My Favorite Room…

Christi (VictoryNJesus) thought we should share pictures of our favorite room in our house. Our living room and dining room are one big room, with the kitchen separated from the living room by just one short wall. So I really consider it all one room. The dining area is open to the kitchen as well as the living room. So here are a few pictures. I’ll warn you that our house looks like a country antique store.

Our dining area: The bar on the left is open to the kitchen (Laura…see the cabinets below the bar, with the fabric panels? That’s where I am putting the punched tin.) I’m also in the process of taking up all that wood flooring, because water draining from the small refrigerator under that white table on the left, buckled the floor. That was because of our power going out after Hurricane Ike.

Thanksgiving 2004

Same room, just showing the right side of the room. That table is made from the pine from the church pews we use to have in our church. We stupidly replaced them in 1974, and sold the old pews to church members. I have one of the pews. My parents bought many of them. I say we stupidly replaced them, because we traded 2″ thick solid pine for particle board.

Thanksgiving 2004

This next picture is where the dining area opens to the living room. That’s my dad and brother-in-law at the table at Thanksgiving 2004. The fireplace is just past the right edge of the picture. The mantel is an antique shelf, and it has antique thread spools on it.

Thanksgiving 2004

This wall is the only thing that separates our kitchen from our living room. You can see the bar on the right that is open to the kitchen. In case it looks a little confusing, that is a mirror in the middle of the wall, that reflects the stairs on the other side of the room. That mirror was on our living room wall in my parents’ house when I was growing up.

New cabinets in the living room

I love the wood ceilings in our dining area and kitchen. Steve added all the wood. The wood at the top of the pic, with the open joists, is a loft we added in 2003, extending an upstairs balcony out over the living room.

Ceiling/Dining area

This is the loft:

Loft 2003

And here is part of the kitchen. Stove and eating bar are on the left, sink on the right. That door opens into the living room area.

Finished cabinet

So that’s my favorite parts of the house. I’m not showing you the rest. It’s a mess. Actually, all of it is a mess right now.

More good reading:

The Right Standard for Judging George W. Bush

Obama snubs vets, skips Heroes ball Becomes 1st new president to miss inauguration event

Did Obama’s election trigger new stem cell experiments? FDA’s approval of embryonic trials comes day after president change

‘Partial war’ looming between China, India? Military suggests border dispute is ‘threat’ to Beijing

The Truth Comes Out–Obama Backed Homosexual Marriage 

When Barack Obama was running for president, he said he opposed same-sex “marriage,” favoring civil unions instead. But in 1996, when he first ran for the Illinois state senate, a Chicago “gay” newspaper reported that Obama supported same-sex “marriage.” This week a successor paper, the Windy City Times, published specific documentation regarding Obama’s earlier stance.

A candidate questionnaire by IMPACT, a homosexual political action group, proposed a resolution that “the state should not interfere with same-gender couples who choose to marry and share fully and equally in the rights responsibilities and commitment of civil marriage.” Obama wrote, apparently in his own hand, “I would support such a resolution.” A month later, Obama sent to Outlines a typed letter, over his own signature, stating, “I favor legalizing same-sex marriages, and would fight efforts to prohibit such marriages.” Obama’s professed opposition to redefining marriage was never very credible, given his much stronger opposition to every effort to defend marriage.

If American voters had understood Obama’s real views, his candidacy for president might have gone the way of other open supporters of same-sex “marriage”–like Mike Gravel and Dennis Kucinich. Does concealing one’s real beliefs to gain political advantage represent “change we can believe in?”

Additional Resources
FRC Action: Obama Backs Same-Sex Marriage
Politico: Windy City Times Cover 
 

EXTRA! EXTRA! – Read about it Online! 

The media considers a dozen war protesters newsworthy, but why not 200,000 pro-life witnesses? As those of you who have visited Washington, D.C. on January 22 know, the tradition of the press ignoring America’s biggest pro-life event is almost as old as the March itself. Over the years, the scant coverage hasn’t deterred us. Instead, we have banded together to find new ways around it. One of the most popular vehicles has been the rise of the conservative blog.

Today, FRC hosted a power-packed line-up of the who’s who in the online pro-life community, many of whom are changing the face of the abortion debate over the heads of the “mainstream” media. Along with a standing-room-only crowd, the fourth annual Blogs for Life conference attracted some key Hill leaders, including speakers Sen. Sam Brownback (R-Kans.) and Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R-Wa). It was also the subject of a feature article in today’s Washington Times.

Speaking of making a difference, a core group of Republican members marked the anniversary of Roe v. Wade by making pro-life speeches in the House chamber last night. We applaud them for remaining faithful to their convictions and representing the majority of Americans who believe that our inalienable rights include the right to life.

