flaghrtbar flaghrtbar


Update 10:58 am….Here’s the bridge cam again. My sister and her husband are out in the middle of the ocean, headed for Athens, Greece, as I’m posting this at 10:58 a.m.. They sailed from Venice, Italy yesterday.


I still have not been able to get my color comment boxes to work again. So you might have difficulty reading comments unless you highlight them. It will help if you will make your comments bold.  I took out the code Sunday, when I was playing with the colors. When I went to re-install it, it would not work. This happened once before, and then they miraculously reappeared. Don’t understand that one.


Beth did go to work today. I know she’s still not feeling well, but she really needed to go back to work today. Especially with a car payment coming up. Last night she was lying on the couch and she said she felt like she was kind of “out of her body”. She sometimes has that reaction when she’s taking strong pain killers. She’s been taking Vicodin the last couple of days.




And we’ve made a new discovery. Steve is diabetic. And I’m suspecting he’s really not very happy about that.

I always thought it would be me that developed it. I was diagnosed as “borderline diabetic” when I was younger. Both my parents are diabetic. My mom was diagnosed as diabetic as a child, but she was not ever treated for it. Then when she was about 50, she was diagnosed as Type II diabetic. But she’s been diabetic all along and has kidney failure. A few years ago, the doctors were considering starting dialysis, but her kidney function improved slightly, so they didn’t have to. Her grandfather’s diabetes was never controlled, mostly because he never learned how to do it. He would eat whatever he wanted, and then take his insulin. But he frequently went into insulin shock, which is hypoglycemia caused by too much insulin.  He would pass out from his blood sugar being too low, and they’d have to call an ambulance.


My dad always says he’s not diabetic, because he’s not being treated with insulin. He knows better – he’s an extremely intelligent person. But he’s kind of in denial. Annnd….if he doesn’t have diabetes, then he doesn’t have to give up his Blue Bell Ice Cream.


The other problem is that if my mother says one thing, Daddy will say another. Doesn’t matter what she says….he’s going to say she’s wrong. The doctor said about 30 years ago that he was diabetic, but it wasn’t bad, and could be controlled by diet. But Daddy still denies it to Mamma.  He can eat a bowl of corn flakes, and his sugar goes up over 200. But one day he was getting ready to come home from the hospital after one of his heart procedures, and Mamma wasn’t there. It was just me in the room with him. And he admitted he knew he was diabetic. *Sigh* That’s pretty stubborn. But his dad was the same way. The doctor said Paw-Paw was diabetic, but it could be diet controlled. And Paw-Paw always said he wasn’t. But Paw-Paw always had to have his bowl of Melorine, which is a type of ice cream. I haven’t seen that stuff in years, but that was Paw-Paw’s favorite. And a little while after he ate it, he had to go lie down because he had one of his “spells”. I have to wonder what his sugar was going up to when he felt so bad. I suspect he was actually a type I diabetic because even as a young adult man, he was ill a lot, and nobody knew why. He felt very bad all the time. He was 30 when he married my grandmother, and I know he was unemployed a long time because he was so sick.


My nephew was diagnosed as Type I diabetic a couple of years ago. He was just shy of 20 then. He wears an insulin pump. We have a long line of autoimmune diseases in our family. One of those destroyed Justin’s insulin production. There are still doctors who know very little about diabetes. Dr. B insisted Justin was type II diabetic because type I only happens in children. How uneducated on the subject! If an autoimmune disease slowly destroys the pancreas, it might not show up until young adulthood.


As far as diabetes goes, Steve’s is not as bad as it could be. Our pastor’s son-in-law (who works for Steve), was diagnosed as type I when he was 21. His sugar was over 900  Yes, you read that right. Normal fasting blood sugar should not be over 100. It shouldn’t be over 140, 2 hours after a meal. But last night Steve’s was 202 after supper. His fasting blood sugar yesterday morning was 131.


