Updated…

I had yet another strange dream last night, but I don’t remember a lot of the details.  I dreamed Bethany was getting married, and as she was walking down the aisle, I realized I did not know she had bought the dress she was wearing. It’s one we have actually looked at online, but in the dream, I did not know she bought it.

None of these dreams ever reveal who the groom is. Maybe I need to get some more sleep.

Happily Married

I was just making a few comments on Facebook, and it hit me how much of a virtual society we have become. We still do get together, but we are much more likely to communicate by electronic means in this day and age. And many are more comfortable conversing in this manner, than to actually talk in person or on the phone.

We even communicate with each other this way in our own house. If I’m here in the living room, and Beth is upstairs, I can email her. She emails, IM’s and texts with family and friends, but she hates talking on the phone.

I have emailed friends in California when I’ve heard about an earthquake, to see if they are ok. It’s strange how we can visit on the social networking sites, and feel like we have actually just been with that person.

We can see things as they are actually happening, either on tv or by internet. The morning the space shuttle exploded after lift off, my sister and I were watching it on tv, while we talked on the phone. When my cousin’s son graduated from high school, her husband got to watch by webcam. He was in Afghanistan. When a girl at church had her first baby, her husband watched by webcam. He was in Iraq.

Rev 11:3-13…..3 And I will give power to my two witnesses, and they will prophesy for 1,260 days, clothed in sackcloth.”
4 These are the two olive trees and the two lampstands that stand before the Lord of the earth.
5 If anyone tries to harm them, fire comes from their mouths and devours their enemies. This is how anyone who wants to harm them must die.
6 These men have power to shut up the sky so that it will not rain during the time they are prophesying; and they have power to turn the waters into blood and to strike the earth with every kind of plague as often as they want.
7 Now when they have finished their testimony, the beast that comes up from the Abyss will attack them, and overpower and kill them.
8 Their bodies will lie in the street of the great city, which is figuratively called Sodom and Egypt, where also their Lord was crucified.
9 For three and a half days men from every people, tribe, language and nation will gaze on their bodies and refuse them burial.
10 The inhabitants of the earth will gloat over them and will celebrate by sending each other gifts, because these two prophets had tormented those who live on the earth.
11 But after the three and a half days a breath of life from God entered them, and they stood on their feet, and terror struck those who saw them.
12 Then they heard a loud voice from heaven saying to them, “Come up here.” And they went up to heaven in a cloud, while their enemies looked on.
13 At that very hour there was a severe earthquake and a tenth of the city collapsed. Seven thousand people were killed in the earthquake, and the survivors were terrified and gave glory to the God of heaven. NIV

We’ve long known that this event would be viewed by tv. I’m sure Fox News will be right there with fair and balanced reporting. But even back when people first realized it would be viewed on tv, we did not have the availability of webcams. You can even constantly watch the Wailing Wall now, by webcam.

When John had the vision that is Revelation, he had no idea we’d have the electronic capabilities we have now. If you are Christian (meaning you have a personal relationship with Jesus Christ, and have accepted His gift of salvation), you won’t be here to watch these events unfold. He will rapture us out of here before that time. But many people you know will still be here.

Matt 24:40-42…..40 Two men will be in the field ; one will be taken and the other left. 41 Two women will be grinding with a hand mill; one will be taken and the other left. 42 “Therefore keep watch, because you do not know on what day your Lord will come. NIV

For now, let’s use our electronic capabilities to reach others for Jesus, so that less will be left behind on that day.

(EDIT: Look at verse 10…sending each other gifts. That made me think of the little “gifts” that can be sent on Facebook. Hmm…)

Me and my house

I told Paula I would do this survey, but I am having trouble thinking of enough answers. Here’s what I’ve got:

Six names you go by:
1. Mom
2. Cindy
3. Honey
4. SingingMom
5. Mud
6. Hey you!

Three things you are wearing right now:
1. A t-shirt dress
2. Left slipper
3. Right slipper (sorry…that’s all you get!)

Three things you want very badly at the moment:
1. For Beth to fall in love with a good man, and get married. He must be Christian with good moral character, and should have similar likes and dislikes. Otherwise she won’t be happy. I don’t want her to settle.
2. For Brandon and Rachael to go ahead and get moved into their house.
3. I’m not going to say I want this “very badly,” but I do want grandkids. But only when my kids are ready.

Four People who will fill this out:
1. Don’t
2. have
3. a
4. clue

Three things you did last night:
1. Went out to eat at Casa Ole
2. Went to a Bible Study at church
3. Got on Xanga and Facebook

Three things you ate today:
1. A griddle cake
2. Orange juice
3. Coffee

Three people you last talked to on the phone:
1. My mother
2. Dave (our youth/music minister)
3. Kathryn (friend from church)


Three things you are going to do tomorrow:
1. Go to church
2. Go out to eat lunch
3. Give Debbie (dkt1978) a wedding shower

Your 3 favorite beverages:
1. Coffee
2. Iced tea
3. Bottled spring water

Your 4 favorite vacation destinations (where you’ve already been):
1. Smoky Mountains
2. Smoky Mountains
3. Smoky Mountains
4. Smoky Mountains (I haven’t been very many places)

Three vacation places you would like to go:
1. Eastern Tennessee
2. Western North Carolina
3. SMOKY MOUNTAINS!

Three favorite restaurants:
1. Casa Ole
2. Red Lobster
3. Chili’s

Three favorite colors:
1. Yellow
2. Cobalt blue
3. Hunter green

Three pet’s names: (Just 3? You’ve got to be kidding me…)
1. Taz
2. Midnight
3. Patch

6 of your favorite TV Shows
1. The Unit
2. NCIS
3. Without a Trace
4. Cold Case
5. Almost any Hallmark movie special
6. I don’t think I have 6 favorite shows. I watch all the CSI’s, but if I don’t see them, it’s ok. The biggest draw of those shows is women in low cut tops. That doesn’t particularly appeal to me.

3 current movies you’ve seen this past year:
1. Fireproof
2. The Dark Knight
3. Kung Fu Panda

What 4 things can you improve about yourself:
1. Lose weight
2. Exercise my knee more.
3. Learn more about God’s word
4. Pray more

4 activities you like to do as a family:
1. Go to church
2. Go out to eat for lunch after the morning worship service
3. Gather at one of our homes for a holiday
4. Any “after church” activity, like dinners, youth activities, etc. I don’t have any kids in the youth group anymore, but we all still do those things anyway. We think we are young.

What activities would you like to do more of as a family:
1. Worship at church
2. Get together for meals
3. Expand….as in having grandkids or somebody else getting married.
4. Clean my house.


If you could have 3 wishes for YOURSELF, what would they be:
1. To be completely debt free….even have the house paid off.
2. To have a tummy tuck
3. To be well enough and physically able to keep up all my church and family activities.

real women have curves

Go to Necia’s site and play her spider game. It’s weird.

10 thoughts on “Updated…

Leave a Reply

