Happy New Year…

THIS is a fascinating story to me. It’s about a mixed race couple in England having 2 sets of black and white twin girls, 7 years apart. It’s extremely rare. It brings out the genealogist in me, because I am fascinated by the heritage of people.

Happy New Year, y’all.

We went to Brandon and Rachael’s last night for New Year’s Eve. They live in a lovely city nearby, where it is a popular thing to shoot off guns on New Year’s Eve. And they don’t even wait for midnight. And they keep going, long after midnight. Brandon said he was better armed, though, and he’s a whole lot better shot than a bunch of drunks.

We watched Kung Fu Panda, Batman Begins and The Dark Knight. Yeah, that’s a lot of movie watching. We didn’t leave there till 3:00 a.m. They own so many movies, that other people come to them to find a movie they want to watch. My sister got 3 movies from them for their party. They even made an index to all their movies, which number in the hundreds.

I made chicken salad and 7 Layer Mexican Dip. Rachael made chicken parmesan and pizza. It was all good. And of course, there was a lot of drinking….sweet tea and Dr Pepper! We can have just as much fun drinking non-alchoholic, and we can remember the evening!

When we got home just before 3:30 this morning, Steve discovered that our only remaining dog, Trouble, was missing. He was in the back yard when we left at about 6:45. I am sure that there were idiots shooting off fireworks and it scared him. He got a chainlink gate open and then got out through the wood fence, where there are some rotten fence boards. It bothers me that he is out there scared somewhere. We have looked, but have not found him. Every other time he has gotten out, he has come back home, including when he and Timon got out after the hurricane. Timon never came back.

We have had Trouble since May 2001. The people who live next to our church, kind of dumped him at the church. He was their dog, but when they get tired of an animal, they chase it off. I have seen them do that. We thought he was sick and probably dying, because he was so lethargic, lying around the church. We fed him, but he didn’t eat much. So we took him home. There was nothing wrong with him that a little love and attention didn’t fix. But we let him stay in the house at first, and he got my purse. He chewed the handle, my cell phone, and a bottle of ibuprofen. So that’s how he got his name….Trouble.

This is Trouble, with Pepper behind him. This was taken 2 years ago.

Trouble and Pepper

21 thoughts on “Happy New Year…

  1. Praying Trouble is found, unlike Timon.  Our cat is scared of the fireworks….he stays inside the entire night and for the 4th of July.  We have a cat door that lets him out to the patio.  Sounds like you had a fun New Year’s Eve.  Blessings, Jill

  2. HOPE YOU FIND TROUBLE SOON.  MY ANIMALS, EVEN THOUGH THEY WERE INSIDE, WERE SCARED OF ALL THE FIRE WORKS NOISE OUTSIDE.  SOME OF THE NOISE WAS FIRECRACKERS AND SOME WAS GUNS IN THE AIR.  I WAS DETERMINED NOT TO STEP OUTSIDE DURING THIS TIME.  DID YOU HAVE YOUR CABBAGE AND BLACKEYED PEAS TODAY?

  3. @DKT1978 – :giggle: No…I haven’t had my cabbage and peas. I just never have carried on that tradition. My mom always use to fix a pot of peas and ham. It’s just not my cup of tea. :giggle:
    Thank you about Trouble. I’m really beginning to get worried now, because he’s never been gone like this before. He’s either scared somewhere, somebody took him in, or he’s been killed somewhere. I doubt he’s out just running around having fun, because he always came home if he got out.

  4. RYC: I love the song O Holy Night! I’m sure it was beautiful!Wow–that’s a LOT of movie watching! That’s what my family used to do on Christmas Eve though. We would always rent several.I still haven’t gotten to get in my typical Christmas movies this year:( I have It’s a Wonderful Life and White Christmas and am determined to still watch them, even though the Christmas season is behind us. o well!

  5. “And of course, there was a lot of drinking….sweet tea and Dr Pepper! We can have just as much fun drinking non-alchoholic, and we can remember the evening!”HAHA! Nice. My brother made a similar statement last night except he said he was going to get wasted on Dr. Pepper. I about fell out of my chair.

  6. He’s a pretty dog, I hope you find him safe and sound.   I had received an email about the couple having 2 sets of twins.   That was amazing.
    Glad you brought in the New Year safely and didn’t drink too much tea and Dr. Pepper….lol.
    Have a good weekend…….

  7. @Richgem – Well, it’s a little unlikely, since it’s 11 miles away. And we’ve had him for 7-1/2 years. I went driving around today looking for him, and didn’t find anything. I talked to several people in our subdivision and nobody has seen him. I just can’t imagine what has happened to him. He was so afraid of thunder, and I know the fireworks must have sounded like thunder. I just didn’t realize he would get so scared that he’d break out the fence.

  8. @SingingMom – Oh boy, it’s not lookin’ good for Trouble. I do hope he sniffs his way back home. He might be out there havin’ a great old time; he could’ve found a half drank can of Dr. Pepper and decided to look for more!

Leave a Reply

