Our day so far…

 Cooling Saucers and Buffet Platters 

Someone once said that the U.S. Senate is like a “cooling saucer,” where the passionate debates of the House of Representatives are tempered in the high atmosphere of the upper chamber. Tonight, when the Senate votes on a $700 billion financial rescue plan that both party leaders in the Senate are embracing, that saucer may look more like a buffet platter. The three-page bill that launched the debate in the House earlier this week has expanded to well over 400 pages. Some of the provisions, like expanded FDIC insurance amounts for bank deposits, are reportedly drawing more grassroots support. The Senate bill also reflects some tax add-ons, dealing with such topics as the refundability of the child tax credit and education tax breaks. In other words, Congress is in session and people with pens and barrels of red ink are writing into the night. Today, FRC’s Senior Fellow for Family Empowerment, Ken Blackwell, has an op ed in The Washington Times that puts the root causes of our current crisis squarely in view. Ken writes, “We have become a culture addicted to instant gratification and a fixation on the material. Increasingly, concepts such as duty, self-denial, hard work, delayed gratification, and patience have been swept away.” For these reasons, Washington alone cannot fix what ails us. Ken’s editorial is a must-read.

Additional Resources
Ken Blackwell: Addicted to debt


 

pumpkin leaves

Very good article: Should Christians Argue Politics?

Either this stinkin’ computer or Comcast is running so slow, I believe it would be faster for me to hand-carry this message to each of you.

The day started out by Beth having a doctor’s appointment with the surgeon who repaired her ankle. They started out laughing at her because on Sunday, she stubbed the toes on her other foot, and she thought maybe she broke one. They x-rayed, and she had not. She just bruised them really bad. The nurse has a MySpace, so Beth sent her a message that she had injured her right foot, too.

Jill….They were in agreement that she probably should live in a bubble.

Her ankle is healing well. Dr. Moss doesn’t want to push therapy this time, so she is just supposed to do stretching exercises until she goes back in to see him in 3 weeks. She has to loosen up the achilles tendon and calf muscle….again.

Then we went by Walmart to pick up a few things. She got to visit with her friends and bosses. I know she will miss them when she doesn’t work there anymore. Which is coming up fast. Her leave is up the end of this week. She’s just going to go ahead and tell them she cannot come back. The doctor said she cannot hold a job where she is primarily standing all day. So she’s putting in applications.

Beth has been sleeping well the last couple of nights. I’m not. I was so tired and dizzy this morning, I was almost afraid to drive. So after we came home, I took a nap. But I don’t think it really helped much. My head still feels goofy. (I heard that….just hush!  )

I need to feel better quickly, because I am supposed to meet the insurance adjuster at the church at 4:00. He called early yesterday morning, while I was still asleep. Then when I finally called him back, he told me he was at the church, and could I come down. Well….the church is a half hour away and I was not ready to go anywhere. So we rescheduled for today. I don’t know why he bothered to go down there without even knowing whether or not somebody could meet him there. It makes me think he might not be quite on the ball. We’ll see how this goes.

Steve and Rachael rebuilt the rabbit cage on Monday, so now her rabbit, Bumpy, stays outside. She’s just outside the kitchen door, so it is much easier for me to check on her and feed her. Now we just need to get that turtle out there, too.

 I have an appointment on Monday to see the orthopedic surgeon. My knee is just getting more and more painful. I don’t want surgery again, but I will probably have to. I was filling out the paperwork for his office yesterday, and had to list all my surgeries. I’ve had 8….at least that I can think of.

Still no Timon. I was outside late last night, and did not hear any dogs barking. I had been able to hear a large dog barking each night, sounding like he was just outside our neighborhood somewhere. Trouble is so lonesome without Timon. We’ve been letting him in at night, and he runs to the kitchen because he knows I’ll give him some Hillshire Farms cocktail sausages. That’s his treat. He’s spoiled.

And Cathy….those kitties really do think they are abused. Since the Mamma Kitty died when the babies were still small, I have been mixing dry cat food with one can of moist cat food, and feeding that to them twice a day. I’ve started trying to cut them back to 1/2 a can each meal now. They don’t like that at all. Yeah….spoiled.

Oh, and I was messaging with Jamie (faith2faithintx). She lives very near me. During the hurricane, she heard a tornado on the ground. I’m so glad she said that, because I heard it, too. Now I know it wasn’t just me. The city manager lives near her, and he said that from the air, you can see the path it took through Deer Park. I would love to see that.

Lawmakers Call for Investigation after Spike in Federally Funded Abortions

More than 80 U.S. representatives are calling on the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) to investigate whether taxpayer money is being misused on abortions in Illinois.

Under the federal Hyde Amendment, Medicaid can fund abortions only in cases of rape, incest or when the life of the mother is at risk.

In 2006, the government paid for 196 such abortions across the U.S. In 2007, the number jumped to 458.

