I will get to see Renee (carrensey) on Saturday. Her husband’s aunt died last night, too, and they will be down here for the funeral. Please pray for their family as well.


I was talking to Steve last night about things I was remembering about Bubba. When he went in the army, my grandmother cried so much. He sent her pictures after all his hair was shaved off and she would sit and cry looking at those pictures. Bubba was a Green Beret.


I can remember his voice. It was so soft and caring. That was his personality. Bubba was really a shy person and kind of withdrawn. He had some learning difficulties when he was little because of a lack of oxygen at birth, but he overcame those. You would have never known it existed.


He became an alcoholic because of some marital problems not of his own doing. It hurt him deeply and the only way he knew to deal with it was drinking. That seemed a strange way to everybody else, for a Baptist deacon’s son to deal with pain.


I remember him coming home one morning (they were living with my grandmother at the time) after a night of drinking. He was still too drunk to even walk by himself. He was so embarrassed for any of us to see him like that. So we, the kids, did not go out in the front yard as he was coming in. My grandmother wanted to spare his feelings, so she asked us to stay inside or in the back yard.


Me being one who always wants to know what’s going on, watched from a bedroom window, as my grandmother went out to meet him. She put her arms around him and told him how much she still loved him, eventhough he had done something she did not like. Something that wasn’t in his best interest to do.


I can still see that in my mind. I’ll always remember it, eventhough it’s been 40 years.


prayer-kneel 


Steve leaves tomorrow to go out of town for a week. I don’t want him to go. Ethan leaves for Iraq soon. I don’t want him to go, either.


I’m picturing Bubba dancing to the Beach Boys. I can still see him doing that one night when we spent the night with them. He was a lot of fun. I think Bubba was a senior in high school in this picture, but I’m not sure. He was a trombone player.


Roy Neil Guinn

25 thoughts on “

  1. Cindy,
    I’m so sorry about your Uncle. But I’m so glad he isn’t suffering.
    Thank you for your prayers. This has been a rough financial year for us. Praise God for our jobs and a roof over our heads.
    God bless you.
    Cynthia :heartbeat::sunny:

  2. Sorry about your uncle.
    And remember you gotta love your husband.:oh-no:
    I have just had a busy day and am struggling with a migraine. Going to take some maxalt and lie down.

  3. Thank you, Cathy. He will be missed.
    Yeah….I love my husband. But I have to try to keep him in line πŸ˜† What am I saying? That can’t be done……:p
    Hope that migraine goes away. I’m praying.

  4. I’m glad he’s not suffering anymore.  :heartbeat:
    And I was thinking what Steve said.  sorry!  πŸ˜‰
    Bill’s aunt died last night.  We’ll be coming down there for the funeral on Saturday.  She was a sweetheart.  :brokenheart:  You will probably see her obituary.  Lucille Rushing
    :heartbeat::love:
    Renee

  5. Doug…..:hammer: :hammer: :hammer: And Steve, too. :nono:
    There are people who would not recognize a trombone.
    Renee….any chance we might meet on Saturday? I’m so sorry about that. Looks like we’ve both lost something last night. Bubba won’t have a funeral….he’s willing his body to LSU. There will be a memorial service sometime later.

  6. My maiden name is Rushing.
    Wow…you may be related to Renee’s husband!
    Jimmy….it is the third.
    Thank you for the prayers, Jill. I really appreciate them, so very much :heartbeat: When I was little, Bubba was one of my heros. He was so special.

  7. I don’t think so.  My husband’s aunt was born with the same last name as my married name.  She married a Rushing, and he is an only child.  I don’t know if I’ll get to ask questions at the funeral, but I don’t think they had any extended family.

  8. Oh, there’s always extended family. We just might not know about it. Bill’s uncle (by marriage) didn’t spring up from nowhere, so there have to be other extended relatives. They just might not be close relatives.
     

  9. Well most of my Rushing relatives are alchoholics, drug addicts and in prison. My dad is the only one  of 8 kids that did not drink or have kids to do drugs and go to prison. FOR REAL. We are the white sheep in a black sheep family.

Leave a Reply

