Bye, Ike!

Texas Task Force 1 is working closely with the National Guard on Bolivar Peninsula. They are a search and rescue team. That’s usually not a good sign.

The death toll from Ike is now up to 21. And that’s just in the U.S. It killed many in Cuba first before it hit us. Media is not being allowed on Bolivar Peninsula. I believe it may be because there is massive loss of life there, and they do not want it reported just yet. That’s where Crystal Beach is, and it was pretty much wiped out. (EDIT: Someone on the news reported, in error, that Crystal Beach is on a barrier island. It is not. It is a beach community on the Gulf side of Bolivar Peninsula. I use to go there all the time, when I went to the beach. High Island is also not an island. It is right up the road from Crystal Beach and Gilchrist.)

hurricane          hurricane          hurricane

I like this quote:

The greatness of a man’s power is the measure of his surrender.” — William Booth, founder of The Salvation Army

And I was shocked to read that Christian singer Ray Boltz has announced he is gay. Kristenmomof3 has posted an article about it. Beth and I have sung his songs so many times.

hurricane          hurricane          hurricane

Read Steve’s post. The awesome power of one storm is just mind-boggling.

We are truly blessed that our power got back on so fast.  Out of 2.1 million customers that lost power, only 262,000 have gotten it back. I sent my brother-in-law an email to say thanks. He works for Centerpoint. However, I don’t think they have their power back yet. They live in Friendswood.

We have really lost nothing. A fence down is so minor. Several sections were blown down, but they were still all together. It has now been pushed back up, and temporarily propped up with pieces of 4 X 6 posts. We lost a couple of tabs off one shingle. We have spare shingles…ones left over from when we put this roof on. We had NO broken windows! And we did not even board up. Things hit the side of the house all night, but not the windows, for the most part. The trees needed to be trimmed anyway. There were some trees I wanted to severely trim or take out, but it was a pain to get up there. God took care of it! We noticed last night, that on the front of our house, which faces south, the wind scoured off some of the paint. The power of a huge storm is just amazing.

We are now planning to get a generator. Steve is researching them. We’ve lost power soooo many times over the years, but never have gotten a generator. They are expensive, in the neighborhood of $2500 or $3000 for what we are planning. We are planning, Lord willing, to build a sheltered area near our AC unit and electrical box, to put in a large generator, that will power everything including our AC. My plan is to be able to have power, and make provisions for our family and friends to come and stay. We have medical problems that a loss of power just makes a little more miserable. Not deadly…just uncomfortable. So we’ll have to stock up on gasoline to run a generator before a storm.

Our dogs are out. They broke through a fence this morning. I don’t know where they are. Usually Trouble comes back, but Timon is skittish, and usually does not even go out through an open gate. We had a large thunderstorm come in this morning, ahead of a cool front, and it must have really scared him. We are supposed to have temps in the low 60’s at night, and low 80’s in the day, after the front comes through.

I got a lot of sleep last night…about 12 hours. I normally wake up every hour or so at night. Not last night. I was so exhausted, I slept more than 8 hours before I woke up. Then I went back to sleep. It might sound lazy, but I did not get out of bed till about 2:30 this afternoon. It was like I was drugged, I was so tired.

There have now been 9 deaths reported. Three were in Louisiana. They got hammered pretty good before we did. One was in Arkansas!  Three bodies were found this morning in Galveston. And a 4 year old boy died of carbon monoxide poisoning from a generator that was not properly ventilated. You can’t put them in the house, people! Before the storm hit, a 4 year old was killed in Montgomery County (north of us) from a tree branch that fell when his parents were cutting limbs to get ready for the storm. Some of those deaths didn’t have to happen.

I know many of you heard on CNN that people should get out or face certain death. That is a scare tactic. People get so hyped up over a storm. Certain death? No….there are people still alive who stayed in the mandatory evac areas. There was a man in surfside who lived. Most got out. They did get the lesser side of the storm, eventhough they have damage. Sixty percent of Galveston residents stayed. Very few died. And those deaths may have been from things they did themselves. I don’t know yet.

