Seemingly random thoughts…

Just some thoughts. They aren’t really random, because they were brought to mind by other things I’ve been reading today.

Tracy (Mother_Moonie) made this comment in the previous birthday post (and I thank her for saying this):

HAPPY BIRTHDAY ETHAN! And thank you ever so much for serving our country and putting your butt on the line for all of us!!! May God bless you!

(I’m not picking on you, Ethan, so please don’t be embarrassed or be wishing I wouldn’t say this.)

WE DO NEED TO THANK PEOPLE WHO DO JOBS THE REST OF US WOULD NOT DO. But it occurred to me that some of those we thank, might not really understand why we do it. And there are those who are uncomfortable with it.

(Now, I will say this: There are undoubtedly people in the military who just joined for the benefits, such as they are. I know it’s true….I’ve seen that excuse given when some did not want to go to the sandbox. But they enlisted, and they should go. It wasn’t like they didn’t know that was a possibility when they joined. They were trained in military tactics and given a gun. How could they know?)

We don’t need to worship our military and call them supermen. THEY know they don’t measure up to that. They are human beings. And it’s sometimes tough for them to take. However, we should encourage them. Scripture says we should encourage one another. It’s talking about encouraging fellow Christians (and many in our military are Christians), but we should never be a discouragement to someone going into a dangerous situation.

There are a lot of scriptures that talk about encouragement in different situations.

2 Sam 19:6-7….. 7 Now go out and encourage your men. NIV

Isa 1:17…..17 learn to do right! Seek justice, encourage the oppressed. Defend the cause of the fatherless, plead the case of the widow. NIV

Encouragement can be one of the gifts of God. I don’t mean it’s a blessing from God to be encouraged, although it is. I mean It is a gift of the spirit, just like teaching and prophesy. There are some people who just seem to be able to encourage other people better than some. It’s a gift from God:

Rom 12:5-8….. 6 We have different gifts, according to the grace given us. If a man’s gift is prophesying, let him use it in proportion to his faith. 7 If it is serving, let him serve; if it is teaching, let him teach; 8 if it is encouraging, let him encourage ; if it is contributing to the needs of others, let him give generously; if it is leadership, let him govern diligently; if it is showing mercy, let him do it cheerfully.

1 Thess 5:11…..11 Therefore encourage one another and build each other up, just as in fact you are doing. NIV

Heb 3:13-14…..13 But encourage one another daily, as long as it is called Today, so that none of you may be hardened by sin’s deceitfulness. NIV

Heb 10:25…..25 Let us not give up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but let us encourage one another-and all the more as you see the Day approaching. NIV

As Christians, we are supposed to encourage each other more and more, as we see the signs pointing to the closeness of Jesus’ return. Encouraging people helps them to do what’s right. It helps them to not give up.

Just make sure it doesn’t turn into hero worship. God is the only one that should be worshipped.

But we don’t just have to thank those who do dangerous jobs. Thank your cashier at Walmart (or Target  ). I do sometimes. I had one cashier stand with her mouth open once when I thanked her. She was apologizing for making some mistakes. She was training. I told her my daughter was a cashier there at Walmart, and I knew she had a tough job. (Yes, it is…you try ringing up purchases, when rude people are screaming at you, and bosses are wanting more out of you, and you still have stock you have to put on shelves. And it’s the day after Thanksgiving. And you are expected to keep a smile on your face.)

Now don’t misunderstand…there are people who are not doing a good job, because they are too lazy to do so. But I’ve heard Beth talk so many times about people that chew them out for things they have no control over. Take time to thank people. It’s encouraging. Who knows….maybe that cashier who doesn’t care about her job, will try harder because of encouragement. (And don’t be cynical….it CAN happen!)

Maybe that airman, or soldier, or sailor, or Marine who is discouraged or depressed,  just might get a smile on their face because of encouragement from someone. It can’t hurt to try.

movingpawprintsmovingpawprints

Another thought: Linda (lindaintennessee) posted pictures of doves that have made a nest in a window of her house. It made me think of a couple of verses, but this one I wanted to share:

Song 2:14…..My dove in the clefts of the rock, in the hiding places on the mountainside, show me your face, let me hear your voice; for your voice is sweet, and your face is lovely.  NIV

That’s from the Song of Solomon. In the past, people have written commentaries on how this portrays the love between God and humans. And it does. But scripture has different layers of meanings. And the most obvious meaning of The Song of Solomon is love between a man and a woman, and….sex. Yes, you read that right. The Bible talks about sex, people. Get over it.

