Bye, Sandy

12:30 a.m. Wednesday….I was just thinking about some things that Sandy did while we had her. She came to us as a stray, so we don’t know what her home life was like before. But she had been tied up because she had a rope around her neck that had been broken or chewed off. 


One day Brandon was dancing around in the living room, to the Veggie Tales song, “Where is My Hairbrush.”   Beth was sitting on the couch, and Brandon danced too close to her. Sandy tried to attack him. She did that on more than one occasion. We kind of think that she may have come from an abusive home. She seemed to think that Brandon was attacking Beth, and she was trying to stop him.


The other night, Sandy was so tired, but she couldn’t lie down comfortably, so she just stood next to me, and leaned on me.


When we got to the vet, Rachael was going to put in the IV catheter and get her ready. She couldn’t do it. She was crying as hard as we were. She sees animals put down all the time, but it’s different when it’s your own.


z17989395


 9:30 p.m….Sandy knew something was different about this visit to the vet, and she was not happy. She wouldn’t even take a treat, when last time, she ate several of them. She stood by the door, wanting to go back home. I felt so bad, because we had to nearly drag her into the vet’s office. She finally laid down on the floor, so that we could not pick her up to put her on the table. So I sat down beside her on the floor, and held her in my arms as Charmel (the vet) put the medicine in the IV catheter. She just went limp in my arms.


I know we did the right thing. It was just very hard to do. Every time I turn around, I expect her to be under my feet just like usual. But she won’t be scared of thunder anymore, and she won’t be in pain.



 


A very happy 31st anniversary to Carolyn (JusticeMom) and Mike Justice (MikeJustice)!


Prov 12:10……10 The godly are concerned for the welfare of their animals, 


Update 3:30 p.m…..I just gave Sandy a double dose of her diuretic, to help her lose some of the fluid, so she will be a little more comfortable.  I put the pills in the brisket she was eating. I’ve never had any trouble getting her to take her medicine….as long as it’s in meat or cheese, she’ll eat it. She’s having a much harder time breathing right now. I’m praying God will just go ahead and take her. It would be soooo much easier than trying to get her in the car and to the vet. She hates that.


Rachael is the vet tech, and she gets off at 5:00. But she said she would stay till we get there. Beth and I will have to take her in since Steve is working late.


She’s resting in the doggie bed right now. This is really Pepper’s bed, so Sandy is a little big for it, but she likes it anyway. If a cat gets in the bed, she will stand there and whine, trying to tell the cat (usually Taz) that she wants that bed.


Sandy 


We have an appointment at 6:30 tonight, to have Sandy put down. She just isn’t getting better. In fact, she’s much worse. The fluid that is collecting in her abdomen is pushing on her lungs and heart, and she can’t get a good breath. She can’t comfortably lie down anymore, either.


(Edit: We’ve lost a lot of animals over the years, because we have a lot of animals, but this is the first time we’ve ever actually had one put down. Rachael talked to the vet this morning, and she said it seems now like it is the best decision we can make. It’s just not easy. But not only is she miserable now, she is really cranky, and is snapping at the other animals. I’m afraid she will hurt one of them.)


Sandy is a Chow-German Shepherd mix that we took in a little over 8 years ago. She was wandering around the neighborhood with a rope tied around her neck, so I know she freed herself from somebody that kept her tied up all the time. She got pregnant the night we took her in, by a huge pure-bred German Shepherd that was also wandering around. We could never catch him. She had 6 puppies August 31, 1999. We still have 3 of them. The other 3 died of parvo.


Sandy & Beth


Sandy, Tigger, Scrawny and Honey


Beth made another M&M cake for a co-worker today. It’s his birthday. She gave me the left over M&M’s.   Everybody loves her M&M cake.


Doug Marquez < Doug   M&M cake>M&M cake 1


Myatt was a co-worker that quit last week to go into the Air Force. He came into the store yesterday, proudly wearing the Air Force shirt she gave him last week as a going away present. We find some really neat t-shirts at the “Command Post”. This is one of my favorites:




AF Shirt

30 thoughts on “Bye, Sandy

  1. God bless your family during this difficult time.  It’s such a hard thing to do…animals are so precious and members of our family.  Have you heard of the poem, the Rainbow Bridge?  You can find it on the internet.  It is always a comfort to me. 

