Cats…..

Domino is a basket case……


Domino the basket case


Domino is a shredder. He shreds any piece of paper he sees. The other day I caught him shredding a coupon he found. I usually keep a roll of paper towels by the front door, to clean up messes. Well….that roll met an untimely death a short while ago. It might not have been as bad if he had just torn sheets from the roll, but no….he had to sink his teeth deeply into the roll and tear every sheet, as he pulled out chunks of paper. *SIGH* At least it was only part of a roll. Last week he tore open 2 bags of noodles intended for our church food pantry drive.


You have to be a cat person to understand why we keep them.  


cat4sale           cat44


I do believe that the new thyroid medication is going to help me a lot. I’ve washed 2 loads of clothes and towels, unloaded and reloaded the dishwasher, scrubbed the kitchen sink, and put chicken on to cook to make more chicken salad. I still don’t have a lot of energy, but I have more than I did. (Edit 11:00 p.m….I’ve since washed a 4th load of clothes, unloaded and loaded the dishwasher again, and am in the process of putting together the chicken salad. And I cooked spaghetti for supper.)


I have never felt good in my entire life, because my whole life has been one big medical problem. Literally. So I have to rate how I feel on a relative scale. Steve’s dad did not want him to marry me, because I have so many medical problems. (Not to mention I wasn’t Catholic )


But the last year has been worse than I’ve ever been. And I believe now that the thyroid medication I was on, was not helping me much. You can go HERE to see what the symptoms are of hypothyroidism, or an underactive thyroid. I first developed a goiter when I was 9 years old, so my thyroid has been slowly being destroyed since childhood. It’s an auto-immune disease called Hashimoto’s thyroiditis. In childhood, hypothyroidism can cause mental retardation. So I had to undergo psychological testing to see if it had caused my brain to slow down  I don’t know why they thought it might have done so, because I was an above average student in school. No sign of that kind of brain problem (leave it alone)  The psychologist told my parents that my IQ at 9 years old was “one point below genius,” meaning 139. I like to tell people that it did, in fact, stunt my mental development. I might have had an IQ of 250 if my thyroid had been functioning properly    Nobody but me is buying that, and I just don’t understand  


Now I need to get ready to go pick up another prescription at Walgreens, drop another one off, and go to the post office. Fun.


Beth is off today. I mean from work.

19 thoughts on “Cats…..

  1. :heartbeat: Love the pic of Domino…..Such a cutie!! :yes:  I hope you have gone to bed like you said….:sleepy::sleepy: I had a 45 minute nap today, so I’m still going strong!  :love: :love: :wave: ~Carolyn  :goodjob:

Leave a Reply

