Are you empty?

If you guys notice a huge amount of comments, it’s just because Cathy and I are carrying on a conversation on Xanga. It was going back and forth between blogs, but now it’s just on mine.


I’m trying to get rid of junk. This is going to take me a while, since our house is full of junk. We frequently have places call wanting us to donate clothes and household items. Today, Texas Paralyzed Veterans came and picked up a huge box and a bag. You know all those Disney videos that they tell us will be locked in a vault and won’t be available again for almost forever? Well, we had them. Almost all of them. I gave them away. I’m tired of having VHS tapes take up so much room. DVD’s are so much smaller. I had thought I’d save them for my grandkids. Then they’d be antique. Our grandkids will talk about VHS tapes much the same way our kids talk about 8 track tapes.


I took all our Veggie Tales VHS tapes down to the church for use in children’s church. Beth wasn’t too sure about that, but I told her we’d get them in DVD’s. We have a couple of them in DVD’s already. After all, Brandon has to be able to dance to  “Where is my Hairbrush?” But the whole set of Veggie Tales DVD’s is $500! We’ll have to do this a little at a time. Steve got his first paycheck today at the new pay level, but we’re not spending it all on Veggie Tales.


I still have not taken the tree down, but many of the ornaments are off. Every time the cats knock another one off, I just put it on the coffee table. I  figure they’ll have the whole thing down by Easter. In fact, they’re working on it now.


I’m wanting to do some major movement of furniture (don’t tell Steve yet) and hauling out stuff we no longer use or want. Like the fish tank. We haven’t had fish in forever. It just sits there. I love the way fish look, but we don’t need one more thing to take care of. And besides, our cats have been known to go fishing in the tank. Once several years ago on a Sunday morning, we found our algae eater on the living room floor. We thought he was dead, but when we touched him, he moved. So we got him back in the tank and he lived. Another time, I kept smelling a dead fish somewhere, but could not find it. About a week or so later, I did find part of a dead fish, on the back of the shelf under the fish tank.


Now you know why I don’t like for people to just drop in. I never know what I’m going to find (or smell)when I get up in the mornings.


Our pastor’s wife is a junk collector…and I mean junk. Her garage is full of everything you could think of that a school teacher could possibly need for a future craft project. Her 2 girls always threatened to have those people from HGTV come and clean out her house. She threatened their very lives if they ever did that.  I give her a hard time (no surprise there, huh?) about the way her garage looks. She tells me not to say anything about her garage because ours is just as bad. But I told her our garage is not mine. The junk in it is not from me….it’s car parts from Brandon fixing up old Camaros and it’s tools. Not mine. I couldn’t find a particular tool in there if my life depended on it (Steve can’t either). I threaten anybody that opens the garage door when we have company.


I also have to do a bunch of cooking today. I had to thaw out everything in the big freezer last night. There was a ton of ice in there, eventhough it’s supposed to be frost free. That means 2 turkies, a big brisket and some ribs. The rest of the stuff I managed to get into the inside freezer.


And I have to go to the grocery store. I need help.


Love you, E.


dull women 


Our pastor started out Sunday morning by asking, “Are you empty enough?” He said we would probably not be sure how we should answer that question.


2 Kings 4:1-7…..One day the widow of one of Elisha’s fellow prophets came to Elisha and cried out to him, “My husband who served you is dead, and you know how he feared the LORD. But now a creditor has come, threatening to take my two sons as slaves.”


2 “What can I do to help you?” Elisha asked. “Tell me, what do you have in the house?” “Nothing at all, except a flask of olive oil,” she replied.


3 And Elisha said, “Borrow as many empty jars as you can from your friends and neighbors. 4 Then go into your house with your sons and shut the door behind you. Pour olive oil from your flask into the jars, setting the jars aside as they are filled.”


5 So she did as she was told. Her sons brought many jars to her, and she filled one after another. 6 Soon every container was full to the brim! “Bring me another jar,” she said to one of her sons. “There aren’t any more!” he told her. And then the olive oil stopped flowing.


7 When she told the man of God what had happened, he said to her, “Now sell the olive oil and pay your debts, and there will be enough money left over to support you and your sons.” NLT


First, this was a woman of faith. Did you notice she did not argue with Elisha? She didn’t say, “Are you crazy? I said I only had a little olive oil.” She didn’t say, “But this isn’t logical.” She just obeyed what this prophet of God told her to do. We have to get past the idea of human logic, if we are going to see God work. God is not limited by what makes sense to us.


What can God do with an empty vessel? He can fill it to overflowing.


God made that little bit of oil multiply until all those vessels (which were large urns) were filled. And when they were filled, the oil stopped flowing. He’s done the same thing with loaves and fishes. And once again, just as with the loaves and fishes, he supplied…with some left over. He not only supplied enough to get her out of debt, but enough for them to live on after that.


If you aren’t experiencing God, you aren’t empty enough. Our lives have to be emptied of all sin and self, for God to work in our lives. Of course, we are all still sinners. But when we accept Jesus, that sin is forgiven and God sees us as guilt-free.


God allows us to feel our emptiness and inadequacy before He provides the answer. We have to be able to see that we are nothing without God.


Far too many people appear to be happy on the outside, but are empty on the inside.


