Every good and perfect gift….

I wanted to give you all a cooking tip: When you are boiling chicken, it cooks faster if you remember to turn on the burner underneath it  


Steve told me I had to go to Stuffonmycat.com to see the EOD cat:


“Diffusing bomb….be right back….”


EOD Cat 


Rom 1:20……20 For since the creation of the world God’s invisible qualities-his eternal power and divine nature-have been clearly seen, being understood from what has been made, so that men are without excuse. NIV


 


 


Connie made a comment on this post, which has spawned a whole post in itself, and I’m working on that. But I got sidetracked when reading the scripture for that post. I found this:


2 Chron 1:7-12…..7 That night God appeared to Solomon and said to him, “Ask for whatever you want me to give you.”


8 Solomon answered God, “You have shown great kindness to David my father and have made me king in his place. 9 Now, LORD God, let your promise to my father David be confirmed, for you have made me king over a people who are as numerous as the dust of the earth. 10 Give me wisdom and knowledge, that I may lead this people, for who is able to govern this great people of yours?”


11 God said to Solomon, “Since this is your heart’s desire and you have not asked for wealth, riches or honor, nor for the death of your enemies, and since you have not asked for a long life but for wisdom and knowledge to govern my people over whom I have made you king, 12 therefore wisdom and knowledge will be given you. And I will also give you wealth, riches and honor, such as no king who was before you ever had and none after you will have.”  NIV


Solomon, king of Israel and son of David, was given great wisdom by God, to lead the people of Israel.


God told Solomon to ask for whatever he wanted. And Solomon asked for wisdom and knowledge. Now how unselfish is that? Most people would have answered, “Make me the richest person in the world,” or some similar request. But Solomon didn’t. He just asked for wisdom, because he had a huge task in front of him….ruling over a nation, that was God’s chosen people.


How many nations would be great, and how many leaders of nations would be wise, if they just asked God for it? But they don’t have because they don’t ask.


Solomon only desired to do what was right….for the right reasons. And because he asked God for the right thing with the right motives, God gave him everything. He not only gave him the wisdom, he gave him the riches!


Matt 6:33….. 33 But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you. NKJV


James 4:2-3…..You do not have, because you do not ask God. 3 When you ask, you do not receive, because you ask with wrong motives, that you may spend what you get on your pleasures. NIV


Ps 37:30-31…..30 The mouth of the righteous man utters wisdom , and his tongue speaks what is just. 31 The law of his God is in his heart; his feet do not slip. NIV


Now….see how all those scriptures just fit so neatly together? Almost like God planned it that way


(Disclaimer: Don’t misunderstand…I am not saying God will make everybody rich. He won’t. He knows there are people he cannot trust with large sums of money. The point is simply that if you seek what God wants first, He will give you so much more than you asked for.)


“Every good and perfect gift comes from above.”   James 1:17

10 thoughts on “Every good and perfect gift….

  1. Yes. He gives us all we need. We think we have a lot of needs, but the Lord knows what we needs.
    I have heard people who wish they could win the lottery or Publisher’s Clearing House. Me, I am not so sure I want to be responsible for all that. Yes, with big money comes bigger responsibility. God will give us what we need. What ever it takes to live this life for Him and then to be with Him for Eternity.

  2. Interesting articles in your last post, Cindy. :goodjob: And very good post here. Isn’t it cool (as you stated) how God’s purposes and His truths are all the way through Scriptures. Wisdom – we can never get too much of His wisdom. :yes:Good job! :goodjob:Muchliest-erest! :love:

  3. RYC:  Thank you so much for posting what you did in the comments section of my blog.  I have sent it to my husband’s work email and he’ll be getting signatures too.  Blessings, Jill

  4. Great message….I just love reading that!  God is able to do exceedingly above all we could ever ask or think.  As I was reading the part where God asks Solomon what he wants and you commented that we don’t have something, simply because we haven’t asked.  That is so true!  I really enjoyed this one!  :sunny:

  5. Thanks, Stephanie. I don’t believe that God will just give whatever to anybody, though, as some do believe. I believe they have to be living the life God wants them to live….trying to keep His commandments, working for Him, and even then it has to be in our best interest. Sometimes God says yes right away, sometimes He says no if it’s not in our best interest, and sometimes He says “not now”.

Leave a Reply

