steve and I started dating, people joked about our height difference. People told me I should leave the tall man for taller women, because tall women have a hard time finding tall men.  He is 6’4″ tall…I am about 5’2″ – and a half! Short people always look for any extra height they can, so I’m putting that 1/2 inch in there!   


I took a lot of ribbing about my height when I was younger. There was a song popular in the ’70’s called Short People. My uncle use to sing it to me all the time. I always wanted to be taller. It’s difficult to reach the top shelves….or even middle shelves….of kitchen cabinets when you are short. (Right, Lauryn?  ) My maternal grandfather was only 5’6″ tall. My grandmother was about 5’5″, so they were not much different in height.  But my grandfather’s parents were Mutt and Jeff, just like Steve and me. He was 6’2″; she was not quite 5′.


If Beth fell in love with a man who was shorter than her, there would be nothing wrong with that. She did date a guy who was just a little shorter. (He turned out not to be an upstanding young man like we had hoped, but it had nothing to do with height.)


Height doesn’t matter. Weight doesn’t matter. Skin color doesn’t matter. “Race” doesn’t matter. (The Bible does not mention different races. It mentions different tribes and tongues, but the only race it mentions is the human race.)


1 Sam 16:7…..7 But the LORD said to Samuel, “Do not consider his appearance or his height, for I have rejected him. The LORD does not look at the things man looks at. Man looks at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart.”   NIV


(But she does have a police officer friend in Oklahoma that is 6’4″  )


TRIPLES with EMMA

19 thoughts on “

  1. 😆 Yeah…I always wore heels when I was younger. Now that I’m old, you will only catch me in them on Sundays, and only then when my arthritis will allow me to wear them.

  2. Cindy,
    Charlie and I are like you and Steve. Charlie is 6 ft., 4 in. and I’m 5 ft., 2 in. I like being short, LOL. Never wished to be taller.
    God bless you.
    Cynthia :heartbeat:

  3. :wave:Just wanted to stop by and say hi ~ I too homeschooled (still am) I have one 21 year old and a 16 year old so I have 2 more years left then I will be finished with the homeschool part ~  Have a great day and come by for a visit ~

  4. :sunny: I wouldn’t know what to think if any of us were tall we are short here. I think I put the heels up years ago I am into comfort. Does that mean I am getting old?? :question: The weather last night was terrible. I stayed close to the tv to watch for weather updates. Especially the storms with rotation in them. Stay safe and have a good evening.
    ~~Blessings to you~~

  5. Hey woman!!  I tried to comment on your other post earlier today but the DSL at work was down for a while…arrrggg!  Kudos on the previous post, excellent values to teach our youth today…and a stern reminder to those who are married.
    I know the perfect gift that Manuel can give to Bethany…and it won’t cost a dime!  72 hours without Manuel! :hmmmmm:

  6. :hammer:     :ROTFL:
    Sorry…those are from Savannah.  She calls them her blinking “babies” and everytime she spots them, has to pick some.  She only got to pick two tonight cause she’s supposed to be in bed!
    “Good night, Miss Cindy” ~Savannah

Leave a Reply