Strong buildings are still standing. Little beach shacks are the things that got wiped out. And there are many of those both on Galveston Island, and Bolivar Peninsula. The larger, well built homes are still there. And many have people in them.

I’m so surprised at the number of people who did not prepare. There are people scrambling to get ice and a few other supplies. The time to gather ice, batteries, water and non-perishable food is BEFORE the storm hits. This is what causes stampedes and some very angry people. They did not prepare for themselves beforehand.

Prov 6:6-11….Take a lesson from the ants, you lazybones. Learn from their ways and be wise! 7 Even though they have no prince, governor, or ruler to make them work, 8 they labor hard all summer, gathering food for the winter. 9 But you, lazybones, how long will you sleep? When will you wake up? I want you to learn this lesson: 10 A little extra sleep, a little more slumber, a little folding of the hands to rest —  11 and poverty will pounce on you like a bandit; scarcity will attack you like an armed robber. NLT

One man complained about how FEMA wasn’t helping him fast enough. A FEMA local official told him, “Look, you’ve got to understand there’s a difference between people who have lost their homes, and people who just need a bag of ice.”  I’m glad he said that. It’s about time somebody did. Our county judge said this morning that they had been telling people for 3 days to stock up, and here it is, only a day after the storm, and people are complaining about no help. You can’t rely on somebody else to come in and save you.

Just wait till the Tribulation! I’m glad we won’t be here to see the confusion and anger from people who thought they did not need to rely on God.

Working on pics.

8 thoughts on “Bye, Ike!

  1. I’m going now to read Steve’s post.  I pray your doggies come back home soon :(.  So glad you hear most were safe.  I think the generator is a wonderful idea.  We keep talking about getting one that at least powers a fan, tv and stove. 

  2. @SingingMom – Singing – “Doggie come back!”  😆
    When I said “Duh” I meant that for all the weather/hurricane/storm prognosticators – not you.  :hammer: I hope you knew that. :love:
    My brother in Nashville has told me that there are Christian recording artists who are gay that I would be surprised to know about, but he never told me whom because he didn’t want false accusations going around.  That’s too bad.  Each of us has our favorite sin, and only by God’s grace are we not entrapped.

  3. I have been reading with great interest the blogs which you have written re: your experiences with Ike. God truly brought you and yours through a rough time! PTL!
     What hit me like a blow in the stomach was what you said in just two lines: And I was shocked to read that Christian singer Ray Boltz I went to Wikipedia (who is almost always up to date) & sure enough, & that led me to his official website, which then had a link to his church he is now affiliated with ~ who several resources (on-line pamphlets) telling why homosexuality isn’t a sin, etc. etc….
    I’m off to read more of your blogs, my friend. :love: Muchliest!:heartbeat:

  4. @SingingMom – It is interesting that you just wrote this. I was working a jigsaw puzzle, and my mind was on Ray Boltz, and on this revelation, and I was thinking through the pain that he is causing Christ, & Christ’s followers. This is the sort of thing that the liberal press, and “gay-groups” will love to talk about, promote, make movies of, and just in general make a big deal out of to the world.
    Something like this just really gets to me. It is so true that we each have our ‘besetting sins” ~ but for him to go from admission of the feelings, to agree that the Bible isn’t speaking out against it, and to be ready to embrace the lifestyle~ that is the type of thing that can cause hurt to God’s holy name, as well as to countless people who had been fans of his. The Bible shows many once God-followers, who ended up badly. If they were truly HIS, while they didn’t lose their salvation, they lost their reward. That is something that I really don’t want; I don’t want to fail my Lord. I fail Him many times, but He is forgiving. But to bring such shame to His Name, or to deny Him ~ those things to me are beyond horrible. As it seems that we are fast hurtling into the “end times’ ~ I definitely pray that if I am still on earth when there is persecution that comes my way, that I will remain strong in Him, & that my life will be taken before I would think of denying Him & bringing shame to His Name.

Leave a Reply

