Thanksgiving Dinner

Tonight Haley looked at Steve and said, “What happened you your glasses?” He told her, “I’m wearing contact lenses.” Haley replied, “Wow…..I didn’t know boys could wear contacts.”   Here’s Haley at the wedding last year.


Here’s some pics from tonight’s dinner. First….Jeremy thought he would choke Bethany:


Jeremy choking Beth


The dinner line:


Dinner line


And a special message. (For those of you who don’t know my family and church family, this is Steve, Bethany, Andy, Rachael, Brandon and Jeremy. Andy and Jeremy are from church. And the message is for our Air Force friend in Iraq, Ethan.)


Happy Thanksgiving Ethan


They got a little confused…..


Happy something


 


 desert heart stone tiny 2     desert heart stone tiny 2     desert heart stone tiny 2     desert heart stone tiny 2     desert heart stone tiny 2     desert heart stone tiny 2     desert heart stone tiny 2     desert heart stone tiny 2     desert heart stone tiny 2     desert heart stone tiny 2


4:25 p.m….I just saw the neatest story on tv. Some of you may have seen it, too, if you watched Oprah. Sixty-four years ago, a 14 year old boy was in a concentration camp. One day he saw a girl walking around outside the fence and she spoke to him. She was Jewish, too, but was living on a farm outside the camp, and her family was posing as Christian. One thing that amazes me is that they managed to get away with that.


The boy asked her if she had anything to eat because he was hungry. She gave him an apple she had inside her coat. She began to bring him an apple and bread every day. One day he told her not to come around anymore because he was being shipped out to another camp. They both cried because they realized they would not see each other again.


Almost 15 years later, both were in New York City, but did not know the other was there. One night, a friend set him up on a blind date. They talked about the war, and he told her what camp he was in. She told him about bringing an apple a day to a boy in the camp. He asked if the boy was tall, and if he had told her not to come back because he was being shipped elsewhere. She said yes, and he told her it was him.


He proposed to her right there and told her they would never be apart again. They are about to celebrate their 50th anniversary.


Somewhere along the line, many young people did not learn that kind of love. Today the idea seems to be not “till death do us part,” but “till I find somebody more interesting.” Those people will never understand the kind of love the Rosenblatts have.


Beth told me she heard about another couple that has been married 80 years. He was 100 and she was 99. They have been married longer than a lot of people live.


desert heart stone tiny 2     desert heart stone tiny 2     desert heart stone tiny 2     desert heart stone tiny 2     desert heart stone tiny 2     desert heart stone tiny 2     desert heart stone tiny 2     desert heart stone tiny 2     desert heart stone tiny 2     desert heart stone tiny 2






3:25 p.m…Oh, my goodness….I am so sleepy I can barely keep my eyes open. For some reason, I woke up at 4:00 this morning and could not go back to sleep. I tried, but my body refused. So I got maybe 3-1/2 hours of sleep last night. Since I need around 10 hours a night, 3-1/2 just doesn’t cut it. I’m making a pot of coffee. It’s going to be a long night. I don’t have time for a nap because I have to leave in a little while to go down to the church.


desert heart stone tiny 2     desert heart stone tiny 2     desert heart stone tiny 2     desert heart stone tiny 2     desert heart stone tiny 2     desert heart stone tiny 2     desert heart stone tiny 2     desert heart stone tiny 2     desert heart stone tiny 2     desert heart stone tiny 2


1:00 p.m. Tired. I was at the doctor’s office about an hour. Then I went to the bank to get some money our pastor needed withdrawn, and went to his house to leave it with his wife. Stopped to get gas since the car was yelling at me that the fuel level was too low, and then went to Sam’s Club. That is not a place you get in and out of quickly. I stopped at the church to unload the stuff I got for tonight, and then went to have bloodwork done. I stopped at a carwash just to find out it wasn’t working. I may have go to the church tonight with a gazillion kitty cat paw prints all over the car.  


As I was on the way home, Beth called and asked if we had anymore laundry soap. She said she had to either wash clothes or go naked tonight. I told her I didn’t really think the going naked idea was a good one, and I was bringing laundry soap.


I haven’t even started cooking for tonight’s dinner yet. I have to do a big pan of dressing.


desert heart stone tiny 2     desert heart stone tiny 2     desert heart stone tiny 2     desert heart stone tiny 2     desert heart stone tiny 2     desert heart stone tiny 2     desert heart stone tiny 2     desert heart stone tiny 2     desert heart stone tiny 2     desert heart stone tiny 2


Big day today. I have a doctor’s appointment at 8:30 this morning. Then I have to go to the bank, Sam’s Club, and then home to cook. We are having our church-wide Thanksgiving dinner tonight at 7:00.


I started out the day with an email from Ethan.  He’s also known as “The Bomb Guy” or The Cutest Asian Guy I Know. (Yes, he’s reading, and probably shaking his head about now.) E, have I sufficiently embarrassed you now?


Today is my aunt’s birthday. Krista is 59. She and I are only 8-1/2 years apart, just like me and my youngest sister, so she was more like a big sister to me when I was little. She is the mother of Ross, who flies the Apaches, and Jill, who has breast cancer. I sent her a birthday email this morning (she works at NASA). Here’s what I said:


Ahem….*clearing throat*

 

Happy birthday to you,

Happy birthday to you,

Happy birthday, dear Kris-taaaaaaaaa,

Happy birthday to you.

