Another weird dream

11:55 p.m…..I have no idea if I did the right thing or the wrong thing tonight, but I did it. I have told you guys before about Bethany’s “friend” who is her age, and calls constantly, trying to manipulate Beth. Beth does not like to talk to Lauren, and this girl has some serious mental problems. She has tried to kill herself in the past. She’s had some bad things happen to her in the past…abuse inflicted by a family member.


Beth has been willing to email with her, but phone conversations with Lauren just can’t be described. They are endless and pointless. I’ve talked to her many times. She started many months back, leaving messages on our machine begging Beth to pick up. Then she’ll call back and say, “Beth, aren’t you my friend anymore? Why are you avoiding me?” and on and on. She calls when Beth’s at work. She calls when Beth’s asleep. She calls when Beth’s out somewhere at night.


Tonight she did it again. During the first message she was leaving, I picked up the phone and hung it up without speaking. She called back in seconds, saying (in an angry voice), “Did you just hang up on me? You better not have just hung up on me.”   


Dooooon’t tell me what I can do with my own telephone.


I’ve had enough. I picked up the phone and said, “Lauren, you have got to stop this.” She immediately started yelling, “Stop what?? What am I doing??” I told her this was our private phone line, not Beth’s, and I was not going to give her Beth’s cell phone number. I told her she had to stop trying to manipulate Beth by leaving these messages. The whole time she was screaming in the phone, “What did I do?? Just tell me…what did I do??” Well, if she had just calmed down, she would have heard that I just told her what she had been doing.


I told her Beth was willing to email with her, and she screamed, “But I don’t have her new email address!” *Sigh* Beth’s old email address still works, too. She just got a new one because she could not stop all the spam on the old one.


And I would have talked to her a little longer if she had just calmed down. I just kept telling her, “Lauren, you have got to stop.” And she hung up on me.


I hate for it to end like that, but she will not listen to reason. They could still be friends if Lauren would stop being so demanding and manipulative.


desert heart stone tiny     desert heart stone tiny     desert heart stone tiny


8:40 p.m…..Beth finally got to get out and go do something fun. Brandon suggested they invite her over for movie night, so Rachael came and got her and took her to their house. She isn’t driving her car yet, because it’s pretty cramped, and she needs more room for her cast. When Beth told me it was Brandon’s idea, I asked her if he was trying to set her up with somebody  She’s been going stir crazy in the house.


          Carolyn (RazeHell) just sent me this clip from a radio program, and I know she did not know it is from our Christian radio station here in Houston….KSBJ. Years ago, we started going to what they call their “brown bag” concerts. They usually bring in an artist to do a 2 hour concert at lunchtime. Bethany got to be really good friends with one of the guys who volunteered for KSBJ, and now he is a DJ on the station. His name is Kent Matthews. This is Kent’s MySpace.


I had not heard this clip, but Beth said this little boy calls in all the time. His name is Logan and they call him the Sky Angel Cowboy. Here’s Logan. He’s pretty grown up for a 12 year old.  


Here’s KSBJ. They even broadcast on the internet. And here’s the concert we are going to Tuesday. This one is at night. Beth doesn’t want to miss it. It’s one of her favorite groups.


Here’s an old pic of Beth and Kent:


Kent & Beth            


I had another weird dream last night. I don’t know why I remember these dreams. And yes, Ethan, it involved you.  You should just be thankful all my weird dreams don’t come true.


Most people don’t even remember their dreams. I remember little details of dreams I had years ago.


I met your parents in my dream….heh heh heh…….. They were very young (relatively speaking), and your mom was downright cute  


desert heart stone tiny     desert heart stone tiny     desert heart stone tiny


Have you ever reeeeally thought about the story of the prodigal son? Our pastor talked about it recently, and made a point that I knew….but never really gave it a lot of deep thought.


When the son came back home, the father did not wait up on the porch or in the house for the son to come groveling for forgiveness. He saw his son coming from far off, and he ran out there to meet him, and offer his love and forgiveness.


Luke 15:11-27…..”There was a man who had two sons. 12 The younger one said to his father, ‘Father, give me my share of the estate.’ So he divided his property between them.


13 “Not long after that, the younger son got together all he had, set off for a distant country and there squandered his wealth in wild living. 14 After he had spent everything, there was a severe famine in that whole country, and he began to be in need. 15 So he went and hired himself out to a citizen of that country, who sent him to his fields to feed pigs. 16 He longed to fill his stomach with the pods that the pigs were eating, but no one gave him anything.


17 “When he came to his senses, he said, ‘How many of my father’s hired men have food to spare, and here I am starving to death! 18 I will set out and go back to my father and say to him: Father, I have sinned against heaven and against you. 19 I am no longer worthy to be called your son; make me like one of your hired men.’ 20 So he got up and went to his father.


“But while he was still a long way off, his father saw him and was filled with compassion for him; he ran to his son, threw his arms around him and kissed him.


21 “The son said to him, ‘Father, I have sinned against heaven and against you. I am no longer worthy to be called your son.’


22 “But the father said to his servants, ‘Quick! Bring the best robe and put it on him. Put a ring on his finger and sandals on his feet. 23 Bring the fattened calf and kill it. Let’s have a feast and celebrate. 24 For this son of mine was dead and is alive again; he was lost and is found.’ So they began to celebrate.


25 “Meanwhile, the older son was in the field. When he came near the house, he heard music and dancing. 26 So he called one of the servants and asked him what was going on. 27’Your brother has come,’ he replied, ‘and your father has killed the fattened calf because he has him back safe and sound.’


