St. Patrick’s Day

Interesting information about Barack Obama’s denial that he was present when his pastor made racial remarks. (Read all the way to the end of the page – there is information broken up by other stories.)

 


You paid attention during 100% of high school!




85-100% You must be an autodidact, because American high schools don’t get scores that high! Good show, old chap!

Do you deserve your high school diploma?
Create a Quiz


 

I actually got 91% the first time, getting 2 wrong. Then I went back and changed one answer that I wasn’t real sure about, and found a stupid mistake I made on the other, by not reading the question right. I guess it’s not too bad for graduating 33 years ago.

Haven’t done much of anything so far today. Mondays are usually my resting day, since our weekends are quite busy. I have to go to the bank in a little while. Then my plan is to thoroughly clean cat boxes. Anybody want to help?


Do you know anybody who wants to live like a Christian, and tell others about Jesus, but they are afraid of looking foolish? It’s probably a fear most people share. They don’t want people to laugh at them. They don’t want to be rejected.


Many people have done things without fear of looking foolish. Noah built a humongous boat, while everyone was laughing and teasing. His neighbors had never even seen rain, so they didn’t understand. I’m sure after the rain started, they quit laughing, and started pounding on the boat to get in. But it was too late. And Noah and his family were snug and dry, because they obeyed what God told them to do.


People laughed at David when he went out to kill a giant with a slingshot. Can you imagine the jeering? “You’re gonna do WHAT??” But David knew it wasn’t his power that would take out the enemy. He knew it was God’s power. (More on David in a later post.)


Peter walked on water for a short time when Jesus told him to get out of the boat and come to Him. But he looked around and saw that this was an impossible thing for a mere human to do, and began to sink. Isn’t that strange that we see miracles happen, but fear and disbelief overtake us?


Matt 14:29-31…..29 “Come,” he said. Then Peter got down out of the boat , walked on the water and came toward Jesus. 30 But when he saw the wind, he was afraid and, beginning to sink, cried out, “Lord, save me!”


31 Immediately Jesus reached out his hand and caught him. “You of little faith,” he said, “why did you doubt?”  NIV


He took his eyes off his goal and let fear set in. Very often, Christians do that. They take their eyes off Jesus, and feel the fear caused by the fierce winds around them. Those winds are stirred up by Satan.


But look what God did. Peter said, “Lord, help (my paraphrase),” and Jesus reached out and pulled him up. Peter knew Jesus was the answer.


He does the same thing for us, if we have accepted Him and believe that He has the power to pull us up. That’s called faith. And He’ll do it every time you start to sink.


Trust Him. And don’t worry about looking foolish. Don’t worry about what other people think.


Ps 121:1-2…..I lift up my eyes to the hills —  where does my help come from?  2 My help comes from the LORD, the Maker of heaven and earth .  NIV


     FlyingClover     FlyingCloverFlyingClover


Happy St. Patrick’s Day, Y’all. I don’t have to remember to wear green, because my eyes are green.


 

12 thoughts on “St. Patrick’s Day

  1. 🙂 :giggle: I like what you’ve said… you have a permanent ‘green’ in you… no one can pinch you ever…:sunny: it’s late, going to bed pretty soon:sleepy:
    thanks for peeking in my Xanga abode Cindy!

  2. my eyes are greenI tried that argument in elementary school. I still got pinched. Of course, looking back, I had a pretty good case for battery against those teachers. :oh-no:

  3. Well, so far so good. I was afraid I was going to have another weird dream after watching 5 episodes of CSI, but nothing. And I have blue-green eyes, so I’m half good. :ROTFL:

Leave a Reply