In 2006, Illinois reported 84 federally funded abortions in cases of rape. That number jumped to 363 in 2007.

Members of Congress requested an explanation from HHS in June. A second letter, dated Sept. 26, reads: “We find this dramatic increase surprising, especially since corollary increases do not appear in any other state. Please provide detailed information regarding this increase.”

The letter requests a response by Oct. 26.

Unapologetically Pro-Life 

The Republican vice-presidential candidate, Governor Sarah Palin, continues to be refreshing in her outside-the-beltway behavior. In her second interview with Katie Couric the popular Alaskan governor was asked about her views on abortion to which she replied, “I am pro-life. And I’m unapologetic in my position that I am pro-life.” Governor Palin elaborated further that as she strives to create a culture of life our society also must concentrate on counseling and support for “women who find themselves in circumstances that are absolutely less than ideal.” That describes perfectly the good work that pregnancy resource centers across the nation do, as opposed to the “abortion on demand” mentality of facilities like Planned Parenthood. Ms. Couric comes off poorly during the interview when she tries to imply that those in the pro-life community, including Governor Palin, would seek to imprison women who have abortions. The only ones that talk about jailing women, it seems, are pro-abortionists and/or television personalities. The act of abortion itself is exploitative of the woman even as it kills her child.

22 thoughts on “Our day so far…

  1. bubble :ROTFL:  I sure hope you don’t  need surgery on your knee again (will pray).  So sorry about Timon..so, sad, but I am continually praying.  I will pray God finds the right job for Beth too and I know he will in His time.

  2. I read that CitizenLink article. I agree with him (surprised? πŸ˜† )BUT, I don’t think he went far enough β€” and very few people have β€” because he didn’t address an equally common objection; namely, the nearly inevitable (no matter how inadvertent) politicization of Christianity in the process. To reframe the issue: Discussing “Christians arguing politics” has to assume to some extent there is a “Christian vote” out there. The author of this article establishes that vote as opposite of the “liberal” position. But plenty of Christians are “liberals.” They see their political viewpoint as best expressing their faith. In other words, Democratic Christians can just as genuinely have their politics be shaped by their theology. But this is where the inadvertent breakdown occurs. How can two diametrically opposed political positions both be legitimately grounded in the same theology? Well, that means one view must be the “true Christian” one and the other isn’t. And what about someone like me, who believes his political positions are grounded in theology, but who disagrees with both “liberals” and “conservatives”? And to prove my point, I have been publicly called “not Christian” by members of both major parties. Because of a political position. My faith has become politicized. Not because I let politics influence my faith β€” far from it, but because when a political position is equated with a Christian principle, a contrary political position must by definition be un-Christian, regardless of what the Bible actually says. I used the term “Christian vote” earlier. Obviously, my intended reference was to show the impropriety of this view by equating it to similar forms of “group-speak”, such as “the black vote” or the “elderly vote” or “the jew vote”. All of these are offensive because the politicize something that, as the author says, should not be inherently political (that is, influenced by politics). To pull it back to Christianity, take abortion, the lightening rod issue. Assume three people, all of whom share the author’s view that theology comes first. Therefore, they see abortion as morally wrong. But how does that affect their political views?You can’t simply conclude that it means they should want to outlaw abortion. That conclusion is itself political and violates the original principle, because it presupposes the supremacy of state action in solving a problem. Furthermore, it requires a political judgement of how to outlaw abortion. State law? Federal law?So the “political view” influenced by faith is merely that abortion is wrong. The additional political view β€” what to do about it β€” is purely secular. That’s why I chose three people for the example:person 1 believes the federal government should solve the problem. He will outlaw abortion nationally. Somehow. Judges will be involved.person 2 believes the government should create policy to minimize the harm. He will have the government make abortion, in Pres. Clinton’s terms, “safe, legal, and rare.”person 3 believes it is a state issue, not federal, and wants to stop abortions and minimize the harm of such a policy. He will campaign state-by-state to outlaw abortion completely, but failing that, work to outlaw some abortions at least (such as partial birth abortion). He might log-roll to get it passed.Which position is the “Christian” one? Which is “un-christian”? Well, all are based on the premise that abortion is wrong. So all that’s left is work in a secular system. Once you get to the issue of “what to do about it”, your views become purely political.With all that, I agree with the author? Well, yes. Because even your purely political views are set to some extent by your judgment of what is wise and effective. And we know that wisdom and discernment come from God. But those conclusions are less absolute than positive commands and principles in scripture, because there will always be a subjective element involved (those who disagree, you’ve just proved my point).But the point is, yes, theology should influence politics. BUT theology should never become politicized.Sorry for the long post. πŸ˜€