28 “The older brother became angry and refused to go in. So his father went out and pleaded with him. 29 But he answered his father, ‘Look! All these years I’ve been slaving for you and never disobeyed your orders. Yet you never gave me even a young goat so I could celebrate with my friends. 30 But when this son of yours who has squandered your property with prostitutes comes home, you kill the fattened calf for him!’


31 “‘My son,’ the father said, ‘you are always with me, and everything I have is yours. 32 But we had to celebrate and be glad, because this brother of yours was dead and is alive again; he was lost and is found.'”


There are soooo many good points to that story. But did you see what I mean? That father ran out to welcome the son back home. He loved his son so much and was just ecstatic to have him back home.


He could have made that hungry, depressed young man, get down on his knees and tell his father how rotten he was…how undeserving he was.  He could have refused to forgive him at all. But he didn’t. He ran out to him because he was so happy to see him. He ran out to him, so the son did not have to make that trip all the way back home by himself. Do you ever think you have to be perfect to come to God? Wrong….He meets us on the pathway, and walks back with us.


He didn’t care what his son had done….he only cared that his son had now decided his wild living was wrong…..and had stopped. He threw a party because his son was now found, after being lost. The son was alive again, after being dead to him.  Amazing Grace.


That’s the way our Heavenly father does with us. He isn’t sitting up there on a throne waiting to bop us on the head with a big hammer when we realize we need Him. He runs out to meet us. He welcomes us back, and He doesn’t care what we’ve done in the past. He only cares that we have decided to come back to Him. And He rejoices. The angels rejoice.


It’s also the way we must be with each other. Parents….do you have grown children who have lived like they shouldn’t, but have come back? Don’t try to make them feel like dogs for their past lives. God doesn’t do it, so it’s wrong. If we want to be like Him, we must forgive like Him.


We know it’s true that God rejoices when we come back to Him. We know he runs out to meet us where ever we are. We know He forgives whatever we have done in the past. Because this story is a “parable”…..an earthly story with a Heavenly meaning. This story is about God’s forgiveness in the first place. And scripture says He does not go back to our sins and try to make us feel guilty for them:


Ps 103:12…..12 as far as the east is from the west, so far has he removed our transgressions from us.


Now isn’t that cool?











 

10 thoughts on “Another weird dream

  1. RYC: I still can’t believe I had an over 8 pound baby in my belly!  I look at her and am just amazed that she was just there a few weeks ago, and now she is out here with us for us to love on!  I do miss feeling her kick, but it’s so much better having her here to hold!
    Lucy’s head measured 15″ in diameter, so I don’t think there would have been any pushing her out down there.  I do wonder if we are blessed with another child if I’ll ever be able to deliver “normally.”  It’s really something I want to experience, but honestly now that it’s all said and done the important thing is that she’s here and she’s healthy, so the way she made it here really isn’t all that important.  And even without having her vaginally, it was definitely quite the experience!!  LOL
    Thanks for the analogy you gave about Christ dying for us–I hadn’t even thought about it that way.  It’s so amazing how much GOd has revealed to me through being pg and now being a mom.  It’s like I’m in a completely different world and look at many things in such a different light now…

  2. PB, I had Brandon in just a normal, mostly uncomplicated birth. Then I had Rachel by emergency c-section. Before Bethany was born, I wanted to find a doctor that would let me labor again, and not automatically go with a repeat c-section. But I have a vertical incision, and every doctor told me there was too much chance of rupture with that type of incision (I’m trying not to get too graphic here since my post is not protected 😉 ). Since Rachel was an emergency and was up too high, they had to do the vertical incision. I wanted so much to once again experience the normal birth, but after Bethany was born, I realized it really wasn’t that big a deal. The incision takes longer to get over, but you don’t have to go through labor. But I will tell you that yes, the feeling of pushing that baby out into the world is an incredible feeling that you just can’t describe. I enjoyed being pregnant just like you did. Even after Beth was born, I really wanted another baby. For years, I dreamed of actually giving birth to another baby.

  3. ryc:  Yes, the sister you met – Terrie. 
    ryc: that thing… Of course you already got it – the distribution center is in Coppell! 
    Cindy – read the front of your phone book.  Lauren is committing a crime when it goes that far and you can report her either to the phone company or the police.  I bet if you call the phone company and tell them what she’s doing they will give you an unlisted number for free.  Then, unfortunately, you have to tell everyone who knows both you and her not to EVER give it to her.  PERIOD!
    I got ONE nasty call ONE time and I called the phone company and when I told them what the guy said to me she was aghast and told me, “You bet you can get an unlisted number!”  And they didn’t charge me to get it.
    love you too~
    Renee

  4. Ahh…that would be why it didn’t take very long :laugh:
    I really don’t think Lauren will call back anymore. If she continues, I will see about having her number blocked. I’m not afraid of her, but she sure aggravates the hek out of me.

  5. She could. But I think I’ll wait and see. Lauren isn’t all there, meaning not only that she has mental problems, but she seems like she’s really not that bright.
    And you know….one thing that bugs me and maybe it shouldn’t…..she calls to say she has “something really important” to tell Beth. And we always know what it will be…she has gotten “saved” again. And she gets baptized again. I don’t know how many times she has done that. Each time, she thinks the time before was not sincere, so she does it over.
    I just have so little patience with her. I feel bad, because I hate to hurt somebody’s feelings, but she just pushes all my buttons. But she never has been flat out told to stop before. I did in no uncertain terms tonight.

Leave a Reply