Additional Resources
The Washington Times: Pro-life marchers lose attention

In the Heat of the Moment 

The thought police are back in full force. This week, a U.S. District Judge in Illinois sided with the ACLU, which had argued that a “moment of silence” in Illinois schools violates the separation of church and state. Although students were not required to pray in school, Judge Robert Gettleman claimed, “This statute is a subtle effort to force students at impressionable ages to contemplate religion.” Attorney David Cortman, who submitted a brief in the case for the Alliance Defense Fund, told me this is just another example of how radical the Left has become. The ACLU even objects to a moment of silence because of the potential for prayer. Students aren’t forced to do anything except be quiet, and that hardly violates the Establishment Clause. A similar case was debated in Texas but the challenge to its 2003 law was dismissed on appeal. We hope that the Illinois court will also see through this attack on students’ freedom.

Additional Resources
Associated Press: Illinois moment of silence ruled unconstitutional

25 thoughts on “My Favorite Room…

  1. I LOVE YOUR KITCHEN!!!!!!!!!!!!  AND all the wood!!!!  I’m a big wood person, and I would love to see this much wood in my own home!!!!  BEAUTIFUL!!!!

  2. @SingingMom – Log homes have always been my favorite!  The house we live in now is one that my hubby had when we got married.  Until the last couple of years, I wasn’t allowed to “change” anything!!  Now he’s starting to lighten up a bit.  I still dont’ have things the way I like it to be.  He has most of the basement which is what we call “The Man Room”!! LOL  So I tell him that since he has The Man Room, I need the upstairs to be MY ROOM…PERIOD!!!!  I think that’s a fair trade, huh??? LOL LOL
     

  3. @SingingMom – That’s what I think! I really dont’ see a problem with my idea…..LOL!!!    I really do like what you’ve done with your home though!  I’d love to see pics of the rest of it!  After you clean up your mess though!! LOL

  4. Hey….Hey.. just stopping by to thank you for the comments you left on my Thursday post. Was a very busy day on Friday, so I was not able to post or comment anyone back. We had a major inspection .. and then the weekend was filled with training .. but I wanted to let you know your comments are much appreciated and are not being overlooked. Pray you had a blessed and enjoyable weekend, and that the week ahead is even better.We are getting snow right now.. and they are calling for more throughout the weekPhil

  5. Growing up in my Grandmother’s house in the country we had lots of ‘antiques’.   I especially was fascinated by her Singer sewing machine that worked using using a foot pump and not electricity.   It worked pretty good.  I liked the old butter churns.  At one time we had an old refrigerator that worked by putting a big block of ice in it.  We got the block from an ice house in town.  The old telephone was weird.  We could only call the people on our party line by rotating the churn on it.  When it came time for using the restroom we went to an outhouse in the chicken yard, which is very cold in the winter.  The old clothes dressers had pretty designs, but were very old looking.  I loved the old mirrored vanity in my room.  I sit for hours in front of it fixing my hair and primping.  The old safes that my Aunt Doris and others had were fascinating to me.  They used it like a pantry.  Cindy I really do like your antique style in your home.  It seems like a soothing and homey atmosphere to live in. ðŸ™‚

  6. @xangpastor – Thanks, Phil. I wasn’t worried…I knew you were having the inspection.
    No snow and ice here. In fact, it’s about 70 degrees out there. The weather’s been weird, though. We are switching from using the heater to the air conditioner several times a week.

  7. @DKT1978 – Hi, MRS. SMITH…:grin:
    You had antiques that were still being used. I remember all those things. My great-grandmother had a pedal sewing maching and we got it after she died. My dad took the machine off and made a table out of the base. Mamma failed to tell him she wanted to keep the machine, so he THEW IT AWAY! :oh-no: We also had her old gas range that looked very much like THIS ONE. Daddy left it sitting out in the back yard and it just rusted. We use to play kitchen with it when we were little.
    We didn’t ever have an authentic antique church, but Daddy built one and it was beautiful. I know I have a pic of it somewhere. I’ll see if I can find it.
    We had a party line phone, too. I don’t remember how many rings was for us. But I can remember Mamma telling me not to answer it, because it wasn’t for us.
    We had indoor plumbing by the time I came along. But my grandparents did have an outhouse. And everybody had a pump house, since we didn’t have city water. We all had wells. My great-grandfather worked on a crew that dug water wells. It was owned by a sibling from his daddy’s first marriage.
    When Brandon gets a house, and thus has a garage to work in, he is going to build me an antique pie safe. I have always loved them. It will have a punched tin front and I’ll just use it for storage. I’d love to have one for a computer armoire.
    Thank you. One of these days, when we’ve got the repairs done, I’ll call you so you can stop by on the way home from Michelle’s one day.

  8. @kafekotka – Thank you! I always feel the need to warm people that it isn’t one of those upscale things with granite countertops and blank walls. In fact, I’m thinking we need to add on another room, because I don’t have any space left on the walls we already have! 😆

Leave a Reply

