Merry Christmas


  Luke 2:1-14
2:1 In those days Caesar Augustus issued a decree that a census should be taken of the entire Roman world. 2(This was the first census that took place while Quirinius was governor of Syria.) 3 And everyone went to his own town to register.
4 So Joseph also went up from the town of Nazareth in Galilee to Judea, to Bethlehem the town of David, because he belonged to the house and line of David. 5 He went there to register with Mary, who was pledged to be married to him and was expecting a child. 6 While they were there, the time came for the baby to be born, 7 and she gave birth to her firstborn, a son. She wrapped him in cloths and placed him in a manger, because there was no room for them in the inn. 8 And there were shepherds living out in the fields nearby, keeping watch over their flocks at night. 9 An angel of the Lord appeared to them, and the glory of the Lord shone around them, and they were terrified. 10 But the angel said to them, “Do not be afraid. I bring you good news of great joy that will be for all the people. 11 Today in the town of David a Savior has been born to you; he is Christ the Lord. 12 This will be a sign to you: You will find a baby wrapped in cloths and lying in a manger.” 13 Suddenly a great company of the heavenly host appeared with the angel, praising God and saying, 14 “Glory to God in the highest,
and on earth peace to men on whom his favor rests.”  NIV
  We have a candlelight service at church tonight, and Beth and I will both sing in the service. Afterwards, we are going to Brandon and Rachael’s to exchange Christmas gifts, rather than here at our house. With my surgery, I just have not been able to get our house ready for Christmas.  Tomorrow, we will go to my youngest sister’s house for Christmas dinner with our family….all my sisters, their families, and my parents.  I was struck by something when I was reading a few blogs earlier, stressing that Jesus is the reason for this season. We try so hard to please all our family and friends at Christmas, with the perfect gift for them. Do we try to please Jesus? What gift do we give Him? We should give Him ourselves….and let Him be Lord of our lives. Do we do it? 
Wishing all of you a very joyous Christmas. I hope you spend it with family and friends, but even if you don’t….spend it with Jesus.

silver glittersilver glittersilver glittersilver glittersilver glittersilver glittersilver glittersilver glittersilver glitter
TRIPLES with EMMA

12 thoughts on “Merry Christmas

  1. In Denmark we do our major celebrating on Christmas Eve, so we just got back from our Danish “kids” house. We had a great time! Ate too much, laughed a lot, took lots of pictures and enjoyed seeing the kids and grandkids open their gifts. We attended church this afternoon and it was so special. We received lots of hugs and greetings. It’s been a wonderful day of celebration! I am so glad for my Savior! Blessings to you as you do your celebrating tomorrow. I pray you have a safe and joyous day.

  2. Luke 2:1-14 was the message at the Christmas Eve Church Service we attended this evening with friends.  After Church we went to Outback Steakhouse.  What a wonderful Christmas Eve we had with friends receiving the message of Jesus’ birth.  What a gift he is.  May God Bless you with a beautiful Christmas.  Love, Jill

    P.S.  Thank you for the magnificant Christmas Card!

  3. You are so right Cindy.  I had our Christmas postcard designed with that –
      Jesus is the reason for the season.    
    I hope you keep feeling better.  Hang in there, remember there always was and always will be housecleaning and house work as long as there are people living there (well in your case animals too), but you are right Jesus is the focus and people are the value in the holiday and always.   You hang in there and get your health better, we only get one body in this life time.  I Just got news a girlfriend of mine died, she had so often email and written, we live in the same city now, and she was so so busy and would eventually work out time for us to get time, but well, long story short, I’ll see her in heaven.   I am glad we at least had email and mail and phone to interact over the years, she was a very speical Christian lady.

  4. @KPinkRosebud – Oh, Karen, I’m so sorry about your friend. I know words are not adequate, but I’m sending a hug. It may not be that long till you see her again, seeing all the things that are happening in this world.
    We certainly do only get one body, and mine isn’t cooperating right now. I believe I am fixing to back off the therapy just a little. I’m starting to have pain I haven’t been having. Beth developed that and we discovered it was a stress fracture.  
    You sure got that right about there always being cleaning that needs to be done. It’s never ending. Plus we have some damage to a floor that happened after the hurricane. I don’t know if you remember the wood floor we have in the dining area. When our power  was off, our small refrigerator that we use for canned drinks, leaked all under that wood floor and ruined it. So we have to pull it up and start over. I plan to put down ceramic tile similar to the kitchen floor. There is just so much that needs to be done to this house. I know you understand how that goes.
    I hope you guys are still planning on coming down at Easter. Your son-in-law is not cooperating about being Jesus in our Easter play again, so I will have to find somebody else if we do the play. But I really wanted you guys to see it. I’m hoping they have a house by then.

Leave a Reply

