Senior Survey

Steve posted a good video. Mike has a good video, also. 

Steve also did this survey.

 

Updated                                    Got this from Carolyn Justice…

Fill this out about your SENIOR year of high school! The longer ago it was, the more fun the answers will be!! And a picture or pics make it more fun!

1. Did you date someone from your school? Yes, but not many (3, I think.) I didn’t date a lot.

2. Did you marry someone from your high school? Oh, no…I married someone from a far away state.

3. Did you car pool to school? No. My parents always took me to school. I did not get a car till about a month before I graduated. I couldn’t drive it to school then, because permits were issued at the beginning of the school year.

4. What kind of car did you have? A maroon For Mustang! At that time, the fad was to have carpet in your house, that was “patchwork.” You took carpet scraps from a carpet store dumpster, and glued down all pieces and colors. I did that to my car. The carpet glue smell was horrible for a long time. Good thing I rode with windows down, since it did not have AC. Yesterday, when I took my mom to the doctor, they were gluing down carpet in the building, and I smelled that carpet glue smell again. Reminded me of my car.

5. What kind of car do you have now? Cadillac Deville Concours. It does not have patchwork carpet.

6. Its Saturday night…where are you now? Almost always at home, since the next day is church most of day. Besides…we are boring people and rarely go anywhere. Church, the store, or Brandon and Rachael’s is usually where we are.

7. It is Saturday night…where were you then? Either at home, or at the home of church friends.

8. What kind of job did you have in high school? I did not have a job. My parents always said I had the rest of my life to work.

9. What kind of job do you do now? Stay-at-home mom, church treasurer, Vacation Bible School director, deacon’s wife, general gopher…

10. Were you a party animal? Hahahahahahahaha…..that’s a good one.

11. Were you considered a flirt? No…not in high school. (Randy, keep your mouth shut!) I got a little braver as I got older.

12. Were you in band, orchestra, or choir? Choir! It was my favorite class.

13. Were you a nerd? Goodness, no. But I married one. And nerd is the dominant gene when you have kids.

14. Did you get suspended or expelled? No, no, no. I was a good student. I was usually a favorite student of my teachers.

15. Can you sing the fight song? I probably could if I thought about it long enough. I could always sing it in school. I knew all the words.

16. Who was/were your favorite teacher(s)? Oh, I don’t think I really had any favorite teachers in high school. I liked most of them, but I didn’t have any favorites.

17. Where did you sit during lunch? Usually with a group from choir. We would start out in the cafeteria, and usually go outside in the courtyard.

18. What was your school’s full name? South Houston Senior High School.

19. When did you graduate? 1975. The last day of school for seniors who did not have to take finals, was May 17. Our graduation was actually May 23. But don’t ask me what I ate yesterday. I can’t remember.

20. What was your school mascot? Trojans! Yeah…go ahead. Make fun. Everybody did.

21. If you could go back and do it again, would you? NO!!!!! There’s not enough money in the world to make me be a teenager again.

22. Did you have fun at Prom? Sure. I went my sophmore year with a senior I was dating. Then I went my senior year, with a guy that was in choir with me. Never went out with him again.

23. Do you still talk to the person you went to Prom with? No. I have not seen him since graduation. (Jennifer, his last name was the same as yours.)

24. Are you planning on going to your next reunion? No. I went to my 10 year reunion in 1985. That was enough. Not that many people actually remember me. But we went to Steve’s 20 year reunion. People remember him…he was in sports and he was class president. That’s my claim to fame.

25. Do you still talk to people from school? I email with Randy some, and he’s a Facebook friend. And the mom of Lucio is a member of our church, so I see him some. I hardly ever see my cousin, who was in my class.

26. School Colors? Red and Gray (me, too, Carolyn J.)

27. What celebrities came from your high school? Well, I’m not aware of any from the time I was in school. But several years later, when my youngest sister went there, one of her teachers had been a Mr. Universe.

EDIT: I found this on Wikipedia…..(I guess we did have some famous people you never heard of…)

