I was kind of in the mood for something Christmasy…

It was hard for me to do, but I changed my background pic for the winter. It might not stay this way, though, since I really like the wedding pictures. At least I still have a slide show of the wedding. When Beth gets married, I don’t know what I’m going to do, because I’ll want a background pic of both weddings  I’m in the mood for Christmasy stuff. So here it is.  Our house is not yet Christmasy. So much left to do. I’m soooo far behind. And the elves are not helping.  Living with cats is an adventure. I have grown use to saying, “Oh, no…” when I get up in the mornings (or in the middle of the night!). This morning, I walked in the living room to find a basket on the floor, that had been full of dried potpourri. Not anymore.  I’m not going to post our pastor’s entire sermon this week. If you want to see all the points of his sermon, go to Debbie’s blog (DKT1978). She has them listed there. But there was one point I wanted to bring out. Some of these thoughts were his, but you’re getting my 2 cents worth, too. Or maybe 4. (Ok, ok…probably waaay more than 4. ) Prov 12:1…..Whoever loves discipline loves knowledge,
but he who hates correction is stupid. NIV
 I love the way that verse gets right to the point. Whoever hates correction is stupid.  Most people don’t really like being corrected. And some people are not in any position to be correcting. Some have too much learning to do themselves, to be concerned about correcting other people. James 3:1…..3:1 Not many of you should presume to be teachers , my brothers, because you know that we who teach will be judged more strictly.  NIV So I caution people about teaching. If you think you know something about what scripture says, do some in-depth studying with Bible scholars (alive or dead) before you try to teach it to others. There are some that are simple and self-explanatory, like John 3:16, and there are some that are more complicated. And don’t try to teach an opinion….spend time in prayer first, and teach what God says.  I don’t mind if the correction is by somebody that is more knowledgeable about some particular thing I’m doing, than I am. Well, as long as they are nice about it. I’ll get mad if they have an attitude.  And GOD knows more about everything than any of us do! So it’s stupid to rebuff His correction.  Teaching always involves correcting mistakes. If a parent teaches a child to cross the street safely, they will scold them if they run out into the street without looking both ways. If a school teacher is trying to get math across to a student, they will correct if that student multiplies incorrectly.  The same is true of God. Even when we are truly trying to follow His word, we will make mistakes. And He will correct.  The Bible is so full of scripture talking about teaching, so I can’t possibly post them all here. But these are really good:  Ps 25:4-5…..4 Show me your ways, O LORD, teach me your paths;
5 guide me in your truth and teach me, for you are God my Savior,
and my hope is in you all day long. NIV
 Ask God to teach you. And don’t be afraid. If you ask for His guidance every single day, before you even get up, you are less likely to do something that requires Him to bop you on the head. So…you’ll have less headaches if you wait on God to show you the way, without striking out on your own. You’ll get lost without Him. But God always knows the way.  Isa 30:20-22….. 21 Whether you turn to the right or to the left, your ears will hear a voice behind you, saying, “This is the way; walk in it.”  NIV  Ps 32:8-108 I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will counsel you and watch over you. 9 Do not be like the horse or the mule, which have no understanding but must be controlled by bit and bridle or they will not come to you.
10 Many are the woes of the wicked, but the LORD’s unfailing love
surrounds the man who trusts in him. NIV
 Are you horsey? Are you mule-headed?             Gallop  green6green6green6green6green6green6green6green6green6
TRIPLES with EMMA

5 thoughts on “I was kind of in the mood for something Christmasy…

  1. My grandmother often told me I was stubborn as a mule or hard headed   :nono:   (who me?:hmmmmm: ).  She often had to resort to my discipline by her hand on my bottom :what:.  She taught me true life lessons and more important that it is vital to listen to instruction when it is given :yes:.   Even more importantly it is vital to listen to God as he guides us :yes::yes::yes:.  The best lesson to learn with Him is to simply SURRENDER :yes::yes::yes: to His will and way.

  2. @DKT1978 – 😆 :yes: My mother always called me Rockhead. But it’s a genetic thing. I got it from both my parents. And it appears I passed it on to my kids 😮
    Bible Study tomorrow night! Then Saturday at the workday, we will decorate the sanctuary and the fellowship hall.

  3. I also am not where I want to be with my Christmas stuff.  Hopefully after my move I will get into the Christmas spirit.  I hope that you had a good day.  Mine is good and I just might take in my Sis’s hockey game.  Take care.  Blessings. 

  4. Looking good………  Dalip has no relatives in Mumbai. He is from the New Dehli area, but all of his immedate family are over here. A nephew, wife and three very young boys went to India for vacation recently. Nigel said on his Facebook site…”We left Mumbai just in time. We are now safe in Dehli. Be back home on Friday.”  I didn’t know that he had gone to Mumbai. Then, yesterday a niece called me and stated she was a school chum to the Taj Mahal Hotel’s General Manager’s wife and this lady and her 2 kids (15 & 5) were killed in the Hotel. Her husband survived. :heartbeat: :heartbeat: :heartbeat:

Leave a Reply