Prov 14:13…..13 Even in laughter the heart may ache, and joy may end in grief.  NIV


The world give you its best – its most attractive – first, until you are hooked. Alcohol and drugs appear to be lots of fun at first….until you can’t get away from them and they ruin your life. But Jesus gives miraculous joy from the very beginning….and it just keeps getting better. Every day with Jesus truly is sweeter than the day before. The longer we serve Him, the sweeter He grows.


John 14:21…..21 Those who obey my commandments are the ones who love me. And because they love me, my Father will love them, and I will love them. And I will reveal myself to each one of them.” NLT


That’s pretty plain. He reveals His blessings only after we obey Him.


Is your life empty enough for God to work in it? 
 




46 thoughts on “Are you empty?

  1. RYC: Yes I think it is a disk in  my back. I had a EMG and Nerve Conduction a couple of months ago and it showed nerve damage at the L3,4 and 5 levels. I opted not to have a MRI at that time because I did not have  a lot of pain. the pain has come the past couple of weeks. I was hoping it was fibromyalgia pain and would go away but it is getting worse. I am afraid that I will be having back surgery in my future. Hopefully, therapy will help. We shall see.

  2. RYC:  I have had surgery for herniated disc in my neck. I take Xanaflex, Darvocet and Aleve every night before I go to bed, but still wake up in pain. Doug said even when I was sleeping last night I was groaning so much that he knew I was in pain. At three this morning I was awake and couldn’t sleep for the pain. I do hope therapy will help as I do not want to have surgery again. 11 for one lifetime is enough.

  3. I had the same thing your dad had. The doctor did tell me that it could be a bone spur pressing the nerve, muscle inflammation pressing the nerve, or a herniated disc. I was just hoping that it would go away.

  4. lol if anyone is every able to follow me it will be a miracle.
    Sometimes the pain is from fibromyalgia and last a few days and eases up. This started out with a “hot flash” in my thigh. The hot flash is gone and now it is pain where the hot flash was. I am 44 with an 84 year old body.

  5. I am 44 with an 84 year old body.
    :ROTFL: I know what you mean. I have fibro, too, and rheumatoid arthritis. But I recognize that hot flash…a disk hitting a nerve. Not fun. I’m having a similar problem in my left leg. If I stand even for a short time, the feeling goes away. That tends to be inconvenient.:oh-no: But it’s better than pain. Right now I feel pain in that leg, starting in my back.

  6. My back hurts and the pain in my leg gets better after I walk a bit. The pain in my leg starts in the groin and goes to the top of my thigh and down to my knee. I also have pain in my heel. I had Plantar’s Fasscitis a few months back and got a shot. This pain in the heel is different so I don’t know if it is that again or something else. Dang I sound like my mother complaining about all of my aches and pains.

  7. Dang I sound like my mother complaining :ROTFL:
    Mirror, mirror on the wall
    I am my mother after all! :hammer:
    I have plantar fasciitis too. I’ve had 3 cortisone shots in my heel, and it felt like they were sawing my foot off. They hurt like heck. Feels like they are literally pulling the ankle joint apart. But they worked. I have not had much pain in it since then, and that was 3-1/2 years ago.

  8. I have the chicken on boiling and am about to take down Christmas decorations. John is moving into our weaning pen as I type this.
    Doug and I bought a house in town. David is living there and John is moving in. We thought Sveta may move in, but she stayed in Branson. We call it the weaning pen. The boys don’t like it when we call it that. They pay rent, most of the time. John is in hopes of buying it. I just hope one of them buy it soon.

  9. I have almost gotten to the point of wearing my Reebok’s with everything. I had a friend once that said she was going to wear a particular pair of shoes even though she knew they would hurt her feet because they were “so stinking cute”.  NOT ME!!! If my feet hurt I am miserable. I really need to loose weight, but just can’t get motivated too.

  10. John is moving into our weaning pen as I type this. :ROTFL: I like that.
    I have the chicken on boiling πŸ˜†  That’s a weird sounding disease. Weren’t we discussing diseases? πŸ˜†

  11. I cooking my cake in the crockpot. I got a new crockpot cookbook and saw the recipe and thought I would try it. It takes an hour and half.
    The chicken is boiling for dumplins. My Mother in law made dumplings when we were down for Christmas and used flour tortilla’s for the dumplings so I am trying it.

  12. I was surprised. My father in law has always made homemade everything. My mother in law is a good cook also. But this little shortcut amazed me. John loves chicken and dumplings so it is is welcome to the weaning pen meal.

  13. I have gone through a whole box of toothpicks checking to see if it is done. Everytime I check it and the toothpick comes out all gooey and chocolatey I have to “pick my teeth”:giggle:

  14. :oh-no::oh-no::oh-no:Doug just called and reminded me that it is Celebration night at Church and we promised the kids we would take them to eat Pizza.
    I didn’t even remember that it is Wednesday, much less Pizza night and I have done all of this cooking!!!!!:rolleyes::oh-no:

  15. i don’t think i knew that you have fibro and rhumatoid arthritis?  i have both.  i good days and not so good, but the good are getting more and more frequent.  i have even gone back to work recently and so far so good.  i’ll be praying for you.

Leave a Reply

