King Ranch Chicken

I just saw something that cracked me up. The Xanga featured question is “Do you believe there is a soul mate out there for you?” One girl said, “Yes….and he’s perfectly happy with that other girl.”


This King Ranch Chicken is turning out to be very good. I even made my own homemade cream of chicken soup for it.  


6:15 p.m….The fudge is good. Here’s what I did:


Put 1 pound of white chocolate chips in a microwavable bowl. I bought my white choclate here, for the wedding. It is specially made for chocolate fountains. Melt on low power (they burn easily), along with 1/2 cup milk. I did mine for about 2 minutes, stirring after 1 minute, but you will have to experiment. Stir till chips are smooth, because they will retain their shape till they are stirred. Stir in 1 tsp. vanilla, 1/2 cup peanut butter, and one pound powdered sugar. Mix till smooth, then drop by spoonfuls on wax paper (or foil) covered cookie sheet. Refrigerate till firm.


4:00 p.m….I’m experimenting…trying to make white chocolate peanut butter fudge  It tastes good, but I don’t know if it’s going to firm up like fudge should.


oldladycatsa1 


In the morning, we are showing the Paul Washer video (I posted it several days ago) in church. Our pastor and I were emailing last night, and he said we all must pray for our service in the morning. It’s possible we could lose some people after this video is shown. We have a number of people who do not have any desire to live according to the way God wants us to live. I think several of us who know it’s being shown, will gather for a special prayer meeting in the morning.


Then tomorrow night, we are having a “casserole contest”. Anybody who wants to, can bake their favorite casserole for the dinner after the evening service, and people will have a chance to vote on their favorite casserole.


Well….at least that’s the plan. We’ll see how many people are left after the video Sunday morning


I am making “King Ranch Chicken”, or at least my version of a recipe printed in a cookbook the church put together years ago. You boil chicken tenders or breasts, chop them up, and mix them with picante sauce and cream of chicken soup. You layer tortilla chips in a pan, cover with the chicken mixture, and then a layer of cheese. Repeat the layers, and bake for an hour at 350 degrees. It is delicious!


And….I am taking the chocolate fountain, with some of the white chocolate left from the wedding. Pretzels are excellent dipped in the white chocolate. I’m playing with the idea of making white chocolate fudge, too. We have a ton of white chocolate chips left.

4 thoughts on “King Ranch Chicken

  1. Hi There!  Yes, I have been seeing you around xanga!  : ) 
    That is sooooo wonderful that your church is showing the Paul Washer video!  Isn’t it amazing that all churches are not on the same page when it comes to a basic holy walk with the Lord?  Sometimes I have to wonder if people are reading their Bibles at all. 
    It sounds like you enjoy cooking too…I am trying to tackle chicken and dumplings from a cookbook I bought from amazon, “A Return to Sunday Dinner”   I am just really enjoying that cookbook so far! 
    Thank you so much for stopping by and saying Hi!  That was so sweet!   Blessings,  ~Amelia 

  2. Hi, Amelia….yes, I know what you mean. I often wonder if many of our people even pick up their Bibles. It’s sad.
    I usually don’t do a large amount of cooking, but I am for this dinner tomorrow. I’m kind of writing my own recipe as I go :giggle:

  3. Hope you’re having a wonderful weekend.  WOW, the post regarding everyone stopping their cars for the family of the fallen solider was so beauitufl.  That’s what GOD and Country is all about.  What a blessings.  Anxiously awaiting what your church family thought of the video (I’ll be watching it today or tomorrow).  I’d love more Casserole recipes. Any ideas?  Many blessings to you and your family.  How’s Jill? 
    Love, Jill

Leave a Reply