  2. I found it and wanted to share it with you.  Blessings, Jill

    <TABLE cellPadding=10 width=”70%” border=0>
    <TBODY>
    <TR>
    <TD vAlign=top align=left>Just this side of heaven is a place called Rainbow Bridge.
    When an animal dies that has been especially close to someone here, that pet goes to Rainbow Bridge. There are meadows and hills for all of our special friends so they can run and play together. There is plenty of food, water and sunshine, and our friends are warm and comfortable.
    <TR>
    <TD align=left colSpan=2>All the animals who had been ill and old are restored to health and vigor. Those who were hurt or maimed are made whole and strong again, just as we remember them in our dreams of days and times gone by. The animals are happy and content, except for one small thing; they each miss someone very special to them, who had to be left behind.
    They all run and play together, but the day comes when one suddenly stops and looks into the distance. His bright eyes are intent. His eager body quivers. Suddenly he begins to run from the group, flying over the green grass, his legs carrying him faster and faster.
    You have been spotted, and when you and your special friend finally meet, you cling together in joyous reunion, never to be parted again. The happy kisses rain upon your face; your hands again caress the beloved head, and you look once more into the trusting eyes of your pet, so long gone from your life but never absent from your heart.
    Then you cross Rainbow Bridge together…. 
    Author unknown…

  3. Thank you for the greeting, Cindy… that is special! :heartbeat: I’m so sorry about Sandy 😦 I’m praying for you all… it’s a hard decision to make for her, but humane.:cry:

  4. awww Sandy 😥 At least Sandy had a good loving home. And wow!… I’ve never seen a dog so cozy in a pet bed before! Our dogs always ate them. RYC: no scanner, so no u/s pic 🙄

  5. I’m glad Sandy isn’t suffering anymore, I miss her. I really didn’t think I was gonna take it as hard as I did. It’s NEVER an easy decision whether it’s for your own pet or someone elses. And with even working at the vet hospital it never gets easier when that time comes for a pet. I know we made the right choice as hard as it was.

  6. I’m so sorry about Sandy.  The only other dog I have ever known with the same name is Sandy from the movie.  Camie is 14 years old.  She seems to be in pretty good shape but we keep telling ourselves she is not going to live forever.  Our last dog passed away when Camie was about 4 years old.  Stormy was 14 1/2.  We are getting to that holding your breath stage.
    I got a question for you since you are a cat lover.  Have you ever known a cat to eat pond fish?  Everyone keeps saying it is a racoon but in the 19 years we have lived here we have never ever seen a racoon in our yard.  However, the neighbor across the street let there cats run the neighborhood and we see them in our fenced in backyard quite frequently.  At the beginning of Spring all three of our fish were alive, they had survived through 3 Ohio winters.  About 2 weeks later 2 had suddenly disappeared.  I was heartsick.  They had grown from about 2″ to around 6″ in three years.  So, on Mother’s Day I went and purchased three more to add to the one left living.  These were only about 3-4″.   Last Saturday night when we returned home from vacation they were all in the pond.  Toward the end of last week we started suspecting they have disappeared again.  Arrrrrrrrrrrrrr  They stopped coming up to the top to eat.  These cats have appeared at both our front and back screen doors meowing to get in our house.  We have also seen them on our deck trying to kill the birds we were feeding through the winter and spring.  So, what do you think?  I called our county Animal Control and was told by law they are free roaming (doesn’t seem fair to me who as a dog owner must purchase a license and keep them on a leash or in a fenced yard) but if they are coming onto our property we can humanely trap them and take them to the shelter.  This is what we are going to attempt to do.  Tomorrow we are going to purchase a trap!!!!  Sunday when we came home from church there was dog doodoo about 2 feet from our garage door.  (The same family also lets their dog run lose from time to time.)  Now I tell you, we pooper scoop the backyard after Camie but I am not about to after someone else’s dog.  If I knew for sure it was their dog who did it I would leave the deposit on their front porch.  This is not the first time we have found a deposit in our front yard, this is just the first one at the top of our driveway!  We can’t keep replacing fish at the tune of $8.00 each.

