A long time ago…

Updated at the bottom:


Thought I would give you guys something to laugh at. I certainly did when I saw this.

Last night I emailed my sister, Laurie, and asked her to send me some more pictures from her wedding. For some strange reason, I don’t have but one. That’s odd, because I always have a camera in my hand. I guess since I sang at the wedding, I wasn’t thinking pictures. So she sent me this one:

That’s me pinning her veil on. I almost did not recognize myself. I thought I was heavy back then. I was certainly heavier than I was before I had children. Brandon was about 10 months old when this was taken. I just didn’t have any idea how much worse it would get

She’s wearing my wedding dress and veil. So we really got our money’s worth out of that veil. I actually made it for another sister’s first wedding (I’m the oldest, but I didn’t get married first), and then I wore it. Then Laurie wore it.  It’s still hanging in our closet.

She got married 27 years ago next month.



I had another weird dream last night. I dreamed that Beth was dating somebody she didn’t want us to know about.

And the night before, I dreamed Ethan got married.

6 thoughts on “A long time ago…

  1. Oh I love this shot!  This is precious and you are very, very pretty indeed. : )  You thought you were heavy?  (falls off chair)  I know how you feel though, my waist just isn’t as teeny tiny as it once was….Life and time kinda changes things.  You take care now, love the story of the wedding veil….Talk about making memories!!!  Wow.  Priceless shot.   Love to you,    ~Amelia

  2. If that’s fat I’m in big trouble!  Love the picture….looks like good memories.  You must have dating and marriage of your kid’s or someone on your mind with all these dreams and picture collecting……wedding something anyway…

  3. @The_Ragged_Edge –  😆 Well, I’m in big trouble now, too, then. All the picture collecting is because I am making a grandmother’s scrapbook for my mom to look at while she’s in the hospital. I also framed one of her wedding and took it up there. It’s sitting on a table by her bed, along with lots of flowers and a teddy bear. I have 3 sisters, and I am doing a section on each sister and their families.

  4. @thats_italian –  :giggle: I really did, Amelia. I was about 10 lbs heavier than I was when I got pregnant with Brandon. And I thought it was just awful. I just didn’t know. When we were young, my mom was very heavy and she was always telling us not to eat this or that because “you don’t want to look like me.” And we didn’t, but telling us that had an unintended effect. One sister became anorexic. And when I gained a little, it really upset me. Now I have gained a LOT. I just tell people I am twice the woman I used to be. :giggle:

  5. I was like you after my first child! I thought I’d gotten fat! When I look back on those pictures I am floored at how teeny I was! NObody warned me that strange things would change my body!  Well, have a good night, my dear. I’m going to bed soon. Grace’s surgery went well and they’re headed home, (2 hours from Phx.) Thank the Lord! love, GAil

  6. A whole chunk of message didn’t get sent! Oh well! Cute picture! I was the same way!  Oh and FYI, Grace’s surgery went well; they’re headed home. It’s a 2 hour drive or so; they’re no doubt, exhausted. But praise GOD! love,GAil

Leave a Reply

