There are blessings in illness

Edited…….


10:30 p.m….I just heard a report on the Texas Lottery on the news. Of course, it said what we already knew….that the lowest income people are the ones that play the lottery the most. But they interviewed one man in a low income part of Houston, who said he spends $1500 a month on lottery tickets.


Let’s see…..he spends $1500 a month on the lottery….for years…..and has never won. Clearly, he is not a mathematician.


Reminds me once again, of a post Ethan did years ago, on how much air it takes for stupid people to breathe.


         


After I posted the article on the new abortion clinic in Houston, I wondered how many people would have the intestinal fortitude to learn more about partial birth abortion. Many mistakenly believe that it is necessary to save a mother’s life. As a doctor explains in the coming video (don’t worry…it’s not bloody and graphic…just a simulation) that it is not the case at all. Very, very few abortions are actually done because the mother’s physical life is in danger. An abortion is not necessary in that case, if the baby is late term. The baby can just be delivered and and taken to the nursery. Most last trimester babies are able to live on their own, eventhough they may take a little bit of medical intervention.


Here is a video of a mock partial birth abortion. No gore. But it helps people to better understand the procedure. Also, here is the testimony of a nurse who assisted in a partial birth abortion. I read this many years ago, in something from Focus on the Family. She was no longer pro-choice after witnessing that event. 


truths and lies


Just got this in an email……..


Planned Parenthood Plans Six-Story Clinic in Houston 



An entire floor will be dedicated to late-term abortions.


In October, Planned Parenthood opened the nation’s largest abortion clinic — 22,000 square feet — in Aurora, Ill.


But that’s last year’s news.


Its Denver clinic, at 50,000 square feet, is under construction. And its new, six-story Houston clinic, which will dwarf the others at 78,000 square feet, will have an entire floor for late-term abortions.


“Despite complaints from Planned Parenthood officials around the country about the closing of clinics, their strategy of opening larger, mega-clinics shows they are still well-invested in the killing of preborn life,” said Dawn Vargo, associate bioethics analyst for Focus on the Family Action. “While their tactics may be changing, the number of abortions they do each year continues to increase.”


In 2005, Planned Parenthood ended the lives of 264,943 preborn babies nationwide, according to its annual report. That was up almost 15 percent from 2002. 


Planned Parenthood of Houston & Southeast Texas will open the abortion center in the fall, just outside the gates of the University of Houston’s main campus.


Christine Melchor, director of Houston’s Coalition for Life, said: “They like to be situated in some of the poorer, minority neighborhoods — that’s exactly where this building is — and close to college campuses; there are several colleges in that area.”


Prayer vigils and pickets are planned.


beating heart 


I’ve lost about 7 pounds in the last few days. It’s the hard way to do it, but a blessing none the less. Don’t tell me it will be back….just let me dream.


Go to Jimmy Li’s site (gideonrecon) and read his last 2 posts about the protesting of the Marines in Berkley, CA. Jimmy is a Marine.


Prov 31:30-31……30 Charm is deceptive, and beauty does not last; but a woman who fears the LORD will be greatly praised. 31 Reward her for all she has done. Let her deeds publicly declare her praise. NLT


I love that. I was doing some studying and came across this scripture. Of course, I’ve read it many times before, but this time it just kind of jumped out at me, because of other thoughts running through my mind.


We are bombarded every single day with ads telling us we don’t look like we should. And with models who make us feel like we are defective because we don’t look like them. There is make-up that promises to make us look younger. There is haircolor that promises we won’t look mousy or gray. There is even hair color for men that promises they’ll get the girl! If they don’t use it, it’s “No play for Mr. Gray.”  There are even places offering nose and eyelid surgery for Asian people, so they will no longer look Asian. How absurd is that?


(Note: I am not against make-up and haircolor. I do use them. But I use it to look my best, not to look like something I’m not. I’ll be 51 next month. Nothing can change that. But we should not suggest that people are not worth our time, just because they might have gray hair or an imperfect face.)


But God says our praise is in our reverence for Him, and not our ways or our appearance. The world doesn’t understand it. And sadly, many Christians don’t understand it, either.


Did you know that Jesus was not the good-looking caucasian man you always see in the movies? To begin with, He was Jewish. He was from the Middle East. I’m sure he looked like he belonged there. He likely looked Middle Eastern. But he was not someone the women would have chased.


Isa 53:2-3……2 He grew up before him like a tender shoot, and like a root out of dry ground. He had no beauty or majesty to attract us to him, nothing in his appearance that we should desire him. 3 He was despised and rejected by men, a man of sorrows, and familiar with suffering. Like one from whom men hide their faces he was despised, and we esteemed him not. NIV


It wasn’t an accident that he was not good looking. If he had been, everybody would have adored him….for the wrong reasons. Look at American movie stars. People flock after them like they are something really special. All because of what they are and how they look.







Eccl 7:13……13 Notice the way God does things; then fall into line. Don’t fight the ways of God, for who can straighten out what he has made crooked? NLT







 

16 thoughts on “There are blessings in illness

  1. :heartbeat::sunny::heartbeat:
    Cindy,
    I pray all of you get well quickly. I hate getting sick and passing it around. Hang in there. God bless you!!
    Cynthia :love:

  2. yep, I ‘m not born in HongKong actually.I moved here at the age of 10 as I remember. However I’m not familiar with my motherland at all. I was so small at that time.
    Sometime, I wonder why there are so may foreign people in HK cuz I think HK is not an ideal place to live in. Compared with England or other forign countries, I do believ that people can make more living and usually are high-paid.
    but thing’s different now, I’m told by some successful business women and man that Hong Kong is an ideal place to do business. Low tax is one of the good instance, though I can’t think of other benifits. 
    anyhow, I still dream to be a citizen of the foreign countries.

  3. Hope your feeling better…or at least Get Better Soon! If you need a little laughter, you can read my uber long venting frustration post of the day 🙂

  4. Yes, you are right…it is good to have a Xanga to vent on.
    I have 3 roommates..glad you like the Mt. St. Helens comment. :ROTFL: 
    Now…wait a minute, my roommates wouldn’t even know there was an M&M cake…you know why?  Well, because it wouldn’t have their name on the package…they never touch my packages..mwhahahaha.  I would guard it with my life…I promise 🙂

  5. i have  never been in favor of abortion for any reason, but especially now after having my own baby I just don’t understand how anyone could have one and even more how someone could perform one!  it’s so sad…

Leave a comment