Aaron Wilburn

8:00 p.m….Bethany has this “friend” who is driving me crazy. Her name is Lauren and she lives in Kentucky. They have known each other more than 7 years.


Several years back, Lauren said she tried to commit suicide. She was talking with Beth on the computer and told her that’s what she was trying to do. To make a very long story short, Lauren was abused by a brother and was suffering some emotional problems because of it. The older brother was on drugs, and all their parents’ time was spent on him. She was acting out to get some attention.


Over the years, they have remained friends – not close – but friends. They send each other little gifts on birthdays and Christmas. But Lauren calls several times a week wanting to talk to Beth. Beth no longer likes to talk to her on the phone for several reasons. I don’t much like talking to her either. I have many times, though. It is so difficult to get off the phone with her.


We don’t usually pick up the phone when we know it’s her. So she leaves these messages saying things like, “Bethany, pick up if you’re there. Somebody pick up! Bethany, I’m worried about you….you don’t ever talk to me anymore. Are we still friends? You can’t do this to me!” She leaves that same message every time she calls.


*Sigh* That’s gets really old to hear that a couple of times a week. She’s been doing this for literally years. She calls when Beth is at work. I have told her Beth works during the day. Tonight Beth isn’t here, either. She’s at Brandon and Rachael’s.


Beth is willing to email with her and does. But Lauren demands that Beth talk to her on the phone. Beth never has been much of a phone talker. She’ll text message a lot, but doesn’t actually talk that much.


I think I’m going to have to email Lauren and tell her to knock it off. It makes me angry for somebody to call and demand for somebody to pick up the phone. It’s rude. And it’s not going to get her what she wants.


We are making progress on the kitchen. We are nearly ready for me to tile.


calmstormblink


With all the talk about global warming and the greenhouse effect, people should take time to understand it, instead of being alarmed by it. Or letting people running for office scare you to death about it. So read this. We shoud always be informed about things going on in our world. 


It’s Caturday again!


At the Bible Study, Glenn told us about a Christian comedian named Aaron Wilburn. So we watched this first video at the Bible Study. I always knew when a really good part was coming up, because Linda was already cracking up before he got to it.

 



20 thoughts on “Aaron Wilburn

  1. PATIENTLY (American Heritage Dictionary)

    <LI>Bearing or enduring pain, difficulty, provocation, or annoyance with calmness.
    <LI>Marked by or exhibiting calm endurance of pain, difficulty, provocation, or annoyance.
    <LI>Tolerant; understanding: an unfailingly patient leader and guide.
    <LI>Persevering; constant: With patient industry, she revived the failing business and made it thrive.
    <LI>Capable of calmly awaiting an outcome or result; not hasty or impulsive.
    <LI>Capable of bearing or enduring pain, difficulty, provocation, or annoyance: “My uncle Toby was a man patient of injuries” (Laurence Sterne).
    :sleepy:

  2. I’ve never heard of Aaron Wilburn, but he is really funny!    I like stand up comedy, at least Aaron isn’t as crude as “Larry the Cable Guy”.
    Thanks for sharing and God bless!

  3. No, I didn’t desert you!  Just been super busy the last few weeks.  I have no idea what Christy’s excuse is!
    The videos were funny…I especially like the part about Krispy Kreme and it being God if there was a space available! :ROTFL: 5th time around the block… :ROTFL:

  4. hi, stopping by to tell you thank you.  thank you so much for all your prayers for phil.  phil continues to recover from surgery and we are hoping that the second phase will happen, as planned, by the second week of september.  it is such a blessing to sit and watch him, watching his beloved mariners, cheering them on from the comfort of his sofa.  god is so good.  again, we cannot thank you enough for all your prayers and support through this time in our lives.
    i will be praying for this situation.  friendships like this can be so draining on everyone.  am i safe to assume that lauren does not live in the same city you all live in? 
    blessings, mari

  5. I don’t know either Beth or Lauren, but if my 2 cents’ worth is worth anything, I would ask God to give me the words and basically tell Lauren the terms on which I am willing to be friends (I will exchange emails with you, but I am not a phone talker and will not be manipulated into talking on the phone with you. If you cannot respect this, then our friendship must end.) It is not Beth’s responsibility to hold this girl up — she must do it for herself. We have all had difficult things happen to us in our lives, but we cannot continue to use them as excuses to remain in the valley or to drag other down in the valley with us.

  6. Thank you. I agree. :goodjob: She tries to use guilt to make people talk to her. I don’t really know why she hasn’t given up, because it hasn’t worked for her so far with Beth, or with me. But I’m fairly sure it works with her family.

Leave a Reply

