October 1

The post about Candice has been moved to a protected post. You must be signed in on your Xanga to see it. I’ve also added another picture.


Bear wreath


Just got this in an email:


  Sometimes when you are angry with someone,
it helps to just stop and sit down and think about the problem.


 


Anger management


 


3:30 p.m….Steve called a little before 2:00 and said he got picked for the jury. He was number 45 on a panel of 60, but he got picked. The judge doesn’t want to go past 4:30 this afternoon, so he shouldn’t be real late getting home. But it will be more than one day. They said it will probably go to jury tomorrow afternoon. It is a criminal case.


Pumpkin pie blinkie



2:30 a.m….My family is asleep, and I’m not. Just like any other ordinary night. I’m a night owl, and I sleep late in the mornings.


Steve has jury duty at 8:00 a.m. in downtown Houston, so he went to bed hours ago. He has to leave at 6:30. Bethany has to be at work at 7:00, and she went to bed way before he did. She needs a lot of sleep or she gets migraine headaches really bad. She would never survive in a high stress situation where she got little sleep.


So I am up washing dishes and clothes. Beth put a load of clothes in the washer, but couldn’t stay up long enough to dry them. And our dryer is being really contrary. It stops a lot, and you have to restart it. You might have to do that 10 times just to get a load dried. Especially heavy stuff like jeans. I need to get it fixed, but getting repair men out to work on something is a pain in the neck. So I’ve restarted the dryer a couple of times so she won’t have to go to work naked.


And I fixed the coffee pot to start making coffee at 5:30. Steve doesn’t normally have coffee till he gets to work. But when you have jury duty, you need coffee before your drive downtown.


At about 12:30, I was outside in the front yard, watching the kittens play with their mom. She’s not much more than a kitten herself, so she loves to run and play with them. They “bounce” each other, just like Tigger does to Winnie-the-Pooh.


And while I was out there, I moved a big rock. Yeah….I know….most people don’t do things like that in the middle of the night. But I wanted to move it before, and it was pretty well set in the dirt in a flowerbed. So I thought the heavy rain we’ve had the last 2 days might have loosened it a little. It did. And I didn’t have anything better to do.


October 1….already. Three months left to this year. I don’t know where it went. This time last year, we were preparing for a wedding. A year before that, I didn’t know there would be a wedding that soon. Rachael got surprised with a ring less than 3 months later. One year before that, October 2004, we were getting ready for Ethan to come visit on his way back to Aviano Air Base in Italy. E….that seems like so long ago sometimes, and other times, it seems like yesterday.


I had a thought just before we left for church yesterday morning: Since the plural of mouse is mice, would the plural of spouse be spice? And if so, when both of our kids are married, would that be adding spice to our lives? Yeah…..I need sleep.


I wonder if the kittens would like to play with some Silly String? 


 Falling leavesFalling leavesFalling leavesFalling leaves

12 thoughts on “October 1

  1. Thanks for the pic!  I can definitely see some familial similarities.  I’ll have to show it to Jeff.  I haven’t been on here much lately life has gotten too busy!  I can definitely relate to being up when everyone else isn’t, lately I seem to either not be able to get to sleep or wake up at 4!  Crazy busy life we live with teenagers, but I’m enjoying it while it last’s because it won’t last forever. 
    OK, so how do you post a you tube deal?  I want to post that william tell Mom thing, a friend sent me that last week and I loved it!
    Have a great week!  Sorry for the long comment.  LOL:grin:

  2. Night musings, huh?  very interesting!  Hey – if you’re up, why not move a rock?  Makes sense to me!
    I stayed up until about 1am.  But I slept about 4 hours yesterday afternoon – 2 hours on the sofa during the Cowboys’ game and then 2 more in the bed.  lol!  It was a good nap.

  3. I am sure she appreciated the dry clothes! :lol:As far as the midnight rock rolling business goes, when my husband and I first got married, we had a next-door neighbor that loved to garden in the middle of the night (well, between 9 and midnight-ish). It was much cooler, quiet, just very peaceful. I can’t help but wonder if that wasn’t when she did a lot of her talking with God. πŸ™‚

  4. I can’t help but wonder if that wasn’t when she did a lot of her talking with God.
    :yes: Laura, that’s what I do, too. I’m in the front yard in the swing many times at 1:00 a.m., just praying. It’s way more peaceful at that time. No distractions. Well….except for our cat zoo.
    Renee….those naps sound wonderful. I really need a nap on Sunday afternoon, but don’t usually have the time.
    Linda….at night is when I seem to be most productive. My dad and his mother were night owls, too, so it’s a hereditary thing. Actually, my neurologist calls it “familial delayed sleep disorder”.
    Pam….I’m coming to your site…..

  5. My mom used to stay up to 1:00 a.m. every evening and sleep until 10:30 in the morning.  She loved the night.  She hated to miss anything..and she always felt the night was more peaceful and serene.  I’m a morning person and like to be in bed by 11:00 p.m., so I get 7-8 hours sleep.  Even on weekends I like to get to bed by mid-night and up by 8:00a.m.  I hate to waste a day.  So cute…watching the kittens and moving rocks..hey, why not?  πŸ˜† Blessings.

  6. I have 3 sisters and they all have to up early each morning. One runs a business. But my 2 middle sisters are usually in bed by 8:30 at night. To me, that’s just tooooo early. I’m just getting started at that time. But there are times when sleeping late is not an option….Sunday mornings, early appointments, etc. So some nights I might only get 2 or 3 hours of sleep. It’s a problem, because I can have seizures if I don’t get at least 8-10 hours, so I must make up for it. Monday is almost always my make-up day because I have to be up early on Sunday.

Leave a Reply

