Love bears all things….

Today is 22 years since the Space Shuttle Challenger accident. I still remember what I was doing when it happened…I was standing in the living room watching the launch, while talking to my sister on the phone. I was pregnant with Bethany. Brandon was upstairs sitting on the balcony, also watching the launch on the tv.


5:45 p.m….Well, Beth didn’t get to give blood. She’s usually anemic, but her iron was fine today. The problem was her blood was so thick, they could not even get any at all. She hasn’t been eating much and we do have a blood clotting problem in my family, so I’m afraid those things might be working together. If her blood is too thick, that means she isn’t getting good blood circulation anywhere.


4:35 p.m….I just went back to find the post with the slide show of Sandy our dog, from July. I was sending it to some friends at church that just had their “baby” Missy put down. But I got side-tracked by several other old post (like Ethan’s birthday post). I have to go back and laugh at them sometimes.


Beth didn’t work today  since she’s having such pain in her foot, but she is gone right now to give blood.


I’m working on reorganizing our master bathroom today. I am taking out part of the cabinet under the sink, to put in some storage. Our house is 29 years old, and many of the original things in it have fallen apart. They were not high quality to begin with. We need to completely replace the sink and cabinet in the master bath, but that will have to wait a while. For now, this is a temporary fix.


Right after I went to bed last night, I had a thought that I almost got up to post…..


When the rapture happens, I wonder how many troops will disappear from our battlefields? And I wonder what impact that will have on the enemies?


praying for our troops


I just got an email from DaySpring, with a framed print, that I am going to order for the Valentine Banquet. It reads:


Your Divine Valentine


A Valentine may play a love song for you, but God sings you the sweetest love song in the universe.


The Lord your God…will rejoice over you with gladness, He will quiet you with His love, He will rejoice over you with singing. ZEPHANIAH 3:17


A Valentine may give you flowers, but God sent you the most beautiful rose of all, Jesus.


I am the rose of Sharon, and the lily of the valleys. SONG OF SOLOMON 2:1


A Valentine may take you out to dinner, but God has invited you to the most amazing feast ever given.


Blessed are those who are called to the marriage supper of the Lamb! REVELATION 19:9


A Valentine may bring you chocolate, but God provides you with something even sweeter, His Word.


How sweet are your words to my taste, sweeter than honey to my mouth! PSALM 119:103


A Valentine may love you for a lifetime, but God loved you before you were born and will love you for all eternity!


Yes, I have loved you with an everlasting love. JEREMIAH 31:3


-Holley Gerth


Beth has posted a video of a song Gabe wrote. He is the one whose parents’ house burned about 3 weeks ago. It’s good. You never know whose life God is going to touch, using things that happen in the lives of Christians.


z7007533 


I’m starting to get excited about the Valentine Banquet at church. I’ve been online looking at decorations at Oriental Trading.   It will be Feb. 16. Our theme is going to be “Love bears all things,” from I Corinthians 13:7.


We are going to make these picture frames to give to everybody.


 

22 thoughts on “Love bears all things….

  1. RYC:  Weather moves in from the west. So it is mslordieann’s fault. She lives on the Oregon Coast. It was snowing big time there yesterday morning so probably tomorrow or Wednesday we will get cold weather. :sigh:We Actually had nice weather Saturday and Sunday. 