Notable Alumni

  • Nathan Isgur (1964): World class theoretical physicist; winner of Sakurai Prize in Physics; Chief Scientist of Jefferson Physics Lab.
  • Cheryl Williams Bolen (1964): Journalist and author of several historical romance novels.
  • Bobby Allen (1965): Lettered three years in football for Texas Tech, Red Raiders’ leading receiver in 1968.
  • Emory Gadd (1965): South Belt community leader and youth minister.
  • Dr. Paul Zanowiak (1965): Dentist, humanitarian, adventurer and free-lance photographer; established dental clinic at the foot of Mount Everest.
  • Suzanne Covington (1967): District court judge, Travis County, Texas.
  • Darrell Harris (1967): Founder, Star Song, Nashville, contemporary Christian music label featuring several top Christian music artists, including the Resurrection Band and the Newsboys, acquired in 1996 by EMI.
  • Katie Murphy Layman (1967): TV actress, appeared in “Another World” and other shows.
  • Michael Lindsey (1969): Southern California attorney and American Bar Association authority on anti-trust, franchise and intellectual properties law.
  • Ray Salazar (1969): Founding member of The Sound Investment, a popular Houston rock band from the late 1960s, opening act for several major touring performers, including The Who, the Beach Boys, Janis Joplin and Buffalo Springfield. Group scored a regional hit with “Don’t Stop The Carnival.”
  • Deborah Wrigley (1969): TV reporter for KTRK-TV in Houston.
  • Larry Brotherton (1970): Novelist, author of “Uvalde.”
  • Al Carter (1970): Sports journalist and editor; former columnist for the Houston Chronicle, Houston Post and Dallas Morning News.
  • Sylvia Cisneros (1970): Former Chicago TV reporter; helped break the story of the John Wayne Gacy murder case in 1978.
  • Donella Coffey (1970): Movie/TV production assistant; movie producer, based in Hollywood.
  • Marvin Isgur (1970): Lawyer and U.S. bankruptcy judge in Houston.
  • Mary Lund (1970): Nationally known family psychologist, based in Los Angeles.
  • Susan Cobb Duff (1971): Movie producer, mother/manager of actresses Hilary Duff and Haylie Duff.
  • Steve Englishbey (1972): Professional baseball player, first-round draft pick of the Houston Astros in 1972.
  • Wes Hubert (1976): Football player, All-Southwest Conference center for the Texas Longhorns in 1979.
  • Cynthia Cisneros: (1977), TV reporter for KTRK-TV in Houston.
  • Chris Tremie (1988): Former Major League catcher with the Chicago White Sox, Texas Rangers, Pittsburgh Pirates and Houston Astros.

28. Did you attend your Graduation? Oh, yeah. I wouldn’t have missed it. Well, I guess I would have if I didn’t pass, but that wasn’t a problem.

Carolyn (sorry Carolyns J & G…I’m talking to my aunt…) I remember going to Mike’s graduation. I thought I was so grown up, getting to go to his graduation. I think I was…5? I can’t remember a lot, but I do remember a scene in my mind, where I was standing by Mamma and Daddy (they were on my left), and Maw-Maw and Paw-Paw on my right. Don’t know why I rememer that detail. As we were standing there, Mike walked up to us. I just thought it was so neat…I was so proud of him. And then he use to tell me he should have strangled me in my crib. Nieces get no respect!   

So here’s a few pictures. The first was me (right) and my friend Gwen, the summer after I graduated. Gwen was in choir with me, and was a year behind me in school. Her older sister, Sharon, and my mom’s sister, were good friends in high school. Sharon was killed in a head-on car crash, when I was in the 6th grade. She was 20 years old.

Gwen and Cindy 1975

My senior picture. It was taken in the summer of 1974, when I was 17:

Cindy - High School Graduation

Prom my senior year:

Cindy and Dale 1975

11 thoughts on “Senior Survey

  1. Hey Cindy, thanks for doing this one, too. I learned some things about you, and I love the pictures and the facts that you put at the end. :heartbeat:Fun and educational! I didn’t know about the patchwork quilt in the car fad. But then, I went straight from high school to college, and didn’t get a car until after I was through college, and in the late summer prior to my first teaching job that fall. We have so many of our answers that match; and some that you answered, I could have answered similarly, just took a different route. (For example – 1,2, 6-8, 10-14, 16, 21, 26, & 28. I not only see Beth, but seeing your highschool grad pix, I see Brandon in you, too! :yes: Not sure why #20 would cause a laugh. Lots of schools have that as a mascot; Shaun’s high school does. Well, I’m off to bed. Love muchliest! Carolyn :love:

  2. Wow, look at those pics… those were the days, eh? I had a brown Ford Maverick for my first car in High School… I had to constantly put water in the radiator because it leaked… we would never allow our kids these days to do that! ha!Tell Steve to have a nice Father’s Day and you all have a wonderful day!Love ya!

  3. Interesting to see how overseas schools operate! We don’t have cafeteria’s here and we had to take lunch tins to school everyday. Our school year also starts in January and ends in December and the Prom is called the Matric Farewell. I agree…no amount of money would tempt me to go back to school. Awful!

  4. @Gotta_tell_somebody – That is very different! And in our cafeterias, we could either bring our own lunches, or buy it there. Most often I took mine. My parents could not afford for me to buy my lunch every day. In high school, we not only had hot lunches in the cafeteria, but we also had an “automat” where we could get things from a vending machine.

  5. @JusticeMom – :yes: I always saw Brandon in me. My baby pics and his look a lot alike. And Beth’s always looked like Steve. That’s why I had such a hard time when people said she looked like me, because I thought she looked like him.

Leave a Reply

