I was talking to my mother earlier, and something she said made me start thinking. When Steve and I started dating, he had not yet started to trust Jesus. I know….a Christian should not date a non-Christian. That’s unequal yoking. But then I was not living the type of life I should have been living at that time.


This is part of the testimony he has given many times. At first, he didn’t like my radio station. It was a Christian station. When he was in my car by himself, he’d change the station. But when we were together, we listened to it. Slowly he began to change the station less and less, and he listened to the Christian station more and more. Then something funny began to happen….he began to like my station. He began to get hooked on listening to talk shows by teachers like James Dobson and J. Vernon McGee.


He got hungry for more and more. And he accepted Jesus. Now he teaches and preaches.


I never thought that what I did was making an impact on him. I never realized until later, that I was doing something to change his life. Something as simple as listening to a Christian radio station.


That made me realize that we sometimes don’t have a clue how much we touch the lives of other people. The evidence might not be seen right away. But changes might come later, that we were not expecting. And that is encouraging.


Steve has posted some new company policies .


Update 7:45 a.m…..Beth said Russell called her at 5:55 p.m. yesterday and left a message on her cell phone. He said he was sorry to bother her, but he thought he’d give it one last chance. He said he’d be at an area Walmart (not the one she works at) for another hour if she wanted to see him, and if not, he’d probably go on back home to Oklahoma. So she doesn’t know where he is right now. He said he couldn’t stand being this close to her, knowing she didn’t want anything to do with him. But as far as we know, he is still planning on moving here.


He is desperate. And a desperate man that’s only been divorced 3 months is not a good choice for a lifetime of happiness. I don’t want him to be unhappy, but I sure don’t want him to make my daughter unhappy, either.


It reminds me so much of a couple in our church. She was desperate to get married. She was actually in a race with her sister to see who could marry first. He was divorced with a son (although he told her they were never actually married – she found out the hard way by finding the marriage record online). He was only her 2nd boyfriend. They made plans to marry while he was still legally married….because she didn’t know he was married. After they married, he cheated and moved in with that woman. He came back, and then he left her right after their  baby was born. They are now divorced and she is heartbroken. All in a span of 4-1/2 years of marriage.


So pray for Russell, too. He seems to be a very mixed up person. I DO feel a little sorry for him, but not enough to let him ruin Beth’s life.


We have a very sick kitty…..Tigger. I don’t know for sure what’s wrong. But Beth found him this morning in the sink where he had thrown up. He’s lying on a towel now, very lethargic. He was acting strange yesterday, but not enough to make me think he was this sick. I suspect, from past experience, that he is in renal failure right now.  


Today is Jordan’s birthday. She is 13. I started keeping Jordan when she was born and I had kept her older sister, Candice, since she was 8 months old. This is Jordan, helping in VBS last week. ( This is Candice and Jordan at Brandon and Rachael’s wedding last November.)


Jordan 


I’m actually starting this at 11:10 p.m. Wednesday. I’m pretty sure Bethany fell asleep soon after she sent me those pictures of Russell tonight. She was out till 1:00 a.m., having gone to keep Rachael company while Brandon was working very late. Then she was up quite late after that, and had to be at work at 7:00 a.m. And she’s been extremely stressed. She had not been able to eat for 2 days. Finally Tuesday night, we ordered some chicken club tacos from Chili’s, and she ate a little.


I got on AIM to see if she was on there, and she wasn’t. She doesn’t get on much anymore unless she takes Steve’s laptop upstairs. She has trouble with the plug on hers. It won’t stay connected. And she said the battery will only stay charged for about 25 minutes….not long enough for a conversation.


So I added some names to my buddy list while I was on. Renee and Scott, you are on there now.


You know how when you start one home improvement project, it turns into a string of projects? Well, this new dishwasher has turned into the job from hell. Steve was working on it last night. He’s installed so many dishwashers, so what could go wrong…right? Wrong.


Plumbing parts broke or were the wrong kind and size. He opened a box with a valve in it, and somebody had switched parts – put the wrong valve in the wrong box. The space is not quite wide enough because one of the supports under the sink is starting to bow. Tonight he got it temporarily running (after 2 trips to Home Depot). But this weekend, we are undertaking a major project…..taking off the countertop to redo some plumbing and replace supports. It’s a job because the countertop is ceramic tile. I want to save that tile because it’s beautiful cobalt blue, which I love next to my white sink.


So after I get some sleep tonight, and hope my migraine gets much better, I will start chipping off ceramic tile, then chipping the grout off the tiles. It’s a job, but it isn’t the first time I’ve done it. I’ve had to replace some tiles on it before.


It’s just one of many, many jobs that have to be done around here. I had torn out our half bath to replace everything including the wood floor, but I took a long break from working on that. This kitchen thing has to be done soon, so that’s what we’ll work on this weekend. I need to clean carpet upstairs, and do some repairs in our upstairs bathroom. Also need to replace the door, right Ethan?


And the list of things we need to do outside the house is mind-boggling.


I do not know if Russell texted Bethany any more tonight. I will have to wait till she gets home at lunch, to find out.

15 thoughts on “

  1. RYC: Pasta is our friend. So is COFFEE and frogs 🙂 God bless you Cindy. Lord willing, you’ll have a working kitchen again this weekend.:hmmmmm:

  2. We know some people who got married for the sake of getting married. She was bound and determined to get married and have kids, and he just happened to be in the right (wrong?) place at the right time…. and they’re miserable. They fight constantly, they have two kids in the middle of it, and it’s just a mess.

  3. That’s a rough situation to be in for those two… desperation after a divorce is not the right reason to find someone else.  Let time heal his wounds for awhile before making the same mistakes again.  Life is not a soap opera- but wrong choices can lead to miserable lives.
    I hope Tigger is okay. 

  4. Let time heal his wounds for awhile before making the same mistakes again. 
    :yes: That’s exactly what I tried to tell him. But he said he was ready to move on when he decided his marriage was over. He would not listen. So he’s doomed to make the same mistakes over and over.

  5. May your life’s burden find rest in Christ’s arms. Sometimes things that we don’t have control are best given to our God of possibilities. Here’s praying that with all of your concerns, you would find God’s peace settling in your heart… 🙂

  6. God bless Christian radio ministry…
    I first got saved at age 15 in a strict Asian buddhist family household that wouldn’t allow me to go to church (its hard to describe the social pressure in traditional asian immigrant dispora) and I grew in Christ because of those men you mentioned and others such as John McArthur, Sproul, RBC radio, etc…
    That guy is really manipulative…
    If it continues, there needs to be a restraining order… 

  7. Oh, yes….we listened to John McArthur, too. I really liked all 3 of them.
    That’s a good description, Jimmy….manipulative. He tries to play on emotions. She has not heard from him again, though, since yesterday afternoon. And she didn’t talk to him then. She had fallen asleep, and he just left a message. She wants to be able to call him and tell him why she is doing this, but I know that if they get on the phone, he will be able to play on her emotions again. It’s better if they just don’t talk.
    Wow….I would think things would be stacked against you getting saved in a Buddhist household. I am so glad you got saved.

Leave a Reply