  7. Yes, cats will eat fish out of a pond. I would first go to that neighbor, tell them what has been happening, and tell them their animals are going to go to the pound if they are not kept in their own yard. They may not know anybody objects to them roaming. In our city, there is a leash law even for cats. Now, ours do go outdoors, but at night, I round them up and bring them in. There are no fish ponds around here.

  8. I’m very sorry about your dear doggie.  We had to have our dog put to sleep once.  It was awful.  She had congestive heart failure, too; a complication of having some kind of cancer or tumors in her nose and respiratory system.  Prissy was her name.  She was mostly white German Shepherd, with maybe a little yellow labrador thrown in.  Only our Data has measured up to the standard set by Prissy.

  9. Thanks, Ladies. Renee….white German Shepherd sounds beautiful.
    We had Sandy for 8 years. We don’t really know for sure how old she was. We buried her tonight beside the house. I feel kind of drained right now. We have lost lots of animals over the years, so I really didn’t expect to miss her this much.

  10. :heartbeat:Oh NOOOOOOOO… I am bawling my head off… this is so sad, even though Sandy will be in no more pain, it’s still just so sad… the pictures of Beth nose to nose with Sandy really got me… too precious!
    I am so sorry for the loss… I know animals are just like family…
    Hugs to you all!

  11. Thanks, Connie. We loved her. She could be really annoying sometimes, like when she would walk right in front of me and stop. She would turn around to see if I was coming, too. And I was usually about to run over her. Tonight I kind of miss that.:cry:

  12. So, so sad..I’m crying writing this.  God Bless Sandy in Doggie Heaven :sunny:and God Bless your family as you deal with the pain.  😦 Blessings! :love:

  13. Well thanks for cleaning out my tear ducts this morning. We had to have one put down once. HORRIBLE experience for me. We got him when David was 3 months old, Oscar was also 3 months old. He got sick 3 years later and I took him the vet several times finally we had no choice. I was not expecting and took David with me. Oscar had 107 temp and was completely out of it. The vet never knew what was wrong. He told me that it would be best to put him down. I said “ok”.  He asked if I wanted to take him home with me afterwards. I said “yes”. I went out to pay and then he came carrying Oscar out in a big trash bag and asked what I was driving. I told him. David, who was 3 years old, said “mommy is Oscar in that bag?, why is Oscar in that bag?, MOMMY?” I was crying, everyone in the office was crying, David was calling Oscar. It was terrible. I would not have taken David with me if I had known that was going to happen. When I got home I had to tell the other boys and Doug. Goodness it has been 16 years ago and I am still bawling about it.  To this day the boys think Oscar died at the vet. (I hope they don’t read this).  We had a funeral. The boys were 3, 5, and 7.
    RYC: The Ken Hamm museum. http://www.creationmuseum.org/&nbsp; It is in the tri-state area of Kentucky, not far at all from Cincinatti.  I hope to meet wolfpackwife14 while I am there.

  14. I haven’t really been on xanga a whole lot lately.  For some reason it’s just been really difficult for me to post much.  I did want to come by and thank you though–your prayers, all your comments, coming all the way for the funeral last week, and the precious baby gift–I appreciate it more than I can say and want to thank you and your family for being such a comfort and light to mine.

  15. Paula-Beth, you are so welcome. I understand that it’s been difficult to post. It was an honor to be there at the funeral and to share in bearing that burden with your family. We love you all.
    Cathy, that would be awful not knowing what was going to happen. I would not have been able to let them put Sandy to sleep without me being there, though. I think I’d tell the boys now, though, since they’re way past old enough to understand  😉
    That would be wonderful for you to get to meet Sue! Give her a big hug for me. Seems like this past week, we have been sending a lot of hugs by other people. There is also a creation museum with dinosaur tracks in Glen Rose, Texas a little south of Fort Worth. Renee was asking me if that was where you were going. Bethany went there in 1998 on a youth trip.

  16. Cindy,
    I am so sorry to hear about your loss. Having to put a family (ok…lets all admit that our pets become a part of our family) is the hardest thing! I have had to do it once…and it still makes me upset about it! Getting Rowdy was a joy but also a struggle for me. But as you said Sandy is much more comfortable now that she is no longer in pain.

Leave a Reply