  2. RYC:  I thought you knew that!  :hammer:   Yes, Dan and Jenn are both born on July 4th, 3 years, 2 hours, 1 minute apart…..BANG!!!!  How’s that for timing?  They were both completely natural births.  I guess I’m just good like that.  I’ve always said they were twins…Jenn was just a little stubborn!  :ROTFL:  I’m sure you probably viewed my slideshow post on July 4, 2006.
    I was watching TV the day the Challenger blew up.  We had a tv repairman there working on it.  I was just shocked!  I couldn’t believe what I was seeing.  I was also watching the coverage of the World Trade Center Tower and saw both towers fall.  😦
    So, at our church the Silver Saints (You can stop laughing!) are all going out to dinner for Valentine’s Day at the Der Dutchman http://www.dhgroup.com/en/wv/wv-restaurant.php .  Yes, Doug and I are going, too!  Right now I think there are like 12-14 couples going.
    I haven’t been around too much today.  I received 13 obits in the mail today including two of my great-grandparents!  I’ve been busy working on entering them into my genealogy and also getting all the laundry done and ready to pack for our trip Friday.  I should have about 20 more obits coming in the mail any day now.  I also finished cutting the quilt blocks for Hope’s baby quilt.  I think we might make a trip up there sometime in February.  We’ll see if I can get it done to take with us.

  3. My gosh, Sue….what are you doing in your spare time?? 😆
    I guess I had forgotten they had the same bday. If you were really good, you would have had Ashley on July 4 also :nono:
    Silver Saints :ROTFL: :ROTFL: :ROTFL: :ROTFL: :ROTFL: Ok….I’ll stop….for now…….:oh-no: 

  4. Oh, concerning Jenn’s two dates this past weekend…she had fun on both dates, they were both Christians, they were easy to talk to, the one actually prayed before they ate, the second one was an hour late because he locked his keys in his house, the first one owns a condo and two cars, the second one owns a house and a sad 😦 car…bottom line, she said they both seemed more interested in her than she in them.  She said “Just no spark!”  She might have a date with another new guy this weekend.  I’m pulling for him!  I have nicknamed him orphan.  I know that sounds mean but it’s not meant to be.  Both of his parents passed away several years ago.  His mother was diagnosed with cancer, his dad died 5 weeks after her diagnoses.  He needs some good surrogate parents to love on him!  This is why.  His mother was also a teacher friend of a real good friend of our family who also died young of cancer at the age of 38.  Melissa was in our wedding.  He is 31.  Plays the drums and learning to play guitar.  That’s about all I know about him.  😆
    Poor Beth,  I sure wish her foot would get better soon!!!

  5. Ok….I’m praying. She might not feel that “spark”. It might be a slow warming up to one of them. Maybe one will become a really good friend, and they will end up falling in love.
    Just tell her to get a move on. She’s not getting any younger :hammer: :ROTFL:

  6. And thank you about Beth’s foot. Sunday night at church (she didn’t go) Jeremy came up to me and said he was worried that she would have this problem for the rest of her life. He’s 10 and totally in love with her. She told us she was worried she’d have this the rest of her life, too.
    It’s all for a reason. But I sure wish I understood the reason. I’m just watching for what God is going to do.

  7. Oh, and most importantly…he is a Christian also!  And an insurance underwriter who works about 30 minutes north of here.  If your good with geography you’ll be able to figure that out!  And he too lives on his own in a house or an apartment one.  He has been married before but has no children.  I’m thinking possibly with all the loss and emotions that comes with it maybe the marriage didn’t weather the storm.  That, or maybe he married young and it didn’t make it. 

  8. I’d sure find out why the marriage didn’t work. That’s important. With the guy that wanted to date Beth, but had been married twice, I strongly feel that he just made terrible decisions. And he blamed his 2 marriage failures on other people.

  9. Ashley missed Memorial Day by 3 days!  My doctor asked me if I wanted to wait until July 4th.  My reply was a BIG “NO!  I’m ready for this baby to come out now.”  😆  It wasn’t funny at the time…I was serious!  And I was only in labor with her for 5 hours.  A far cry from Dan’s 30 something hours!

  10. 😆 You should have punched that doctor in the nose! I was in labor with Brandon almost that long….almost 24 hours. The other 2 were c-sections, but I went through a few hours of labor even then.

  11. Be assured I’ll find out!!!  Us mothers are good like that.  At the same time, with the divorce rate over 50% even within the church, if there is an understandable reason, I won’t hold it against him.  Ok, I’m going to fold yet another load of clothes and then hit the tub for a nice hot bath before bed.  Nice chatting with you!  :wave:

  12. I just posted on my site and then came here and was reading about Beth’s blood giving experience and thought I was still on my site. I had to do a double take.

