My car’s back

















 

Zits 5-22-07

 

Update 6:15….I got my car back! I then went to the bank and grocery store…because I can

 

I was just listening to an interview on the news with Rockets player Yao Ming and former Rocket, Hakeem Olajuwon. The Rockets wanted Hakeem to work out with Ming. I was impressed with Yao Ming. Hakeem commented on how well Yao Ming has picked up English, because when he came here, he spoke NO English. He had an interpreter/teacher assigned to him when he came here. Yao Ming said, “What did you expect? I’ve been here 5 years!”   That’s an attitude not found here much. Too many immigrants expect us to change all our street signs and print everything in at least 2 languages, so they won’t have to bother to learn English.

 

Grrr…..I’m reading the bill for the bloodwork that Beth had the night we went to the ER. They did a pregnancy test on her. I guess they didn’t believe us.

 

sunflower

I’m just waiting for the shop to call and say the car is ready.

Not much to say. I’m kind of struggling with my depression some again. It actually never goes away (it’s caused by a neurological problem), but it’s usually manageable. However, when a lot of things happen at once that kind of overwhelm me, I feel myself slipping again. It doesn’t take a lot.  And I hide it pretty well most times.


Renee….I wanted to comment on your comment….about how long you and Bill have known each other. Steve and I first met when I went to work at Houston Lighting & Power in August 1975. He had gone to work there in 1974. He first asked me out in 1976, but I turned him down. I was dating someone else, and wasn’t interested. But in 1979, my interests began to change. Then, let me tell you….I got interested  He asked me out in May 1979, and on June 21, 1979, we bought my engagement ring (just 3 weeks later.) Yeah, I know…that’s fast, but we had been good friends for a while. We had lunch and coffee breaks together for many months prior to that. But he was dating someone else then. I looked forward to seeing him every day. That’s when I realized that my interests had definitely changed. And we got married that November.


Some good posts:


Pearls Before Swine


Employment opportunity


Keepers





TRIPLES with EMMA

11 thoughts on “My car’s back

  1. My parents only knew each other 3 weeks when my dad asked my mom to marry him ~  that was 45 years ago ~:love:
    Hope your afternoon is going well ~  πŸ˜€

  2. I have literally shared this scripture with 3 other people in only the past week and have gone back to it for myself lately a LOT.  After reading this I thought you might like it, too.
    Psalm 61:2  When my heart is overwhelmed, lead me to the ROCK that is higher than I.
    Love ya!Paula

  3. Just wanted to let you know that I praying for your depression. I totally know what it is like and I hate it!
    Glad that you got your car back too.  I hate not having my car! 

  4. Will be praying for you. My kids are depressing me right now. I am so ready for them to all be financially independent.  They still think money is growing on the big tree in the back yard.

    RYC: Thank you. The dress is actually a hand me down from my sister in law.:yes:

  5. It’s beautiful, Cathy. Simple and elegant looking. Thank you for the prayers. I know once things settle down a little, it will get better. Maybe I just need chocolate. πŸ˜€

  6. RYC: I wish I could bring her here but she still needs to see her other doctors and try to get the surgery rescheduled for her port for her dialysis. Plus with me in school this summer the kids would have to help her and I just don’t think that would work. I have been trying to get in touch with her today or my sister and have not been sucessful and so I am stressing about that right now.

Leave a Reply

