Physical Therapy

9:00 p.m….A few minutes ago, I walked a short distance without my walker! Eventhough it wasn’t easy, and it was a little uncomfortable, it felt good. It’s only been one week today since my surgery. My therapist seemed to think I was doing therapy a little earlier than most people do, but that’s what the doctor ordered. He actually wanted me to start last Friday.

Country heart&star

Paula….thank you so much for the flowers and chocolates. You are a precious friend!

Our friend, Paula (heyheypaula) sent me flowers and chocolates. How did all of you know that chocolates are the way to get me well?  

 Cindy & flowers

But Paula Girl…..look what I found in the flower box. We really didn’t need another cat!  

Motor

Country heart&star

Read this post.

I had my first physical therapy session today. Ouch. During the surgery, they have to cut through muscle and pull others to the side. So the thigh muscle just above the knee gets really stretched out. It is tough to try to get strength back in it. Being able to straighten the leg out and lift it is nearly impossible. But I’m getting there. And I’m also lucky to have a therapist who had both his knees replaced…at the same time.  He said he did it that way because he knew he would not be able to go back and get the second one done. I don’t know how he did it, because it’s much easier when you have one good leg. I have one sort of good leg.

Since my surgery, I have lost 5-1/2 pounds. And in the last month, I have lost a total of 14 pounds.  Now I don’t recommend knee replacement surgery as a weight loss method, but I just have not had much appetite. I hope it stays this way. I have been craving fresh fruits like bananas and grapes, and have also craved orange juice. I’ve had almost no taste for anything sweet, like candy or cookies. Last night I did want chocolate, so I ate 3 pieces of the chocolate Debbie brought me. But it is sugar free.

28 thoughts on “Physical Therapy

  1. Good for you!  Hang in there!  You will get it back because you can’t stay still.
    I think I’ve lost 5 pounds this weekend on my near-total liquid diet.  But it was lost the hard way.  Pray for me to not go backwards.  I would like to lose 20 by Christmas.  Yikes!  Did I just type that out loud? :hammer:

  2. @carrensey – 😆 :yes: I heard you. You can’t take it back now.
    I’m surprised the weight is coming off, because I am actually eating, and not less than normal. Steve has been fixing me bacon, eggs and toast, with orange juice and coffee for breakfast. The first night I was home, we had Casa Ole, although I could not eat the whole thing. I’ve also been craving milk, so the other day, I had a glass of chocolate milk.
    I’ve had very little sweets. I just don’t have a taste for it mostly. And my carb level is low.

  3. @carrensey – Forgot to say…I’ve been getting a ton of exercise just trying to get around. Getting in and out of bed is an ordeal, but it’s getting easier. We have a tall 4 poster bed, that requires a step to get in and out. I can finally get in and out without Steve helping me, but it’s a chore.

