This is really good:

An Open Letter to Journalists

Since this letter is very long, I’m just going to post the link. It’s well worth reading, and Dr. Dobson gives the reasons why he now will vote for McCain:

Dr. Dobson’s October 2008 newsletter

Things are not always what they seem; the first appearance deceives many; the intelligence of a few perceives what has been carefully hidden.  ~ Phaedrus

Nobama

Barry the Hatchet 

Religion-phobe Barry Lynn is at it again, getting in his final dig at pastors before the November 4 election. His Americans United for the Separation of Church and State dropped a 100,000-piece mailing this week to churches, threatening them to stay silent on moral issues-or else. The scare tactic is a favorite of Lynn’s, whose purpose is to undermine pastors’ constitutional rights to speak about moral issues from the pulpit. With just days to go before voters decide a host of important ballot initiatives, American United is doing its best to frighten clergy. This week, the organization called for an IRS investigation of Bishop Arthur Serratelli, who wrote a passionate article about the dangers of the Freedom of Choice Act (FOCA). Although Bishop Serratelli was well within his rights to comment, Lynn is accusing him of denouncing Sen. Barack Obama, who has pledged to make FOCA his first priority. Accurate guidance on the law for pastors can be found on the Alliance Defense Fund’s great website at www.telladf.org/church.

Sentenced for Life 

Never one to let the truth get in the way of a good commercial, the pro-abortion camp unleashed a new ad that features women who have been imprisoned for having abortions. Essentially, the group http://www.howmuchtime.org claims that making abortion illegal will result in women’s imprisonment. As veteran attorneys are pointing out, the charge is absolutely ridiculous. Americans United for Life attorney Clarke Forsythe points out that before Roe v. Wade the state laws “targeted abortionists, not women.” Since 1922, there hasn’t been a single documented case of a woman being charged for having an abortion. “Second,” he writes, “If Roe were overturned today… the legislatures of the states would have to enact new abortion laws.” What that does is return the question of abortion to the people of America-where it belongs! Judicial expert Wendy Long jokes, “This is something called democracy, and it works quite well!” Under measures like the Freedom of Choice Act, which the next Congress may enact if the liberals expand their control, it is pro-life groups that will find themselves as defendants for trying to protect the lives of the unborn.

Additional Resources
Clarke D. Forsythe: Why the States Did Not Prosecute Women for Abortion Before Roe v. Wade

All I Need to Know about Tolerance, I Learned in Kindergarten 

“We’re learning to be allies.” That’s how one California mom discovered that something was terribly wrong at her kindergartner’s school. Together with other five-year-olds, her daughter has spent the entire week learning what it means to be “tolerant.” This morning, without notifying a single parent, Faith Ringgold School of Art and Science kicked off “Coming Out Day” as part of “Gay and Lesbian History Month.” When parents called the school to complain, an office worker directed them to contact Hayward Unified School District. Despite several attempts, the District never answered its phone. Only from hallway posters did parents learn that the elementary school is hosting a “TransAction Gender-Bender Read-Aloud” next month.

In California and Massachusetts, where same-sex “marriage” is infecting the public school curriculum, parents are sounding the alarm. Stories like this one used to be isolated to the liberal pockets of San Francisco. Today, these extremists are moving through our schools with surprising ease, targeting younger and younger students as they go.

Opponents of Proposition 8 continue to argue that gay “marriage” won’t affect our children. In a new ad funded by “No on Prop 8,” California State Superintendent Jack O’Connell insists that “Proposition 8 has nothing to do with schools or kids.” Either O’Connell is oblivious to what’s happening in his own schools (one of which hauled off first graders to a lesbian wedding), or he is simply denying it to satisfy the agenda of the state’s largest teachers’ union.

Whatever his motive is, the pressure to pass Proposition 8 is mounting. Our sources on the ground in California say that Hollywood is making a powerful, last-minute push, bringing in several million dollars to launch its biggest ad buy yet. Make no mistake. The marriage amendment is the single most important issue on the ballot this election. A loss in California would be devastating to families and schoolchildren in every state. Please do what you can to help our allies on the West Coast. Log on to http://www.protectmarriage.org today.

Additional Resources

WND: School holds surprise ‘Gay’ Day for kindergartners
AP: Hollywood comes out in support of gay marriage
ProtectMarriage.com

 

20 thoughts on “

  1. I think this election will go down in history as one of the most controversial of all times. I know Europe is very interested in what the outcome will be. I have been much in prayer. It is hard when you really do not care for EITHER of the candidates. I can’t turn a blind eye on McCain’s faults simply because he is a Republican and has chosen a Christian running mate. Some people tell me to vote my Christian values, but I do not feel that either candidate truly has any of my Christian values. This is all just my opinion, and I hope no one is going to come over to my site and stone me!

  2. Just got back from a surprise visit to Friday, Texas.  I spent the night in the new trailorhouse. It was so nice to visit with daddy. 
    I saw NOBAMA signs up in the country, too.  Many of the people up there has Mccain/Palin signs in their yards.

  3. @DanishDoll – 😆 It won’t be me. If I tried to throw a stone, I’d probably fall and hurt myself!
    McCain does have some faults. I do have some differences with him. But I think he’s the lesser of 2 evils. I’ll have to post what James Dobson said about finally deciding to vote for McCain.

