One Hundred Years


















4:30 p.m….Here comes the rain again.


Update 2:30 p.m….I bought Brandon and Rachael the serving pieces to their silverware set for a “house-warming” present. Bethany calls it a “second apartment in less than a year-warming present.”    They are supposed to get their internet and cable hooked up at the new place tomorrow.


A long time ago, I posted about our cat, Honey, who got stuck to a fly strip I had hanging from the edge of a shelf. Well, yesterday, Taz did the same thing. I had it in a spot where she jumps up on the counter, and she got stuck. She was terrified and took off running. She ran the length of the counter first, knocking off 3 drinking glasses (they were plastic). But then she took out my coffee pot   The fly strip that was stuck to her, also stuck to the glass pot when she ran past it, and pulled it off on the floor. I knew what was going to happen, but I couldn’t stop it in time. It seemed like it was happening in slow motion. And we have ceramic tiles on the floor, so as soon as that pot hit the floor, it was in pieces


My neighbor, Tracy (the one that had the kids locked in the car Monday) just called and asked me to help her look for some kittens. Not that we have to hunt for cats around here. There is another stray hanging around, and it keeps getting into a Camaro that is sitting in their side yard, just behind their gate. She’s afraid the cat has gotten in there and had some kittens. It’s kitten season here. The Camaro is actually an old one of Brandon’s, that the neighbor’s friend is buying from him.  


Just thought I’d share some more pictures. You know I like to do that. These are nothing really special. We were just sitting around last Saturday at Brandon and Rachael’s old apartment, waiting for a manager to come do the walk-through after we cleaned. She never came.


Rachael and Steve:


Apartment 015


I have no idea what Brandon was doing. Those sunglasses are a permanent fixture on his head. Sunday night, Andy threw a big pillow at him and knocked them off his head, onto a concrete floor. He was not happy. They are Oakley sunglasses, and they aren’t cheap. But it was a “throw pillow”…..


EDIT: Beth said Brandon was explaining Michael’s EOD multi-tool. I don’t know how I could have forgotten that, because it made me think of Ethan.


Brandon


And this one I took when I was shopping one day recently. It’s a company car for a pest control company. Notice the mouse ears and tail.


AC 039


kopfjaeger sweetheart


The words to the new song I added to the player are difficult to understand, so I thought I would post them for you. This is the song that Brandon and Rachael chose to use for their slide show at their wedding. Steve used pictures of each of them, from the time they were babies, ending with this picture taken a few days before the wedding, with a caption stating that this was just the beginning:


Brandon & Rachael  Nov 2006


As I listen to the song, I can see every picture of that slide show. It was one of those things that makes moms cry….and dads, and aunts, and grandmothers….


One Hundred Years


I’m 15 for a moment
Caught in between 10 and 20
And I’m just dreaming
Counting the ways to where you are


I’m 22 for a moment
She feels better than ever
And we’re on fire
Making our way back from Mars


15 there’s still time for you
Time to buy and time to lose


15, there’s never a wish better than this
When you only got 100 years to live


I’m 33 for a moment
Still the man, but you see I’m a they
A kid on the way
A family on my mind


I’m 45 for a moment
The sea is high
And I’m heading into a crisis
Chasing the years of my life


15 there’s still time for you
Time to buy, Time to lose yourself
Within a morning star


15 I’m all right with you
15, there’s never a wish better than this
When you only got 100 years to live


Half time goes by
Suddenly you’re wise
Another blink of an eye
67 is gone
The sun is getting high
We’re moving on…


I’m 99 for a moment
Dying for just another moment
And I’m just dreaming
Counting the ways to where you are


15 there’s still time for you
22 I feel her too
33 you’re on your way
Every day’s a new day…


15 there’s still time for you
Time to buy and time to choose
Hey 15, there’s never a wish better than this
When you only got 100 years to live


Pearls_Before_Swine_7-4-07


This cartoon is actually easier to read if you click on it to go to the photoblog, then click on it again to enlarge it. I couldn’t make it any bigger here.


 
 



TRIPLES with EMMA

22 thoughts on “One Hundred Years

  1. I’m glad that you put up the words… I’ve heard that song, liked the sound, but never knew what the singer was saying. Very cool! :so-cool::yes: I’m sure the combination of the song and the pictures were enough to make one 😥 ! Have a terrific Thursday, Cindy! :sunny::love::heartbeat::love:

  2. Thanks…that’s one of my favorite pictures, too. You probably know the song from the Citi Bank credit card commercials. I don’t know where I first heard it, but I heard it before the commercials, because the first time I heard the commercial, I could sing along. So I must have heard it before and just don’t remember.

