Memorial Service

So if any of you have a MySpace, here’s mine. Not much on it.


Sunflower line


Just had a thought (and yes, it gave me a headache – just thought I’d say that before somebody else did ).


I use to date a guy that thought it would not be a good thing to work for the same company all your life, because your bosses there would know the mistakes you made when you were starting out in your career. His theory was you should get your mistakes out of the way, and then move on to a different job where you could start fresh.


I also worked with a girl who had problems with her bank account. Whenever she couldn’t get her checking account to balance, she would just close that account and open a new one at another bank.


You might also know people like that….they make mistakes just like every other human being, but they decide the mistakes are too great to correct, so they move on.


Some people think they are too far gone for God to love them. But Jesus makes all things new.


2 Cor 5:17-18…..17 Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!  NIV


Sunflower line


The service went well this morning. I tried not to cry during Beth’s song, but was unsuccessful. I got tears in my eyes, but tried really hard to keep them from spilling over. Didn’t work. The song she sang, Closer to You, really gets to me. We arranged the service so that nobody would say anything about Kay before Beth sang, so she would be able to get through the song. The only mistake was we put pictures of Kay on the table in front of the pulpit, and Beth could see them, but she did alright.


When my grandmother died, I sang 4 songs at her funeral. I had to sing them between times that 2 different pastors spoke about her. That was a tough thing to get through. I kind of had to tune out what they were saying. It was also open casket, and I was standing right where I could look straight at her. I just had to make myself not look. I just prayed the whole time, that I would not cry and that God would just sing the songs for me, so that I did not have to worry about breaking down. He took care of it.


We went to Chili’s for lunch. Chicken Club Tacos


Singing4God8692, singing for God:


Beth 4-27-08 


25 thoughts on “Memorial Service

  1. Beth looks so pretty in that shirt. :goodjob:rtc: I’m really lucky, William makes almost all my meals. He’s making me one right now, actually. It’s mainly because I’m not supposed to walk up and down stairs constantly, especially since I’ve been feeling weak lately. The kitchen is downstairs, our room is upstairs. Once we move out into a one level apartment, I’ll have to make most of my meals. šŸ˜„

  2. :heartbeat:I had not heard that song before, and it is beautiful!:yes: Beth – I’m so glad that your mom didn’t check with you first, cuz you wouldn’t have given her permission. :shysmile:I agree ~ God has blessed you with a beautiful voice.:love: I  really liked listening to you sing. :littlekiss:(I’ll buy your cd if you make one). RE: Your comment Cindy — “He took care of it.” ~  I’m so glad that He takes care of things ~ getting us through songs, speeches, etc… or just our own mistakes (as you also reminded us of in your little devotional.  :goodjob: :yes:  :love::heartbeat::love:

  3. @bubston – I keep trying to comment on your site about the wedding, and it’s telling me the page can’t be found. Xanga may be having some server problems. I’ll try back again later. But it was gorgeous. I love that dress Robin wore. All of you looked so pretty.

  4. Oh, Cindy, I have waited so long to get to hear her sing…Now I want to hear you!  How beautiful!!!!!!!!!!!!  Thank you for giving me the heads up that you had placed this on your site…I love you sooooooooo much….What a blessing this was!  What a blessing you and your family are!

  5. @heyheypaula – Hi, Paula….thank you. I actually was going to put the recording of the song I sang today on here, too, but mine had a lot of distortion on the recording. I’ll hunt for one I’ve done before and post it. I was looking today for a tape where I sang Amazing Grace, but I can’t find it. I am hoping it did not get accidentally thrown out with some others I threw away. šŸ˜„
    Love you much more than muchliest! :heartbeat: :heartbeat: :heartbeat: :heartbeat: :heartbeat:

  6. Beautiful job.:sunny:
    Brought tears to my eyes. Our friend that I posted about a few post ago, died on Friday. His visitation is tonight and funeral tomorrow. Doug is pretty torn up about it. He told me this morning after the funeral tomorrow he wants to get out of town a couple of days.

  7. Dang it!  My connection is acting up.
    Beautiful job, Beth – you have a very pretty voice.  I’m glad your mom posted it!
    Now I want to hear you, Cindy!
    Renee

  8. @carrensey – 
    Now I want to hear you, Cindy!
    You will. I have been searching for a tape I have of me doing Amazing Grace, but cannot find it. It was a video and it was a pretty good recording. I think it was at our church homecoming in 2000, and it’s bugging me that I can’t find it. But I actually don’t have very many recordings of me. I do have another of my cousin, David, and I singing Jesus Paid it All at our church homecoming in 1990. BUt it’s a VHS and Steve has to transfer it to a DVD.

Leave a Reply