  4.             I DIDN’T WORK TODAY OR GO TO EXERCISE CLASS.  MICHELE HAS TAKEN A DOG THAT SHE GAVE TO A LITTLE BOY INTO HER DAD’S HOUSE TO HELP DOCTOR IT TO SEE IF SHE CAN HELP IT.  IT CAME DOWN WITH PARVO.  PARVO IS MOST OF THE TIME FATAL FOR DOGS.  SHE HAD A LARGE LITTER OF PUPPIES 2 YEARS AGO THAT HAD PARV O.  SHE LEARNED TO GIVE THE PUPS SHOTS AND IV’S.  WITH A VETS HELP SHE HELP SAVE AT LEAST 1/4 OF THE LITTER.  SHE HOPES SHE CAN HELP THE LITTLE PUP,NAMED TOMMY/TITANIC,  LIVE..  I JUST CAME FROM OVER THERE.  THEY HAD AN IV IN THE PUPPY.  HE PERKED UP A LITTLE WHEN A CAT CAME NEAR HIM, BUT LAYED BACK DOWN.  THE LITTLE BOY WAS HOLDING THE PUP YESTERDAY WHEN MICHELE MET HE AND HIS FATHER AT THE VET OFFICE.  HE WAS HOLDING THE PUP AND LOOKED AT MICHELE WITH TEARS IN HIS EYES HE ASKED MICHELE,  “IS MY PUPPY GOING TO DIE, HE IS MY BEST FRIEND.”  WITH THAT MICHELE WAS DETERMINED TO DO WHATEVER SHE COULD DO TO HELP THE PUP AND THE LITTLE BOY.
               I’M HAPPY ABOUT YOUR WEIGHT LOSS, BUT NOT HOW YOU WENT ABOUT LOSING IT.   THAT’S A VERY HARD AND PAINFUL WAY.   WITH ALL THAT YOU’VE GONE THROUGH IT IS NO WONDER THAT JUST DOING EVERYDAY ACTIVITIES CAN BE A BIG ACTIVITY FOR YOU TO COMPLETE .  I UNDERSTAND WHAT YOU MEAN WHEN YOU SAY THAT YOU  figure that YOU have to laugh about it to keep from crying. I DO PRAY THAT GOD WILL GIVE YOU STRENGTH JUST FOR THE DAY, ONE DAY AT A TIME.  
               S O N G         :heartbeat:”I AM A HUMAN, I’M JUST A WOMAN ,  HELP ME BELIEVE, IN WHAT I CAN BE AND ALL THAT I AM. SHOW ME THE PATHWAY, I HAVE TO CLIMB, SO FOR MY SAKE, HELP ME TO TAKE, ONE DAY AT A TIME.     ONE DAY AT A TIME SWEET JESUS, THAT’S ALL I’M ASKING FROM YOU.  HELP ME TODAY, SHOW ME THE WAY, ONE DAY AT A TIME.” 

  5. @DKT1978 – Hey, Debbie….we had 3 puppies that died of parvo. Timon was the last puppy we had from that litter, and he’s been gone now for 4 weeks. I’m losing hope of ever finding him.
    I talked to Kathryn today. They are keeping her in the hospital a little while. Today they started giving her 2 pints of blood. She is bleeding internally somewhere. Tomorrow they will run scopes to see if she might have bleeding ulcers.

  6. @SingingMom – SINCE I DIDN’T WORK TODAY OR GO TO EXERCISE I WENT TO SEE KATHRYN.  SHE SAID THE DOC. WANTED TO FIND OUT WHERE SHE WAS BLEEDING FROM.  THEY WERE NOT GIVING HER BLOOD AT THE TIME I WAS THERE, BUT THE DOC. HAD CALLED HER AND SAID HE MIGHT.
    MICHELE ALSO HAD HER AFRICAN GRAY PARROT COME DOWN SICK.  SHE TOOK HIM TO THE VET AND  THE VET PUT HIM IN PET ICU.  IT DOESN’T SOUND GOOD.  I WENTED OVER TO HER DAD’S AND BROUGHT THE FAMILY BARBECUE AND CHICKEN.

  7. @DKT1978 – She did tell me that you came to visit, but I wasn’t sure what time you went, or what they knew when you were there. She was so surprised that you came up there, because it was an awful long way for you to have to walk. She was very glad you came.
    I hope the parrot gets better. I like birds, but one would be in danger in our house 😆 One of our neighbors use to have a parrot that would say, “I’m a green chicken.”
    So are you considering having the same surgery I had? My physical therapist had both knees done at the same time. I don’t think I could do that.

  8. I have been so busy at work today and then when I got home, I have been nursing a toothache :(.  What a sweet picture of you..you look wonderful.  I’m happy about your weight loss…what a way to lose it though, huh?  I pray therapy continues to go well and you don’t have a lot of pain.  Loved the flowers….and the “new” cat in the box :).  Blessings and sleep well. :love:

  9. @buana – Hi, Jill. I hope that toothache gets better. That’s miserable.
    Yeah, it’s been a little bit of a rough way to lose weight, but whatever works :giggle: Part of it I lost right after the hurricane. My appetite just went away mostly. For the most part, food hasn’t really sounded very good.

  10. Ironically, chocolate helps me heal too. It must be magical!Congrats on the weightloss! I’ve like 10 since my surgery, but losing an organ isn’t a new weight loss method, either. 😆

Leave a Reply