One of our Bible Studies was on this book. And you should have seen the looks on the faces of the people in the group when they realized that the Bible talks about sex. There were a few open mouths. People have the attitude that pure and holy scriptures would not speak of anything so…so…umm….HUMAN!

It’s because of the worldly attitudes about sex. Who invented it anyway? God, of course. He designed our bodies, and gave us our desires. But people who believe what the world teaches do not believe that there was an intelligent designer.

Look at what that scripture portrays. It’s tender. It’s compassionate. It’s loving. That’s the way you have to treat a dove. You cannot run at it – it will flee from you. You have to gently encourage it to come to you.

You see, this tenderness is fueled by a God-given love. The kind of love He wants us to have for our mates. Yes, mates. Not significant others. Not something you can buy on the street. Something pure and….holy. This kind of love is respectful of the other person. This love is more concerned about the wants, needs and welfare of the other person, more than its own. It is unselfish. It is beautiful.

It doesn’t talk about how “hot” the dove is. It does say the face is lovely. But that’s not because it’s a beauty queen. It’s because the special love God gives that couple causes them to desire the face of the other. That face is more beautiful to them than any other.

The voice is sweet. Steve called a little while ago, and I just love to hear his voice. It’s soothing to me. I can’t wait to see his face again. It’s the face of the person I love. Just to be near him is what I like. We can be in this living room at night, and not even talk much, but just to be near….I like it. He’s my mate. He’s my other half. God bound us together, and we are one. Half of me is in Pennsylvania right now. 

Did you know that studies have been done in medical settings, between spouses? Now there are obviously spouses who don’t want to be in the same room with each other. But loving, committed couples who are married to each other, have calming, soothing effects on each other. When one is in the hospital, just the other being there holding their hand can lower blood pressure and heart rate. It’s amazing. That’s the kind of bonding God wants spouses to have.

Oh, how you deceive yourself when you tell yourself that marriage makes no difference. That it’s just a piece of paper. It isn’t. It is vows that legally bind you together. It forms a more stable union.

Is there someone you think you love, but you are more obsessed with how hot their body is than anything else? If they had a roll of fat somewhere, would you leave them? You probably aren’t perfect, either, I’m guessing. Are you more concerned with your own wants or needs than theirs? Is their body more important than the possibility of love they hold inside? Do you respect them? Do you have substance?

If not, you are not ready for marriage.

movingpawprintsmovingpawprints

Here we go again. There is a storm in the Gulf, and I smell panic in the air. It’s only expected to be a cat 1 storm, but people are talking about evacuations.

Steve has a tough job this week. He said he has a 900 page book that he has to know where to find all the answers in, for the tests on Thursday and Friday. It’s a timed test on all the EPA rules. Not fun.

 

19 thoughts on “Seemingly random thoughts…

  1. This was beautifully written. :goodjob:The other day, I decided to cut my hair shorter (it’s at the longest I’ve let it get in nearly 7 years), and asked William is he’d like this hair style over this one or that one, etc, etc. He said “I don’t care, but if you shave it off, DIVORCE!” Then he paused, smiled, and said “No, not divorce… But when we go out in public you’ll walk two steps to the left and six back” Then he started cracking up. 😆 That reminded me of what you said. Although William wasn’t serious, some people really would divorce over something as petty as a hairstyle or weight gain.

  2. @Jess_uh_kuh – :yes: I know of a couple that has been married a very long time (like around 50 years.) She has gained a lot of weight since they married and she had kids. But he’s no prize, either. I haven’t seen him in years, but he was no GQ model even when he was younger. But one day a few years back, he told her he did not want to be seen in public with her again because she was fat. Excuse me?? :what: :hammer:
    I do feel many times that because I don’t look now like I did when we married, that Steve is not getting what he bargained for. I know…that’s just Satan lying to me, but sometimes I do sink into that feeling. But I know he loves me, and would never tell me he would not be seen in public with me.
    He does tell me sometimes that he still sees me as that girl in those white Ditto’s shorts I use to wear all the time (yes, I use to dress in ways I would never want Beth to dress). He does have serious vision problems. But I like it that he still loves me like that, even when sometimes I don’t feel very worthy.