    When the challenger exploded I was sitting in my living room playing with Adam. He was 17 months old and I had just found out that I was pregnant with John. My phone immediately started ringing. A local school teacher from Redfield, where we lived at the time, was in the top 5 running for the spot on the shuttle. It was indeed a sad day.

  13. A friend of mine in the AE program at Tech sent the following email after Columbia was destroyed 4 years ago. It includes, as you can see, with a letter he sent to the head of Tech’s AE department. I think what he conveys here is just as applicable to the Challenger explosion:I hope that the program continues and that people remember not only the 14 Astronauts that have died aboard the first two space shuttles, but also the hundreds of Astronauts who have safely returned and continue to dedicate their lives to improving the future for all mankind. They are all heroes.Dr. Loewy-I saw you on TV on Saturday night during an interview with Fox news. I had been watching TV almost all day…. I was only 6 years old when the Challenger accident occurred, and I was too young to really understand what was going on. It wasn’t until much later that I understood what happened. I never heard President Reagan’s speech until yesterday. I never really understood what the days following the accident were like until now. It’s not only experiencing this moment… in a way, its reliving something that I was always glad I was too young to understand.I knew what was wrong somewhere between 9:02 and 9:03. I woke up at 8:30 to watch the landing live on NASA TV as I always do. A few days earlier, I had an eerie premonition that I was watching the landing and the shuttle crashed on the runway. I thought maybe I shouldn’t watch the landing, because it would be traumatic if that happened and you saw it. It might be better to just read the news later and you wouldn’t have to see the video….Regardless, I have such respect for the shuttle itself and the program that I just had to see it. At around 9 am they said they lost communications with the shuttle. I said to myself, “thats ok, they train for that. We’ll just wait another 6 or 7 minutes and we’ll see it on the long range cameras. We’ll just wait for them to land. They can do that without communications.”about a minute later, they said they’d lost tracking, and my heart stopped. My hands started shaking as I watched mission control live. I switched to ABC: they hadn’t heard anything yet. They had no idea. I called my dad and I told him “they just lost the space shuttle.” He said, “what? what do you mean they lost it?” I said, “They fired the engines 45 minutes ago over the Indian Ocean. It should be on the ground in 5 minutes and they don’t know where it is.”There was no one else to call, and nothing to do… No one was going to know about this for at least another half an hour. I was still on the phone with him at 9:25 when they first switched to the WFAA video of the shuttle fragments falling from the sky. At that point, the result was completely clear: that moment was one of those things I knew I’d have to remember for the rest of my life.Not only was I alive when it happened, but I watched it live on TV. Call it a loss of innocence, or a disappointment caused by reality: despite the best efforts of NASA to make spaceflight safer after the Challenger accident, it had happened again. I have no idea what will happen over the next period of weeks, months, or years, as they try and sort out the future of the space program, but now I finally know how you all felt in January of 1986, and in 1967 after the Apollo fire.When we watch Apollo 13, we see that something terrible went wrong and NASA was able to fix it. We’re all under the impression that once they’re in space, NASA can save them. They can do anything to fix whatever seems to be wrong and they can save the crew because they’ve done it before. Needless to say, this comes as a shock to every AE in particular, because the shuttle itself embodies the exact reason why every single person submits an application to our program.For me, it’s especially depressing that the shuttle involved was the Columbia. To me, the Columbia is the flagship. The finest, the most pure, the real test vehicle that made the maiden flight with Captain Young at the helm, and was the first spacecraft to make a wheeled landing and be reused again. The Columbia embodies the heart of everything I wish I could do as an AE. We all have always wanted to make something like Columbia take to the sky. To see it crashing down is like watching our dreams crash down with it.It goes without saying that we’re all depressed and saddened by the events of Saturday. I only hope that the astronauts can be honored in a fitting way, and the program can continue. I hope very much that the American public does not discount human spaceflight as unneccessary and overly dangerous. Despite our specialties and research to the contrary, I think every single AE truly wants to be an Astronaut.And, the events of Saturday aside, I would sign up to fly tomorrow if they’d have me. As Captain Young said after returning with Columbia on STS-1: “The Dream is Alive.” No matter what you may hear from people all over the world, for all of the students in your school, I assure you that the dream is still alive, and nothing that people will do will ever change the way we feel.Thanks, as always, for being such a great representative of the school and of aerospace engineering. As traumatic as the events of Saturday were for all of us, it was nice to be able to sit at home on Saturday with my parents and see your face on TV.Sincerely,P–

