TGIF

Want a blessing? Read Mae’s post.

Have you ever wondered about the children under 2 years old that were killed by decree of Herod, after Jesus was born? He wanted every baby around the age of Jesus to die, thinking that would wipe out the possibility of a new king. But God had another plan. Herod just didn’t know who he was up against.

The babies were martyrs. They died for the cause of Christianity. Can you imagine the blessings those babies have in Heaven?

     fallingraindrop           fallingraindrop           fallingraindrop

(That’s the sun trying to peak out from between the raindrops  )

We have our Friday night Bible Study tonight. It’s supposed to rain off and on all weekend, but for now it has let up, so Steve is out mowing the front yard. (EDIT: Rachael called when she was on her way home from work last night, and she said the street their hospital is on, had it’s ditches pretty much full of water. They are deep, so that’s a lot of rain.)

Last night I thought I was making coffee. But nothing happened. Our coffee pot just quit. So Steve went to Walmart to get a new one. I told him to get one similar to the one we had. He came back with this:

Mr It’s a  Mr. Coffee. He did good  I like this one even more than the one we had, because I like the square design. I have to have my coffee.

And Brandon is going to build us this pie safe:

pie safe   Sorry….that’s as big a picture as I could get. I collect antiques, and he’s going to build this “antique” pie safe to put our new tv in. I had been looking for a cabinet to put it in, and I don’t like the modern looking entertainment systems in our house. It just wouldn’t fit. This cabinet is not quite big enough, but he’s going to make it wider, to hold a larger tv. It will also hold the DVD player, satellite receiver, and probably DVD’s also.  It will have punched tin panels on the front (the cabinet…not the tv  ) in a star pattern, which is one of my favorite quilt designs.

And that’s the extent of the excitement in our lives right now.  I think.

15 thoughts on “TGIF

  1. I WONDERED WHY IT WAS CALLED A PIE SAFE.  COULD IT BE THAT BACK YONDER PEOPLE WOULD STEAL THEIR PIES BEFORE A MEAL AND THEY NEEDED SOMETHING TO KEEP THE PIE SAFE UNTIL THE MEAL!!!!!    :sunny:   ๐Ÿ˜†   :p  (my attempt at humor)

  2. @DKT1978 – :ROTFL: Does seem like that would be the answer.
    Actually, back when these were used, women made many more pies than they do now. Can you imagine filling that cabinet with pies? Ok…stop now….you can gain weight from thinking about it ๐Ÿ˜†
    It was to keep the pies safe from insects and critters while they were cooling. Some of them had punched tin fronts and/or sides, and some had just screen wire fronts and sides. That allowed enough ventilation to cool them and still keep them safe. :goodjob:

  3. Lol, if Brandon is as good as finishing projects in a timely manner as you and I seem to be at times….let me know.  I can supply you with the name of an amish builder which builds everything and has pie safes just like the above picture.  He also does custom orders. 

  4. @wolfpacwife14 – ๐Ÿ˜† :yes: I have been looking at some of the Amish ones online. They run at least $1000. That’s why Brandon is going to make this one ๐Ÿ˜† He loves woodworking, so I think he’ll finish this.
    Brandon asked if he was the only one who found it ironic that the Amish have a website ๐Ÿ˜†

  5. think I’ve ever heard that song by Michael Card. I did not recognize the lyrics.
    I want a coffeepot that wakes me up. I don’t want singing or shouting….just want the coffee already made when I get up ๐Ÿ˜†

Leave a Reply