  3. @Jess_uh_kuh – ðŸ˜† Well, take the girl in those wedding pics over there, and that’s the one that wore those shorts. I would not do it now, even if I were young and skinny again. I did not believe it was wrong then, but then, eventhough I was raised in church, I never understood the scriptures that teach about dressing modestly. And those shorts were not modest. I told the girls before VBS last week that if they showed up in short shorts or low cut tops, I would send them home. I told them I did not want to see cleavage, and our men didn’t need to, either. And there’s one really overweight teen that wears skin-tight knit stuff. I told all the females not to wear something like that. I said, “I know you think you look cute, but I’ve seen you in it, and trust me…it’s not cute.” 😆
    I use to work with a man who said he liked a woman in jeans so tight you could read a nickel in her back pocket. :what: :oh-no: :hmmmmm:

  4. @Singing4sDad – :ROTFL: :ROTFL: :ROTFL: :ROTFL: :ROTFL: :ROTFL: :ROTFL: :ROTFL: :ROTFL:
    You are supposed to be studying.
    Beth just left for Brandon and Rachael’s. She goes so often, I still think they’re inviting some guy over. 😮

  5. @Singing4sDad – Come to think of it, she did look awfully cute when she went to Walmart earlier to “visit” because she had not seen them all in a while. And she was there for several hours. How long does it take to visit with a few women friends….unless you’re waiting for some guy to show up? Mmhmmmm…….:hmmmmm: :question: 😆

  6. IN THE LATE ’70s GIRLS IN MY HIGH SCHOOL ONLY WORE DRESSES JUST ABOVE THE KNEE OR HIGHER, UNLESS THEY WORE A MIDCALF SKIRT WITH BLACK BOOTS.  ALL OF MY DRESSES TOUCHED MY KNEES OR WERE BELOW THEM.  ONE DAY I TOOK ONE OF MY FAVORITE PINK DRESSES AND HEMMED IT UP SO IT WOULDN’T TOUCH  MY KNEESI TRIED TO WEAR IT, BUT MAMA SAW IT.  SHE MADE ME PULL IT OFF.  NEXT TIME I TRIED TO WEAR THAT DRESS THE HEM (THAT TOOK ME A LONG TIME TO SEW BY HAND) THAT I HAD SEWN WAS OUT AGAIN. 
    IF I WORE SHORTS, MAMA SAID I COULD ONLY WEAR THEM AROUND THE  HOUSE OR OUT MOWING (WE LIVED FAR AWAY FROM THE PUBLIC).  IN OTHER WORDS SHE KEPT A TIGHT REIGN ON ME FOR WHICH I AM GRATEFUL FOR NOW.
    I THOUGHT I’D THROW IN MY 2 CENTS.

  7. @DKT1978 – 
    I THOUGHT I’D THROW IN MY 2 CENTS.
    :giggle: Well, I’m glad you did. We wore shorts, but they were never short shorts until I was out on my own. Well…with the exception of a pair of what we called “hot pants” that I had when I was 14. I made them, but my mom wanted me to. She thought they were cute. My dad was so mad when I wore those things. Otherwise our shorts were just normal kid shorts that grandmothers made.
    At our high school, South Houston, our dress code would allow girls to wear skirts that were 5″ above the crease in the back of the knee. And believe me, that’s where I always tried to make them end. Any shorter and teachers would have sent girls home. But it was the fashion, and I wanted to be as close to it as I could. All my clothes were homemade, so I was mostly out of the fashion loop anyway. But wear a long skirt? Forget it :what: Now…the longer the better :laugh:
    When my aunt graduated from South Houston, the dress length was that they had to kneel, and the hem had to touch the floor. We have sure come a long way. We could not wear pants to school then. I graduated in 1975.
    Beth has never worn short skirts or really short shorts. Now she doesn’t even like to wear shorts at all outside the house.

  8. @Singing4sDad – It’s not like I don’t have more cleaning to do 😆 I did also mow part of the front yard tonight, till the mower ran out of gas. But it was too dark to see to refill it, so I quit 🙄
    I love you. :littlekiss:

  9. the kind of bonding God wants spouses to have.Interesting something: In Genesis it says “they shall become one flesh”. The Hebrew word for “one” in that verse is the same one used later when it says “The Lord is One.” Now the analogy isn’t perfect but given all we know about the Trinity that kind of puts a new angle on marriage… :goodjob:

Leave a Reply