  3. @MrParadox – That wasn’t a post…it was a book πŸ˜†
    One thing we forget to factor into all the arguments is…there IS a wrong and right. The right way is God’s way. It doesn’t matter how many different views humans have on the subject. It is ultimately God’s way that matters.
    And I”ll just start with voting Democrat. One major plank in their platform is to keep abortion legal. And people, when they vote to elect a Democrat who believes in keeping abortion legal, have to realize they are voting FOR abortion. There is no “I don’t really like abortion, but I like Obama (because he’s Democrat, or black, or any other reason they can come up with), so I’ll vote for him. No matter how Christian they think their view is, God does not see that as the proper thing to do, because abortion is the taking of an innocent life. I am just completely amazed at the number of people that call themselves Christian, yet vote for keeping it legal to kill tiny human beings for any reason at all.
    If we are to believe what scripture says (and we as Baptists believe the scripture is inerrant in its original autograhph):
    Ps 139:13…..13 For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. NIV
    Then we have to believe that God values each life and considers it a sin to take that life if it is innocent. So there is a wrong and a right choice there. They may consider themselves Christian, but if they vote for something that God considers sin, they are in the wrong. I’m not saying that they are NOT Christian…just that they have made a choice God does not like. Plain and simple. Christians sin all the time.
    You can’t simply conclude that it means they should want to outlaw abortion.
    You can assume something else….that God does not like abortion. He considers it murder. And EVERY other choice can be held up against what God says, to show whether it is right or wrong. Compare that to murder of an already born person. There is no question in any state that murder is a sin (in the Christian view) and at least illegal (in every other view). Murder of an unborn human should be no different. It should be illegal, in both state and federal law.
    all are based on the premise that abortion is wrong
    If your person 2 believes it should be “safe, legal and rare” they are not believing it is wrong. They are voting to leave it legal. So person 2 is really a non-argument.
    I do see what you are saying about leaving it to states, or make is federal law. But why is this viewed differently than other things that are federal laws? It is illegal to cheat on income taxes. It’s illegal to murder in every state. And don’t even think about threatening the president. That’s a federal law. So why not abortion? Why is it so different in the minds of so many people?
    I believe it’s because in some small way, those people still consider it a choice to be made. Even if the person knows God says it’s wrong, they are reluctant to completely step on the non-existant “rights” of women. If there is something so apalling to us all as to make us vomit, we have no problem with making it illegal country-wide. The Holocaust was abhorent to almost all people. But abortion is different. Why is not a holocaust?
    See “Christian” and “un-Christian” does not mean “what Christians do” or “what Christians don’t do.” It means “what God says to do,” and “what God says NOT to do.” Christians do things every day that they should not do.

  4. Only God can “fix what ails us.” America, America, God shed His grace on thee! I am so sorry your knee is hurting so. Hope you get caught up on sleep and that your knee settles down. I live with chronic pain, and I know how that can wear you down. God’s amazing, though. He gives me joy to strengthen me! Blessings!

  5. I JUST FINISHED WATCHING THE VP DEBATE ON CHANNEL 8.  
    SORRY ABOUT YOUR KNEE, YOU KNOW I CAN RELATE.
    JUST GOT BACK FROM FRIDAY WHERE MY COUSIN MICHELE FINALLY GOT HER TRAILOR HOUSE DOWN IN THE HOLLOW FROM DADDY’S HOUSE.   SEE THE NEW PICS OF THE TRAILOR ON MY SITE.  BEFORE WE LEFT WE CLEANED, PUT THE FEW ITEMS WE HAD INSIDE THE TRAILOR.  THE WATER, AND ELECTICITY ARE HOOKED UP.  SHE PUT NEW LOCKS ON IT.    LATER ON HER WORKERS WILL PUT A GATE UP THE HILL LEADING TO THE TRAILOR.  I’M EXCITED ABOUT IT.  SHE IS GOING TO GIVE ME A KEY AND WILL LET ME GO UP THERE ANYTIME I WISH TO USE.  I PROBALY WON’T USE THE CATFISH POND, BUT IT WILL BE NICE TO GO SET ON THE PEER.

  6. @DanishDoll – So true Mae. Only God can fix it.
    Keeping on working through chronic pain, only shows God’s power. It’s the only way I keep going. But it’s ok…He’ll keep on giving me that power until He’s ready for me to come on up there with Him :goodjob:
    I actually feel sorry for those who believe God would never want us to have any pain. They miss His magnificent power that way.

  7. I saw the pictures of your comfortable kitties. How cute is that?! ? Benje has started this thing of wanting me to rub his tummy just after I have laid down. So he comes and hops on me and rolls around some how with is feet in the air so I can get to his tummy.
    These young kitties start training their people earlier than I thought.

  8. @DKT1978 – 
    Tonight we are eating at the church at 6:00. Don’t worry about bringing anything…I’ve got it all covered. Then we will go over to the AMC 30 at 45 and Beltway 8, to see “Fireproof”. It is a Christian movie about a couple that is having marital trouble, and the ways they learn to remedy the problems. Tickets are $9.25. Go here to read about it:
    http://www.fireproofthemovie.com/

Leave a Reply

