Turning the corner

10:25 p.m….Deer Park had almost 9 inches of rain today. Also, a truck driver drowned just a few minutes from our house today, so that’s 2 deaths that I’ve heard of from the storm. He drove off a road into a water detention pond, because he couldn’t see where one ended and the other began.


6:45 p.m….It took me forever, but I put together pictures to make my new countertop. I will have to wait a little while (I’m not patient, Carolyn!) because I had to order the tiles from San Diego. But this is what it will look like:


yellow star


Blue and yellow are my favorite colors, and I love the star quilt design. I have that same star pattern in blue and gray tiles, by the front door. It will actually have a larger blue field around it, but you get the idea. This countertop will join one that is all cobalt blue.


2:50 p.m….The Houston Fire Department has a high water rescue team. The news is showing a fire truck towing a boat, which looks kind of funny. They are getting ready to go into Buffalo Bayou and rescue a woman who has gotten stuck under a bridge.


1:30 p.m…The news just said one person did die in that roof collapse at the Randall’s grocery store, and one was taken to the hospital.


Brandon is out in this mess. I thought he’d be at home, since it’s hard to do AC work in heavy rain. But he is on the west side of Houston right now. It worries me for him to be on a roof since there have been a lot of lightning strikes and a couple of roof collapses.


Steve is watching a river run through their shop. There was a high water rescue, just down the road from his office. The news showed a traffic cam shot of the intersection near his office, and it was flooded with traffic at a standstill.


Rachael is at work, and said their parking lot was 4″ deep when she went to get lunch. And it’s a huge parking lot area, with water detention ponds in several areas. So that means the rain was really bad. In fact, the freeway exit right where she is, was closed because of high water. She works for a pet hospital, and clients have been calling to say they can’t get there because of high water.


1:15…The weather guy just said that the heaviest rain right now is in LaPorte and Baytown. That gets us, because eventhough we are in Deer Park, we are right on the line between Deer Park and LaPorte.


And now Dean is a hurricane. They are predicting it will come into the Gulf and threaten the Texas coast. *sigh* I discovered a roof leak a little while ago. Gotta fix that before Dean gets here, if it does.


12:45 p.m….On second thought….I’m not going anywhere today. We are definitely getting pounded by the wet side of the tropical storm today. It’s flooding all over the Houston area. In fact, they just showed the Surfside area, which is closer to the storm, and it looks better than Houston.


The news is reporting that a grocery store about 15 minutes south of us, near NASA, has collapsed. The roof in the back of the store caved in. They believe someone is trapped in the rubble. There was also a roof collapse at the old Maxwell House coffee plant near downtown Houston.


 Here’s what our weather is doing. 


Bethany wanted to go visit one of the Walmart employees today, at M.D. Anderson in the Houston Medical Center. I don’t think so.


raincloudraincloudraincloudraincloudraincloudraincloudraincloud


 


1:20 a.m….We turned the corner tonight (it’s still tonight because I haven’t slept yet) and started working on the next section of countertop. I have decided to go ahead and shop for tile to complete that counter. It is currently a wood counter. Or it was until Steve tore it off. So Thursday is tile shopping day.


I got everything organized under my sink tonight. That was a relief to get that done. But I was putting things away, throwing other things away, and reorganizing….and I still felt like I wasn’t getting anywhere. There’s still so much to do.


I still have not caught Wheezer, but I’ve seen her a couple of times today. 

25 thoughts on “Turning the corner

  1. Are you trying to tame the kittens? šŸ™‚ I wish I was there to help you with them. Next week our guest kitty leaves and I’m so sad. He’s a great cat and I hate to see him go:(
    God bless Cindy. Glad you are making progress in the kitchen.
    Cynthia

  2. It was terrible here this morning — tons of thunder and lightning. It’s leveled off somewhat, just raining in spurts. That crazy husband of mine is going through his second childhood. He’s a Galveston boy and started surfing again a little over a year ago. He’s loading his surfboard onto his Jeep as I type this to go see if there are any decent waves at Bryan Beach (just south of Surfside). I told him he’s crazy (there’s a news flash! Not!) He promised that he’d come home if it looked too bad. He’s lucky I love him so much. šŸ™„

  3. šŸ˜® šŸ˜® šŸ˜® WOW!!!!!!! šŸ˜® šŸ˜® šŸ˜®  You guys have been having šŸ˜® šŸ˜® šŸ˜® HORRIBLE šŸ˜® šŸ˜® šŸ˜® weather in Texas. Ever think about moving to a safer place . . . like California? šŸ˜† šŸ˜† šŸ˜†  Seriously, I hope everything improves there and I hope no one is really in that building. Please keep us informed. :heartbeat: ~Carolyn :love:

  4. :ROTFL: Let’s see…..hurricanes or earthquakes…..mmmm…….NO! :ROTFL:
    My sister use to do a lot of traveling in the job she had, and one day she got into the airport in Los Angeles just as an earthquake hit. She decided she didn’t much like those. šŸ˜†

