53 Years

I just don’t understand Buddy the Elf. If he wanted to leave the North Pole and go to New York City, why didn’t he just wait till Christmas Eve and have Santa drop him off? Some people just don’t think these things through.

silver glittersilver glittersilver glittersilver glittersilver glittersilver glittersilver glittersilver glitter

Today is my parents’ 53rd wedding anniversary:

Mamma & Daddy 50th anniversary

This picture is from their 50th anniversary party we gave them 3 years ago.

silver glittersilver glittersilver glittersilver glittersilver glittersilver glittersilver glittersilver glitter

Shamelessly stolen from Donkey_Guy_10:

A Grandmother was surprised by her 7 year old grandson one morning when he had made her coffee.

She drank what was the worst cup of coffee in her life. When she got to the bottom there were three of those little green army men in the cup. She said, “Honey, what are the army men doing in my coffee?”

Her grandson said, “Grandma, it says on TV-‘The best part of waking up is soldiers in your cup!'”

30 thoughts on “53 Years

  1. :sunny: Wow! Congratulations to your :heartbeat: parents, Cindy!  What a milestone!  My inlaws have been married about 58 years now.  And, what’s this about Buddy the Elf?  I have a Facebook and someone wanted me to join ‘Buddy the Elf’ Day, yesterday(??).  I guess I need to see the movie, huh?!  Is there a movie??  Lol!!  Anyway, I loved the ‘soldiers in your cup’!!  I’ll have to share that with a friend who just became a Battalion Commander of a group of soldiers a couple of weeks ago!  They drink lots of coffee! :p  Also, I wanted to thank you for stopping by, and for your prayers.  I know it’s going to be a long road for Karen, but that family has a lot of faith!  She was in a 5 hour surgery yesterday, and that’s all I know so far!  We’re hoping to hear more soon!  Well, you have the merriest Christmas … and the happiest of New Years! 
    Blessings ~ Deborah <>< 

  2. @Threads_of_Faith – Thank you. Daddy said earlier that it’s hard to believe it’s been 53 years. So many marriages never make it that far. We had a couple at church (she is still there but he died a few months ago) that had been married close to 70 years. Their anniversary was last week, and she is feeling really down without him.
    Yes…I think you need to watch “Elf.” 😆 There’s just no way to explain it unless you’ve seen it. It was just on tonight, on CBS.
    I’m not going to be able to drink a cup of coffee now without thinking of soldiers :ROTFL: And the tear-jerking Folger’s holiday commercials will just never be the same!

  3. 1. Congratulations to your parents! :goodjob: That was a beautiful setting, too!
    2. What’s with Buddy the Elf? Am I missing something?
    3. I had to send that “Groaner” to my folks. My dad will love it!
    4. How are you doing now? Did the PT help?
    5. :love::heartbeat::love:

  4. @JusticeMom – 😆 You were commenting on my post while I was commenting on your.
    1. Thank you. I can’t believe it’s been that long. Right after Steve and I got married, we gave them a 25th anniversary party. Can’t believe it’s been more than twice that long now!
    That was in our fellowship hall. I used the same lattice in Brandon and Rachael’s wedding behind the wedding party table. We use it for everything – just changing the colors of the decorations on it.
    2. If you haven’t seen the movie “Elf,” you would just have to watch it. It’s about a human baby that crawled into Santa’s bag and ended up at the North Pole. He was adopted by an elf. When he was grown, he found out he was really human, and wanted to find his real dad. It’s a funny movie. Will Farrell is the Elf.
    3. I’m glad your dad will like that joke. I’ll never look at Folger’s the same anymore.
    4. I think PT is helping, and I can see that I’m making progress, eventhough it’s small. But the doctor isn’t going to be pleased at all. I know what’s going to happen on Monday afternoon….the doctor’s assistant is going to try his best to talk me into going back in the hospital Tuesday for a “manipulation.” They would put me under, and then bend my knee till the scar tissue breaks loose. But I’m not going to do it, so they can just get over it 😆 I was reading a study last night, that was printed in a medical journal, and it said at one year after surgery, there is little evidence that a manipulation is worth it. It does not seem to increase the range of motion for more than about a week. I’m progressing and doing the things I need to be able to do without the full range of motion they want me to have.
    Plus I have to be able to sing at our Christmas Eve candlelight service the next night. That won’t happen if I’m in pain from the manipulation.
    5. :love: :heartbeat: :love: :wave:

  5. @JusticeMom – Yes, very definitely, I am feeling better. Before, I had such terrible pain when I put weight on my right knee (for about a month prior to the surgery). But I had known for about 2 years I was going to need the surgery. Now, eventhough my knee is stiffer than before, I don’t have the pain. For the last couple of weeks before the surgery, sometimes the pain was bad enough to bring tears. And for me, that has to be really bad.

