Ribbons for Dorothy

Ethan, I thought about you when I was at Walmart. They had a huge display of…….


3 cans silly string


        dancecat ROFL


I just laughed when I saw it  I found the leftover cans last week when I was reorganizing the kitchen. I wish we had gotten a picture of that Silly String brain.


Woohoo    


NEW PRINTER 


 A couple of days ago, the old one rolled over and died. It was only 5 years old. This one has wireless capabilities.


HP C6180


When our daughter, Rachel Elizabeth, was born at Bayshore Hospital in Pasadena in 1984, she was 11 weeks premature and had a strep infection (although we did not know about the strep yet). Doctors and nurses from Texas Children’s Hospital came to transport our very ill baby to their hospital.


Texas Children’s was started in 1951 on 6 acres of land in the Houston, Texas Medical Center. It was completed to take in their first patient in February 1954. Here’s what it looked like in 1954:


Texas Children's Hospital


Texas Children's Hospital


In 1967, it was expanded from 3 floors to 7, more than doubling the bed space. This is the size it was when Rachel was there:


Texas Children's Hospital


This is Texas Children’s Hospital today…..the largest freestanding children’s hospital in the United States. Miracles happen in this hospital. And people come from all over the world for their children to be treated here. It is a complex, with many special clinics. They even have sleeping space for parents of premature babies.


Texas Childrens' Hospital


Texas Children's Hospital


I was reading about the hospital last night, and they now call their ambulance transport teams the “Kangaroo Crews”.  They also have planes at Hobby Airport, to transport patients farther than 85 miles from Houston.


I also found another really pretty ground level picture of the Michael E. DeBakey VA Medical Center:


va


We are blessed to have the Medical Center near us. We have made use of several of their hospitals. I think tomorrow I will show you St. Lukes Espiscopal Hospital and Texas Heart Institute.  My sister, Heather, was born at St. Lukes, and my dad has his 2nd bypass surgery at The Texas Heart Institute, which is part of St. Luke’s.


Daddy has also had heart surgery at Hermann Hospital. My grandmother worked and died at Methodist Hospital in 1972. That can be another post.


links


Last night at the restaurant, there were 2 little kittens in the parking lot looking for food. Thanks, Holly, for pointing them out They were wild, so I could not pick them up, but I did stop and feed them from our take-home boxes. They had chicken-fried steak for dinner last night. I can’t stand for animals to go hungry. They were about the same size as our kittens – probably around 4 months old.


links


At the birthday dinner, Holly said she was surprised I didn’t post pictures of Texas Children’s Hospital along with the pics of M.D. Anderson. So later today, I will show you all Texas Children’s. It is the largest freestanding children’s hospital in the United States. Our daughter, Rachel Elizabeth, died there in 1984. Their care is the best and people come from all over the world to be treated there.


But for now, I wanted to show you the pins Beth made for Walmart associates to wear in memory of Dorothy:


Dorothy's ribbons


 

8 thoughts on “Ribbons for Dorothy

  1. You’re so bad – picking on him…. πŸ˜†
    So, I was kinda busy – were you at the hospital with your niece this week?  I’m sorry that she has such an insideious form of cancer cancer and I pray that this doctor can be used by God to bring healing, if it is His will.
    hugs,
    Renee

  2. πŸ˜† Don’t worry….sometimes I just lucky to actually have a thought during a sentence! πŸ˜† (My family’s gonna jump on that :nono: 😑 )
    And thank you for the prayers for Jill. She is actually my cousin. I saw her today…..well….Saturday. But it’s still today because I haven’t slept yet.
    Steve has been working on this computer all evening, so this is the first chance I had to get on here in several hours. One of the drivers for the new printer wouldn’t install properly, so he had to uninstall everything and start over.

Leave a Reply