  5. It does appear as though Hurricane Dean is heading your way.  I will pray for everyone that comes in the path of the storm.  May the Lord watch over you and your family, as well as all the families in the hurricane’s path.  I heard there was another storm brewing behind Dean, that looks like it’s heading my way.  Blessings and let’s keep each other posted.  Jill šŸ™‚

  6. RYC:  Thanks Cindy for your input.  We also have a church library.  I’m not sure how much it gets used.  I’m thinking more on the line of interaction between women.  Drawing others into the group and spiritual growth.
    You could send some rain our way!  We’ve been under heat alerts for so long now most yards are brown.  Doug finally started watering ours at the beginning of the week in anticipation of this Saturday’s Picnic with the Pastor.  :’/

  7. wow, so sorry that Texas is getting so much rain ~ praying Dean will stay away ~  Hope all are safe and dry
    keep us posted ~ :wave:

  8. :wave: Hi Cindy….
    We’re fine in our area.. It only rained last night and this morning here where we are… We needed rain here because it was so dry the past few days and real hot… Although it’s still 91 degrees.  

  9. hey… just watching the news here and y’all are getting pounded! The sky is turning grey here and it’s starting to sprinkle.. I think we’re supposed to get a little of the rain tomorrow.
    Praying for your safety… stay dry and tell your son to stay off roofs in this weather (he better mind his momma:lol:)! That would scare me to death!

  10. :hammer: Earthquakes are not fun, I tell ya!!! I have been in three MAJOR ones.  Hate to think of when the next one is going to strike. They come completely UNANNOUNCED! :yes:  When you’re in one, you shake, rattle and roll! šŸ˜† šŸ˜† šŸ˜†  I’m glad I can have a sense of humour about them. :ROTFL:  When you ever hear of Southern California having one – remember to pray!! :yes: :yes:  Have a good nite. :wave: ~Carolyn :love:

  11. Just coming by to say thank you for taking the time to scroll through my posts and comment. It’s great to know there are people out there who will take time to pray for a miracle for a family they don’t even know. May God bless you and comfort you as you walk through this life with Him. Thanks again, visit any time….my page is always changing!!!  In His Grip, janet

  12. I just tried to leave a comment, but I don’t think it posted…  was just saying that we had gotten some rain this evening, too but definitely nothing like what it sounds like ya’ll are getting!  Be careful and keep us posted!

  13. I do not miss that crazy-stupid 9″ of rain in 3 hours mess.  :whew:
    “Water Detention Pond”  – is that the official name for the thing?  Cause it sounds funny.  “I’m sorry, Water, but I’m gonna have to detain you.  You’ll have to spend the duration of this downpour in the detention pond!”  :ROTFL:  Sorry.  Just my quirkey sense of humor!
    Ok.  My computer is sick:oh-no: and it’s past my bedtime!
    The counter is going to be pretty!
    hugs,
    Rene

  14. And yes…that is actually the “official” name. I always thought it should be water “retention” pond, but city officials call it “detention”. Sounds dumb to me, too.
    Thanks about the counter. I know it sounds like I’m a sick person, but I just like to look at the yellow and blue together. It makes me feel good. And yes, I’ve had my medication today :giggle:

  15. We could use some of that rain too. July was such a wet month for us, but not a drop in August and temps over a 100. 
    I am going to have to quit watching the videos you post. The one from the last post made me bawl. I have heard the song.  I totally lost it when it showed the picture of the soldier giving the flag to a little boy.:brokenheart:.

  16. Don’t apologize for liking how it looks.  Esthetics are important and you’re not a sick person!  I know God made us to be able to enjoy beautiful things – and He has made some truly marvelously beautiful things for us to enjoy!  Lots of people spend millions and billions on beautiful things to look at.  There’s nothing wrong with liking your countertop! lol!
    Thanks for the prayers – gotta go get everyone up and moving.
    hugs,
    Renee

  17. Renee….thanks. That was sweet. At least if I’m a sick person, I’m in good company šŸ˜† :ROTFL:
    Cathy, it was getting the same here…temps over 100 and no rain. We got ours all at one time.
    PB….I hope you only get what you need. Since the storm went west, you won’t get as much as we did.
    Joan, thank you. And I’m afraid the only way we’ll stay dry is to stay inside :giggle: I even went out in the rain some yesterday, though.

  18. my mom had multiple myeloma, not good stuff.  She had been excepted for a clinical trial, and after the 1st round of heavy heavy chemo., she had a brain aneurysm.  It will be 6 years ago Aug. 27th.  I still miss her very much.  But I know the cancer was not going to be cured and we hated seeing her in so much pain.  She had only know she had it for about 6-7 months. Anyway, hope everything is ok with your dad now.  Kenett

Leave a Reply