  6. I the move ELF–it’s become a Christmas classic in our household. I remember going to see it with my mom and dad the day after thanksgiving…Thanks for the comment on our house! We’re starting to feel more comfortable (the carpet is in BAD shape, but my bro and his wife came and cleaned it for us which was SO nice!) and getting all settled in.I’m SO ready for my mom to be back! I’ve been going through withdrawls!!

  7. Many good wishes to your parents!  My parents were also married for 53 years before my mom died!  Soldiers in your coffeee…..:ROTFL:  Very, very cute!  I pray you have a wonderful Lord’s Day!  I’ll stop by tonight :heartbeat:

  8. It’s cold here, so maybe you will get some more snow in Houston! We haven’t had any in years here.
    Bass Hall is a beautiful place. It’s always a special treat to get to attend an event there. My girls love The Nutcracker, but were a little dissapointed that this year the music was recorded. Seems the economy has hit the fine arts hard… they can’t afford the full orchersta this year.
    Geneology interests me, although I’ve never really tried to see what I could find out. My mom says her aunt researched it all years ago (way before the internet), but wouldn’t share what she found with anybody! Makes me wonder what might be in my blood! LOL.
    Merry Christmas to you and yours!

  9. @kgeverett – You know, there were a lot of people who kept what they found a secret. I have run into that a lot. And there really were things to hide. I’ve found out we are extremely likely to be a mixed race family….not just white and Indian, but a little black thrown in, too. And I have found that we are part Jewish. Much of that kind of information was closely guarded.
    If you ever want anything looked up, just message me. I’ll go straight to Ancestry.com. That’s a great website.

  10. @buana – We had a very busy day today. Church this morning, lunch at Schlotzsky’s, shopping at Walmart. Then evening service at church, and a short choir practice afterwards. I am so tired. I have PT at 11:00 in the morning, and then a doctor’s appt. at 2:00. I really just want to snuggle under the covers and not get out. It’s cold here tonight.

  11. @SingingMom – It is about -2F right now; and the wind chill makes it …. I don’t even want to discuss it! I can hear that wind. I’m glad I’m inside! I’m cold! I’m drinking hot tea, and wearing a sweater. Here’s the WeatherBug report:
    Temperatures Are Expected To Drop To Between 0 And 5 Below Tonight… As An Arctic Airmass Settles Into The Ohio Valley. Westerly Winds At 20 To 30 Mph With Gusts To Near 40 Mph Will Create Wind Chills Values Colder Than 25 Degrees Below Zero.
    A Wind Chill Warning Means The Combination Of Very Cold Air And Strong Winds Will Create Dangerously Low Wind Chill Values. This Will Result IN Frost Bite And Lead To Hypothermia Or Death If Precautions Are Not Taken. Remember… A Wind Chill Warning Means Hazardous Weather Conditions Are Imminent Or Highly Likely.

  12. @JusticeMom – BBBRRRRRRR!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am glad I am here and not there! It’s only supposed to be right at freezing or just below here, and in the mid 20’s north of Houston (that gets my sister in the Conroe area). The wind is really bad here right now, and has been all afternoon. There is a hole in the sheetrock just under this desk, which happens to be on the northeast side of the house. Yeah….that wind is coming in, eventhough we have a piece of plywood covering the hole. Right now with the wind chill, it feels like 27. I guess you’d trade with me in a heartbeat 😆

  13. Buddy the Elf is the best EVER!!!!”I passed through the seven levels of the Candy Cane forest, through the sea of swirly twirly gum drops, and then I walked through the Lincoln Tunnel.””You did it! Congratulations! World’s best cup of coffee! Great job, everybody! It’s great to be here.””He’s an *angry* elf!””[to the racoon] Does somebody need a hug?”Buddy: [to Jovi] I think you’re really beautiful and I feel really warm when I’m around you and my tongue swells up.[pause]Buddy: So… do you wanna eat food?haha…I love ELF!

  14. Hey, Lady! Congratulations to your parents! Mine have been married 50 plus years, too, and seem to be glad they’ve made it this far. I LOVE the soldiers in your coffee joke; that’ll come in handy at the dinner table on Christmas day! I won’t put the soldiers in their cups, though. Don’t want anyone to choke! I hope you’ll sleep well tonight! love, Gail

  15. Right now with the wind chill, it feels like 27. I guess you’d trade with me in a heartbeat
    :nono:NOT HARDLY! IF I WANT TO TRADE ANYTHING IN A :heartbeat:HEARTBEAT :heartbeat:IT WILL BE TROPICAL WEATHER, THANK YOU VERY MUCH!! :sunny:

Leave a Reply