  3. :wave:Hi!  I’m back!  Thanks for all the comments.  It was more difficult to work on my blog on my brother and sister-in-law’s MacBooks – especially in the Mac browser.  Only the basics worked!  :hammer:
    Beautiful photo!
    I love that cartoon – my sentiments exactly!
    hugs,
    Renee

  4. I love that song One Hundred Years. I’m hoping Annie will learn it on the piano.
    Our fourth was decent. We did more than I thought we would. We went to my sister’s for a bbq and we did a movie marathon at home.
    God bless you.
    Cynthia :heartbeat:

  5. I don’t buy expensive sunglasses for that very reason. I don’t know how many pair I have had broken. SO, I buy cheap 5.00 ones at Dollare General (sorry I am not much of a Wal Mart shopper).

  6. 😮 Not a Walmart shopper?? :nono: 😆
    Dollar General is cheaper than Walmart. He really likes the Oaklies, though, and as long as I don’t have to pay for them…..
    He says they fit him better and they are darker than ones you can get at the store. They also last longer.

  7. Did your rain ever stop?? I keep hearing how Corpus Christi is like completely under water…. isn’t that kinda close to Houston… somewhat??

  8. Corpus is several hours (4 maybe?) south of Houston. The rain has let up right now, but it’s still very cloudy, and is supposed to rain again. It rained during the night. It’s a swamp outside. I’m starting to feel like we’re living in the Everglades :hmmmmm: :sigh:
    I just came in from outside, and it is so steamy out there. The rain has lowered the temps some, but it has also contributed to the humidity.

  9. :wave: Hi Cindy…
    Honestly, before we relocated to Texas, I thought the same way, but I was only seeing some parts. Houston is one of the best places I’ve seen in Texas. Very green. My friends in California could not believe when I told them. They also have the same misconception. My former manager from San Diego was in Houston last month for a seminar and was pleasantly surprised that Houston is so green and not dry. Houston is not so crowded like it is in California, they are not so liberal and secular either, yet. :shysmile: I think it is really how we look at life. I am so in touched with God here in Houston than in California. This is where God has directed me to go. So there, they could go figure! :laugh:
    That’s a man-made lake we have in the backyard. I love the Volkswagen Bug… I almost bought one, the only thing that stopped me was the engine is in the back. There’s not that much protection in front of the driver. Do you know my husband’s name is Steve also? :giggle: Where does his Aunt live? just curious… :question:

  10. He was explaining Michael’s EOD knife in that picture.
    And a few posts ago you said that I never told Mike you said that about him in his uniform. I most certainly did tell him you said that!

  11. He was explaining Michael’s EOD knife
    Oh, yeah….I forgot. Don’t know how I could, because it made me think of Ethan.
    I thought you said you didn’t tell Mike that he looked cute in the uniform. I knew you told him he couldn’t quit, but not that he looked cute in the uniform.

  12. I can sympathize about the Oakleys. Best lenses I’ve ever had on sunglasses, hands down. But they are very susceptible to two things: fingerprints and scratches. I got mine pretty cheap through a deal Georgia Tech has with Oakley, so I snagged a spare set that’s staying in the box until my current pair gets too scratched up.You’d think they could work on that… :hammer:I keep mine in the little bag, though, because I have a tendency to hit my head on things. :oh-no:

  13. I have a tendency to hit my head on things.
    Well, that’s not good, Doug. Brandon wears his on the job, so he always has them on his head in one place or the other :giggle: But even in church, he’s got those glasses on his head. Even when he’s taking the offering. It’s like they’ve grown to him. I have actually seen him without them, though, but not very often.

  14. i love the apt pictures how neat and the cat story was just to funny and also my dear sweet cindy i am here to remind you of heart beat monday at connies site love shelly.:sunny:

  15. well even Oaklies don’t last long when they are sat on. Which is what I have a tendency to do. I get out of the car toss them in the seat, come back and sit down and feel a very strange feeling in the posterior. :rolleyes::wha::eek:

  16. I LOVE that picture of us!!!!! And I love that song! I can’t believe next month my brother and his wife will be married 1 year and then a couple months later and it’ll be Brandon and I’s 1 yr. Time seems to be going faster and faster each year.

Leave a Reply