  4. @awish4you – I’m getting there. I’ve been using a breathing machine for my bronchitis. And I actually walked around a little outside today. But only on fairly level ground :giggle:
    I’m not fond of politics, and especially politicians. But I do take an active roll when we have an election. I believe it is our duty.

  5. @MrParadox – We know, Doug, we know. However, you know as well as I do that none of the “lesser known” candidates stand any chance in that proverbial warm place, of winning. Therefore, if I waste my vote on one of them, I might as well vote for Obama. You also know that there will never be enough people to elect one of the others. And I’m not taking any chances.

  6. I haven’t been on here in a while.  I see you had surgery.  I hope you are recuperating well and the surgery went fine.
    So many people tell me they don’t like either candidate.  Maybe if McCain had more charisma people would like him better.  I like Sarah Palin though.  I think she is one tough lady.  I for one will be glad when this election is over.
    Take care 

  7. @SingingMom – Who’s wasting their vote? Vote for somebody. As long as you keep voting against candidates, you’ll keep electing crappy leaders. If you don’t like McCain, either vote for someone else or don’t vote. But you’re only perpetuating the inanity if you play the bandwagon game.Harsh words, yes, but I believe they’re true. @DanishDoll – Again, I would encourage you to look at a candidate like Chuck Baldwin. He may at least be closer fit to the values you’re voting on. :goodjob: :yes:

  8. @MrParadox – Doug, when I was a child I used to like to read stories about dinosaurs on Venus. Now, I can vote today for dinosaurs on Venus all I want but it is not going to change the reality of the fact that there are no dinosaurs on Venus. The REALITY of this election is that a vote for anyone other than McCain is a vote for Obama. You can wish for dinosaurs on Venus all you want, but it won’t change that reality. By voting against Obama I AM voting FOR my values.

  9. @MrParadox – Please give us a little credit for some intelligence in our little heads. I try really hard not to waste these 140 IQ points God gave me 🙄
    I didn’t say I didn’t like McCain. I said there are some things where I have a differing opinion than him, but I do think there is always the chance that he could change his stance on some things. He has done it before.
    I know you think you understand things soooo much better than us old feeble-minded people. And I think you are wrong. I am extremely, extremely (did I mention extremely?) conservative, and you are moderate. My vote is based on my values, my belief in what God wants us to do, and my many years of previous experience. Yet you still argue to try to change my mind. Give it up.

  10. @penny1966 – I’m not against McCain. But I’m not going to agree with anyone 100% of the time. I don’t agree with Steve all the time, either :giggle: I don’t think McCain necessarily needs more charisma. That doesn’t get the job done. He wasn’t my first choice, but I voted for him today.
    My recovery is a little more difficult today. My thigh muscle right above my knee keeps trying to cramp. That makes walking a little difficult. But all in all, I am better than I was 2 weeks ago! :yes:

  11. @MrParadox – I guess I should also say that by lesser of 2 evils, I mean he isn’t going to do everything just the way I think he should. But nobody will. And there will be mistakes made if he is president. But the mistakes will be far greater in an Obama presidency.

  12. @SingingMom – I was actually under the impression that by discussing these issues with you and engaging you in debate and providing examples of how my position is reasoned out, I was complimenting your intelligence. If I thought you were dumb why would I waste my time trying to convince you of something? On the other hand, if what you’ve taken from all my posts is that I’m a “moderate,” I am clearly incapable of communicating anything, because I’m so far from “moderate” it’s not even in the same hemisphere. And besides, I wasn’t saying you or Steve should vote for Baldwin. I said the first poster should consider looking into him because she said she has already ruled out Obama and McCain based on her values and didn’t know what to do. I was pointing out there is another option for her to consider. And I hope she takes a look at his platform. She may conclude she doesn’t agree with him, and that’s fine. But I do think it’s dishonest to summarily exclude someone just because the bandwagon says they don’t have any chance. The phrase “self-fulfilling prophecy” comes to mind in that context. And please give me some credit. I don’t claim to know more than anybody. But I have had different experiences and I think I bring a seldom-considered perspective to the table. Anyway, I don’t think smarts or IQ or age have anything to do with it. But again, if all you’ve taken away from my ramblings is that I do, then something is askew in our exchange of ideas. @Singing4sDad – Steve: based on your comment I can only assume Texas has never been a state under one-party rule, at least during your lifetime. Georgia was solidly Democrat until about 15 years ago. Solid, as in, your remark was basically what was said to people voting in the Republican primary or for a Republican on the general ballot. So let’s extend that to the national level. Take away McCain for a minute. If there were only one major national party, so that we knew its nominee would become president, would you still refuse to vote for a third party? After all, it wouldn’t make a difference. What if Obama were that single-party nominee? I think–but don’t know–that you would vote for someone else, or not vote at all. If that’s acceptable in a one-party system, why is it suddenly “dreaming about dinosaurs on Venus” in a two-party system? I don’t understand what makes two the magic number. By the logic of your comment, in a one-party system you would vote for Obama. But I don’t think that’s what you would actually do. I think to justify simply voting against a candidate, then, you have to explain how the same decision-making process would apply in the absence of “the lesser of 2”. Yes, I honestly want an answer to that. I think expecting you can respond gives credit to your intelligence. Since I can’t post without disclaimer anymore, though, this will be my last. Cheers,

Leave a Reply

