Heard on the radio yesterday…


For those of you who are not on Facebook, I learned yesterday that my cousin, Greg, has cancer again. This is his 5th time. This time it’s terminal. He had Hodgkins Lymphoma when he was about 20 or 21, and had a lot of radiation treatment. He later developed a tumor on his brain stem. The doctors at M.D. Anderson removed it, but damaged a facial nerve in the process. One side of his face droops slightly.

Later he developed thyroid cancer, but had it removed and was fine. Then last year, they found tumors in his neck, mouth and kidneys. They were all removed and there was no sign of cancer. But the tumors have returned in his neck.

Greg sang, too. After high school, he sang at a number of beauty pageants here in Texas. He married a girl who sang in a group with her sisters.

The doctors have given him 6-8 months to live. He is 49 years old, married to Leslie, and has 3 children…Lexi, Christian and Noah. They now live in North Carolina. I am sure I will not see him before God takes him.

The last time I saw him was at our grandmother’s funeral in March 2000. Since he lives so far away, and running a company took up his time, he missed a few family reunions. But we’ve emailed.

Our families were always together when we were growing up, and we even went to high school together (although Greg is 3-1/2 years younger than me). His sister and I are the same age. He was kind of like a little brother that bugged me a lot. His life kind of started going in the wrong direction in high school, but it seemed to get back on a good path after the first bout with cancer.

At our grandmother’s funeral, he hugged me a number of times, and told me he loved me. I will always remember that.

20 thoughts on “Heard on the radio yesterday…

  1. @DanishDoll – Thank you, Mae. I hate it, too. My mom’s mom died of non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma in 1972, and my cousin, Jill, developed Inflammatory Breast Cancer about 3 years ago. On my dad’s side, there is skin cancer, but it’s never been serious. And then there’s Greg. He’s been hit really hard.

  2. Sorry to hear about this….we live far away from our family too and times like this are so difficult, I understand some of the emotions you are expressing…I like your profile picture…Blessings to you!Mike

  3. @xThexGodfatherx – Thanks, Mike. He and his parents are really the only close family that live very far away. My aunt (Daddy’s sister) was born here in TX. But Greg married a girl in Georgia, and moved there after they married. Then they moved again, to South Carolina, and then North Carolina. I’ve told them I wish they would stay put. His parents moved there to live near them after my uncle retired from NASA. He now works in the company Greg owns.I am going to ask for prayer for a situation that will arise after Greg dies, though. My aunt tries to run everything, and she will give Greg’s wife heck with raising the kids after Greg dies. Leslie will need much strength.

  4. @clintspirations –  :giggle: Thanks, Chet. The picture is actually not new…it was taken at my 50th birthday part at Red Lobster almost 3 years ago. I just thought it was time to change pics. Bethany took that one.The cat pic cracked me up. I heard Gabe (Gabriel Peter on Xanga and FB) say that on air Monday, so last night Steve came across that picture and told me I needed to send it to Gabe. So I just posted it. Looks like that cat has some size 13 feet!Thank you for the prayers for Greg. Yes, he is a Christian, for which I am very thankful.

  5. Hi Cindy ~ I’m working my way backwards with some of your blogs. 1. I am so sorry to hear that Greg’s cancer is back again. I’m so glad that he got back on track with the Lord. I am praying for him and his family now. I know that the last time you were together in person, that time will always be a very special, dear memory for you. I also just read over the comments made and your replies, and so will pray for Leslie, especially. Is she too a Christian? I do love both the (new, but not new)picture, as well as your beautiful background for the site. Very nice!! :goodjob: And I always love the cat humor!~ BIG HUGS! :love:

Leave a Reply