  14. That’s a good letter, Doug. I’ve posted on here before that my family is a NASA family. My dad first went to work out there in 1965. I say “out there” as a habit, because when he started at NASA, it was waaaay “out there”…outside of Houston. Back then, there was very little around NASA – The Johnson Space Center. It took him about 30 minutes to get to work.
    My uncle, who had retired from the Air Force, also worked there. In the years after that, my sister went to work at NASA. Now her son works there, too. My moms’s sister works there. She has to sign off on parts of the space shuttles as they are built, to certify that they are safe. My cousin (daughter of the uncle that worked there) also works for one of the NASA contractors.
    I remember the fire that killed White, Grissom and Chafee. I remember Apollo 13. I remember the helpless, panicky feeling, wondering what would happen to those men if they were forever lost up there in space. When I saw the Apollo 13 movie, I could recall all those feelings. I remember watching the coverage of the first moon landing….waiting to hear they had touched down and waiting to see the first human step out onto the moon. It was exciting.
    I did a paper once in school, on how the astronauts train. It sure did help to have family out there, who could provide me all kinds of materials. The NASA family really does feel like a family. It’s what my sister has told me about being there now, and it’s the feeling I had when my dad worked there.
    Of course, I remember the Challenger. I was watching the liftoff on tv, talking to my sister on the phone. We both could not believe what we were seeing. I remember thinking it was just awful that the family members had to see what was happening, and they could do nothing.
    And the Columbia. It was a Saturday morning. We were on our way to the church for a workday. Steve and I were cooking breakfast that morning. We had to be there at 8:00 a.m. And I can still remember….I know that I know….that we felt it when the Columbia exploded. The place where it broke up is not very far north of us. They lost contact at 8:00 our time, and just minutes before that was when we felt it. I did not know what it was, but I remember asking Steve, “What was that?” We had no idea. It wasn’t something you could hear….just something you could feel. When we were cooking breakfast that morning at church, one of the ladies came by and told us the shuttle had been lost. I’ll always remember it was Feb. 1, because it was my nephew Michael’s birthday.
    I’ll always remember the feeling I had, thinking about the families. Their loved ones had been gone 16 days. When Steve’s gone 5 or 6 days, I get so excited about him coming home. These families were minutes away from seeing their loved ones who had been gone over 2 week.s I can just imagine the anticipation. The feeling must have been awful, knowing that they should have already been seeing the shuttle in the distance, but it wasn’t there. They died just minutes before the scheduled landing.
    I don’t think the dream of space exploration will ever die. It is still so important to so many people.  I still watch lift-off and landings and feel that pride the same as when I see our flag go by. There will always be people who think space exploration is not worth it, just as there are people who want to pull all our troops out of the sandbox right now. But then there will always be those of us who think it should go on.

  15. We’ve been to the Kennedy Space Center but I don’t think we’ve been to Houston.  Honestly I can’t even remember if we stopped in Houston.  I know we stopped in Dallas because we toured the Dallas Cowboys Stadium (have pics playing football on the field!) and also the The Sixth Floor Museum at Dealey Plaza.  I’m trying to rack my brain to think if we stopped anyplace else in Texas and it is failing me.  :ROTFL:

Leave a Reply