The doctor doesn’t know yet.  Steve just wondered the other day if his sugar might be off, so he tested it. I have had a meter for years, because I have always leaned toward hypoglycemia, which is common in a diabetic family. Hypoglycemia can be a precursor to diabetes.


I believe I had gestational diabetes when I was pregnant with Bethany. But my doctor did not check for that. And I didn’t have a clue then that I might have it. I felt horrible most of my pregnancy with her – much different than the first two. I did not connect my extreme thirst during my pregnancy, to diabetes. When she was born, she was hypoglycemic. She also had trouble breathing. Babies born to moms with gestational diabetes have less mature lungs. She was also 9 lbs at birth, which was at 38 weeks instead of 40. I’m glad I didn’t go 2 more weeks. Those are all signs of gestational diabetes.


Unfortunately, the difficulties in breathing caused her to have a shortage of oxygen for a very short time after birth. But it was long enough for her to develop “minimal cerebral palsy.” We didn’t know that until she was about 18. The only sign is a slight problem with the nerves and muscles in her legs and feet. She also was a little later than normal learning to walk, but not a great deal. She was 13 months old when she walked unaided – about 2 months later than Brandon. Her legs and feet hurt a lot, and I’m sure it’s part of the MCP. She has extremely high arches in her feet, which my neurologist said shows MCP. And in her job, she’s on her feet all day, which makes the pain worse. (Thanks to Lauryn, we know about some good nursing shoes, which helps. )


 I really wasn’t expecting Steve’s sugar to be that high. It’s still in the range where it can be controlled with diet and exercise….and weight loss. Not fun. But glucose levels don’t just suddenly jump up like that in a normal person, so I wonder how long it had been high. He’s been taking cinnamon capsules for a while because we suspecting a while back that it was climbing. But he had cut back on the cinnamon.


Cinnamon has been shown to help control blood glucose levels, and cholesterol levels. You can read about it here. Or just Google “cinnamon and diabetes.” It’s really quite interesting to read the different effects spices and herbs have on our bodies. It’s almost like God knew what He was doing when he made them  He probably knew a thing or two about nutrition.


On a different note, we took the car back in to see the mechanic this morning. The AC blower motor has to be replaced, but Steve couldn’t get the old one out. Newer cars are nearly impossible for shade tree mechanics to work on, even when they have an impressive collection of tools. But they never have just the right one. We’ve spent a small fortune in the last few months, fixing that car.  




TRIPLES with EMMA

6 thoughts on “

  1. I lost two grandfathers to diabetes.it runs rampant in my family. I had gestational in three of four pregnancies. The Dr told me I would have diabetes in 10 years. That was 20 years ago. Lord willing it will stay away. I see it as a miracle. My brother may have it and he is 6 years younger. I was able to control it in my first pregnancy with diet. the 2nd i didn’t have it and in my third and fourth i had to give myself shots in the stomach. My largest baby was 8lb 8 oz. My last one they took a week early and he was 6lbs 15 oz. I have been blessed! I don’t know what tomorrow holds but for today I am praising God! Have a blessed week!

  2. Doug was a diabetic for 11 years. Since he has lost weight his diabetes is undercontrol. He went to the doctor about a month ago and was told he is officially “no longer a diabetic”.  There is a blood test called Ha1c. It gives an average reading of your blood glucose levels for the past 3 months. i.e. 7.5 Ha1c= 135 blood glucose.  Doug’s last Ha1c was 5.5 which equals a 3 month average blood glucose of 100.  That is not fasting that is an overall average. The highest reading we got was over 20 which equaled an average blood sugar of 400.  The doctor most likely checked that, but make sure.

  3. What an interesting, informative post! :goodjob: Thanks for all the info; I may check back here sometime. I’m sorry to hear that Steve has diabetes. That will take some adjustments in diet. I’d never heard of MCP…. again, great post! :love: Carolyn

Leave a Reply