You’re too old to have many more………

 


 

 

jawdrop7rg

Yeah….I expect I’ll be hearing back from her shortly


(EDIT 7:30 a.m…..I heard back from Krista…..


“…and raspberries to you!!!
Thanks for remembering!”


Isn’t it good to have loving family?


 

28 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Dinner

  1. This is the way we cook the chicken, cook the chicken, cook the chicken. This is the way we cook the chicken. All through the day.
    This is the way we bake the cornbread, bake the cornbread, bake the cornbread. This is the way we bake the cornbread. All through the day.
    This is the way we chop the onions, chop the onions, chop the onions. This is the way we chop the onions. All through the day.
    You get the idea. Have fun.

  2. :ROTFL:
    Noooooo…….the way we do it for the church dinner is we go to Sam’s and get 2 10lb. turkey breasts, and have them sliced. Then we bake the cornbread, crumble it up with stuffing mix and dried, already chopped onions, add milk, a can of chicken broth and a can of mushroom soup. Then we bake it. We don’t mess with those real onions :ROTFL:

  3. Dang it takes me two days to make dressing.
    Bake the chicken and cornbread one day.
    Then the day we eat it I mix it all up. Chicken, the broth from the chicken plus a couple of cans, cornbread, chopped onions, chopped celery, sage, cumin, poultry seasoning, thyme, salt, pepper, eggs.  (I think that is all) Then bake it for a couple of hours.

  4. My family would never go for the stuffing mix. They like it like “grandpa made it”.  Doug’s dad is/was a great cook. He isn’t able to cook anymore but he can still tell us how. He taught me how to make dressing a few years ago. Every time I make it though I call him and ask him if I am doing it right. Makes him fell good and needed. He use to own a grill, Ike’s Grill, in the town that Doug was raised in before he ever married Doug’s mom. my m-i-l is a good cook too, but he is awesome. 

  5. You’re making me hungry 😆
    My mom always made strictly cornbread dressing. She would bake it till it was firm enough to cut into squares. I like to use about 1/2 cornbread and 1/2 stuffing mix. Steve is from the north where they more often had bread stuffing instead of cornbread. By the north, I mean anything north of TX. :giggle: I’ll even include Arkansas :laugh: He’s from West Virginia. I don’t bake it quite so long…I like to be able to spoon it rather than cut it in squares.

  6. We consider the north anything north of Springfield Missouri. We are getting a lot of yankee’s in our area. they move here because of the lifestyle and then want to change things. Our county is a dry county and some of the yankee’s are wanting to get it on the ballot to make it wet. They like to stop off for a drink after work. Then go back where you came from.
    I guess I am on a soap box.:p

  7. 😆 Our city recently voted to allow the sale of liquor by the drink. We did not have it before, and many say that’s why we have no big restaurants in our city. We have Luby’s, but they don’t sell alcohol. People have to go “next door” to Pasadena if they want a drink with their meal.

  8. :ROTFL: Didn’t offend me. Oh, wait…..:lol:
    I’m always teasing Steve about being from West Virginia. When there’s a dead possum on the road, I ask him if he wants to stop and pick up dinner 😆 He says one leg is shorter than the other from walking on the sides of mountains.

  9. Hey Cindy Poo!  How did that doctor’s app’t go?  Don’t ya just love turkey and dressing?!  I do…I guess I will likely stay in Illinois with PB and Michael until after Thanksgiving, so I can make them a good Thanksgiving meal.  PB has requested that I make stuffed cornish hens–one of our family’s  favorites!  Love ya muchliest–paula sue

  10. Hi, Paula! I’ve missed you. Have you spoiled little Lucy yet? :giggle:
    We are adjusting my seizure medication. I’m going to try going back on the name brand drug rather than the generic. I switched 3 years ago because our insurance won’t pay much on the name brand. But the generic is not as stable in the blood, so my level is dropping too low, causing me to have some small seizures. They doctor is going to write a letter to the insurance company explaining this so I can appeal them not wanting to pay for it.

  11. Yeah they say that we can get more resteraunts here if we go wet. Places like Olive Garden. All of those are at Branson, just 30 minutes away. “But then Branson get’s the tax dollars”.  They also have the 5 billion people driving down one small street. Do we want that too?  NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO.
    :sigh:Soap box again.

  12. Oh, Cindy, it can be frustrating working with insurance companies!  I will be praying that they will respond favorably to this change…
    Yes, I am having so much fun spoiling our little angel.  She is more precious than words can describe!  I will probably stick wround until Thanksgiving and then head out…I am sure that will be hard, but I do have to eventually head back to Texas…:brokenheart:
    I love ya oodles!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  Paula Sue

  13. Hey, Shorty!  oops – feelin’ silly…
    I’m still using a modified First Place dressing recipe.  My mom and grandma tried to teach me, but they never measured anything.  Well, mom more than grandma never measured anything.  Then she told me I’m a better cook!  I measure but am not legalistic – HA!
    Ok. gotta check on dinner…
    hugs,
    Renee

  14. It did that to me, too, Cathy. I had tears running down my face.
    Adam….the difference with you is you’re NOT too old to have many more…..:ROTFL:
    Renee….I very rarely measure anything, unless it’s something that just won’t come out right without the exact amount. I have to measure making pies. My sisters don’t do pies, so I’m the one that always makes them for our family Thanksgiving and Christmas dinners.

Leave a Reply

