Diabetes

Beth had her glucose tolerance test today. We won’t get the actual results till next week, but I think we can figure that one out.

It was supposed to be a 4 hour test. They take a blood sample, and then give you 75 grams of a glucose solution, which is sickeningly sweet. Then the blood is drawn every hour for 4 hours. In the meantime, she was testing her blood every half hour, with the meter she uses.

Keep in mind a fasting blood sugar should not be over 100 in a normal person. And in a normal person, the sugar level should never get higher than 140. Well, her high at 1-1/2 hours was 231. Her low point got interesting. They drew blood at 3 hours, and then at about 3-1/2 hours, she took it again. She was starting to feel really light headed and strange. Well, her sugar level had crashed to 54.

I went to the desk and told them, and the receptionist jumped up and said she was going to tell the doctor. She came back with a handful of chocolate candy and said he wanted her to eat that. He also stopped the test 1/2 hour short, so we could get her sugar level back up to keep her from passing out.

The doctor came out and told us when her sugar level came up some, to go to McDonald’s and get something really fatty. She told him he would now be her favorite doctor. He kind of giggled like a girl. This is Dr. Charlie Chang.

The chocolate only brought it up to 57. She tried to stand up and couldn’t. So I told her to take a glucose tablet. That brought it up to 73 in about 10 minutes, which is low but acceptable. We went to Chick-fil-A.

We’ll go back to see him when the test results are in, but I think I can guess what they will be.

She normally goes to a Bible study on Thursday night, run by a friend from work. But tonight she is just feeling too wiped out to go.

In the meantime, we have 2 new baby kittens. Buddie had her kitties today.

babies 7-2-09  

 

11 thoughts on “Diabetes

  1. Thank you for the quick response, Cindy. I hope that the meal helped Beth to feel better. Dr. Chang is a cutie; and so are those babies!! :heartbeat: I shall be praying re: Beth’s medical situation. Hugs to her from me – hugs are very good for keeping the cholesterol down, you know. We heard about this early in our marriage, and we both have low cholesterol; Mike and I “swear” by it!! :love:  

  2. I’ll be praying for Beth’s medical issues … I’m so glad that she has you and Steve to look out for her, take care of her, and pray for her … y’all are awesome parents! :heartbeat:

  3. Sugar problems are always scary. Diabetes runs in my family and my husband’s family. My grandmother lost a leg and then her life to it. I fear for our children. I will pray for your Beth. It is scary that she is having those problems, but its so good that she is getting the help she needs! Such precious kittens! You are lucky for only two. When our cat had kittens she had 10! It was difficult finding homes for them all.

  4. @chosenandblessed – Well, we kind of have a problem with the cat thing. We have 23 cats now. The explosion in number has happened over the last 2 years. We had a stray mamma cat that had 3 kittens here 2 years ago. She was wild, and we could not catch her to have her spayed. Then last year she had 7. She died when the last litter was small, but now they are grown, and before we had them all fixed one of them got pregnant. That’s our 2 new kittens. We run a zoo here πŸ˜† We use to have a cat that had 10 in one litter and 12 in another. Five lived out of the 10, but only 1 out of the 12. Many of them were born quite premature. Buddie has her two babies under the couch, and she won’t let me move them. I have to keep trying. I have a box set up, but she wants them under there. Diabetes runs on both sides of my family (both parents, and several grand and great-grandparents, and a nephew). And my husband has type 2. So I just figure our kids are doomed. Bethany has a host of medical problems.

  5. @TXMom2Jami – Thank you, Laura. You are so encouraging. I don’t think we deserve that “awesome parents” title. (I know the kids don’t think so! πŸ˜† ) Thank you so much for the prayers. I am sitting here right now, studying online different problems that I believe she probably has. When you have all the medical problems we have, you have to do your homework. It often puts me in a position of knowing more about autoimmune diseases than a lot of doctors know. But I have to do it.

  6. I do hope Beth will not be saddled with this disease. My Dad had diabetes, and he lived to be 85. He was not very good about eating right and taking his medication, either! At least now, people can live a pretty normal life if they follow the rules. ~~ You certainly have plenty of cats! My daughter has been trying to catch some of the feral cats that keep having babies around where she lives. It can be such a problem.

  7. @DanishDoll – Thank you. It definitely would not be my choice for her to have it, either. But both my parents are diabetic (my dad’s is mild and diet controlled). My mom is on insulin. She was diagnosed as a child. Her grandfather and his brother were diabetics not well controlled (type 1). My dad’s dad had it from a very young age, but it could have been diet controlled and he did not control it. He thought ice cream was a must. :wha: I am so glad we know so much more about it now.Yes, we have plenty of cats for us and everybody else! πŸ˜† All the stray cats seem to come to our house. I try to get them fixed, but it’s expensive, and sometimes I fail. :sigh: πŸ˜₯

Leave a Reply

