Catching Up

A special HAPPY BIRTHDAY to Carolyn Justice (Justicemom)! Today’s the day! She’s only…….(you thought I was going to tell you her age, didn’t you?!?!  )

birthday cakebirthday cakebirthday cake

I’m trying to catch up on all of your blogs. It’s been really busy the last few days. The Easter play is over, but the busyness hasn’t stopped yet. 

Monday I had to go back down to the church to meet with the man who is going to re-roof the church buildings. We trust him because we know him. He’s our pastor’s wife’s nephew (Got that? There will be a test later ) I had to write him a huge check for half of he roofing job. But I’m thankful to be able to do that. God provided him to us. He used to have a construction company, and still does jobs on the side. He bid $14,000 cheaper  than the other roofing company we got a bid from. And it’s an answer to prayer, because it’s just what we have to spend after the insurance paid. We have a very large deductible.

So while I was there, I started cleaning up from the play, and taking down some of the sets. Just thought I would clue you in that it does not feel good to hit an artificial knee with a cross made from 4 x 4’s.   Several years ago, Beth was hit in the head with one of those crosses. I did what I could do by myself, without the help of some strong men. I took down the garden scene, which consists of choir risers covered in fabric to look like rock, a plywood backing made to look like rock, and lots of silk plants. I hauled 2-1/2 crosses to a back room. I could only haul half of the big cross that Brandon was “crucified” on, since Steve has to take the base of it apart. It’s too big to go through the doors. We use a lot of fabric to cover railings, to make the look more like part of a garden, and for curtains. I took all that down and put it away. Our tomb wall is still up (that will take the men to get it down), so I just put the wooden throne in the tomb and rolled the stone back in front of it. It’s actually a piece of plywood covered in paper and painted to look like stone. It rolls on a track. If nothing else gets taken down before Sunday, it’s ok. The church looks presentable again. Well…it needs to be vacuumed.

This afternoon I’m going with Bethany to the doctor. She is developing a goiter. *Sigh* When it rains, it pours. She is already on thyroid medication, but she may need more. I’m going to ask the doctor to go ahead and run the radioactive iodine uptake test on her thyroid.

The good news about all the surgeries and such last year, is it reduced our income taxes by a huge amount. We paid, out of pocket, about $15,000 in medical bills last year. I’m not even going to tell you how much the insurance paid. I’m just glad we have insurance. Thank you, Lord!


Ask NBC, What Does Jay Leno Have Against Pregnant Women?

As the king of late night comedy, Jay Leno has few living peers. He is watched and beloved by millions of American viewers, which makes it difficult to understand his support for an organization that seeks to shut down facilities that have as their sole purpose to give a home and guidance to young ladies who find themselves pregnant with nowhere else to go.

On April 29th Jay Leno and his wife are hosting a fundraiser for the Feminist Majority Foundation, a radical pro-abortion group that not only advocates for abortion on demand, but also for the closing of pro-life pregnancy centers.

This month the Feminist Majority Foundation sent an e-mail to its 400 campus affiliates planning a nationwide protest against facilities that dare to offer women alternatives to abortion and the support they need to choose life.

Please let NBC know that is unacceptable and that you will not watch any show that stars Jay Leno until he apologizes to the hundreds of thousands of people who have been helped by pregnancy care centers and the hundreds of thousands of people who staff those centers.

Please contact Jeff Zucker, NBC Chief Executive, and ask him why his star, Jay Leno, is raising money for an organization that attacks pregnancy care centers.

Sincerely,
 Tony Perkins, President

6 thoughts on “Catching Up

  1. JOHN IS TRYING TO FIND A WAY TO PAY FOR HEALTH INSURANCE FOR US.  I CAN’T USE THE GOLD CARD ANYMORE BECAUSE JOHN MAKES OVER THE AMOUNT THEY REQUIRE FOR YOU TO HAVE THAT CARD. 
    AS FAR AS JAY LENO GOES AND ALL THE TALK SHOW HOSTS ON REGULAR NETWORKS (THE ONLY ONES THAT I CAN GET) AT LEAST ALL SEEM AS LIBERAL AS ONE CAN GET.  WELL THEN AGAIN A LOT OF NETWORKS HAVE THOSES WHO ADVOCATE THE HOMO’S LIFESTYLE AND OTHER LIBERAL AGENDAS WORKING IN THEIR HIGH OFFICES.  I PROPOSE THAT WE AS THE CHRISTIAN CONSUMERS SHOULD LET OUR OBJECTION RING HIGH FROM THE RAFTERS AND LET MR. ZUKER KNOW WE WILL NOT CONSUME HIS PRODUCT ANYMORE UNTIL THINGS CHANGE.  I PERSONALLY DON’T LIKE HIS OR DAVE LETTERMAN’S & OTHER SHOWS.    WAY TO LIBERAL FOR ME.(they tend to make fun or put down Christian values)………………………………….

  2. What Leno is doing is despicable.  
    Thank you so much for keeping us informed.  Praying for our nation and the church. 
    It’s something how we didn’t hear much on those red letters isn’t it? 
    Bless you!:wave:

  3. Oh, your background is so beautiful!!!  I wish I could have seen your play!  I so enjoy that sort if thing.  I believe it is a wonderful way to present the gospel message clearly and in a way that engages people.  I am praying God will bring much fruit from this…I know His Word will NOT return to Him void!  Thank you for your faithfulness to serve in the big ways and in the menial ways that so many will not “stoop” to do.  Our Lord washed feet, so we should never be above servng n any capacity.  You and your precious family have been a great model of that for us on xanga.  And poor Bethany!  I will be waiting for an update…I love you guys so very, very, very much…paula sue

  4. @DKT1978 – I agree, Debbie…they are so liberal and constantly ridicule our beliefs.
    I hope you are able to find insurance. You’ll need it if you go ahead and have the knee surgery. I will keep my ears open and let you know if I hear of any good deals. It won’t be too many more years and John can go on Medicare.

  5. @heyheypaula – Hi, Paula Girl! That background is a bush in our front yard. It’s an African Daisy. They are drought resistant, and just perfect for our Texas sun.
    I wish you could have been here for the play. I know you would have enjoyed it. We aren’t professional actors or singers, but we do a fair presentation. The thing is we did have some things that went wrong, and Beth and I were both struggling trying to sing. On one song where our youth/music minister sang with us (“Rise Again”), he was off on the timing, so it messes up when we come in on the chorus. But nobody noticed it! Sooo many people told us it was so good, and one lady said Beth and I sounded better on “I’ve Just Seen Jesus” than she had ever heard. We’ve done it 3 other times. But we had prayed that God would just take over and do this play and music for us, so that people would see and hear Him instead of us. And He did just that! Kind of reminds me of the speaking in tongues in scripture. It sounded one way when it came out, but sounded entirely different to those who heard it. It’s purely a God thing!
    Love you very much!!! :heartbeat: :love: :heartbeat:

Leave a Reply

