My Grace is Sufficient

Just something that has been on my mind the last couple of days:

I believe in miracles. Our God….the creator of the entire universe….can and does work miracles. I believe he works miracles all the time, that we don’t see as miracles. It’s mostly because we miss them. We don’t even see them.

I posted yesterday that I wonder why our kids inherit the bad things. The truth is, they inherit the good things, too, but those things don’t stand out to us like the things we consider bad stand out. Both of our kids are talented. They are smart.

But they have inherited illnesses from both of us. In my family (both parents’ sides) we have a long list of autoimmune diseases. We have rheumatoid arthritis, an inherited form of osteoarthritis, type 1 diabetes, autoimmune hypoglycemia, ulcerative colitis (and now Crohn’s disease), systemic lupus, and Sjogren’s Syndrome. We also have a list of neurological problems.

Both Bethany and Brandon have some of those illness, worse than I ever had them.

I do believe in praying for healing. God does heal illnesses sometimes…completely and permanently. He can show His glory in doing that. But I also believe much more often, He simply gives us the grace and strength to live with these diseases.

Think of the glory He can get from that! When someone can do the work God has for them to do, in spite of an affliction, it shows God’s power. And it shows faith.

I do pray for healing. But in case it is not God’s plan for complete healing (and I know I’m going to step on toes, but I don’t believe it IS always His plan), I pray for strength to live with the illnesses. It was God’s choice not to heal Paul of his affliction, and it might not be His choice to heal us.

2 Cor 12:8-10
8 Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me. 9 But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. 10 That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong. NIV

prayer-kneel
6 thoughts on “My Grace is Sufficient

  1. I totally agree with what you’re saying. Sometimes it’s not His will … if you want to read a blog written by a gal who illustrates what you’ve written with great beauty, go here: http://gitzengirl.blogspot.com/ Sara has Ankylosing Spondylitis, and her disease has progressed to such a degree that she is unable to leave her condo any longer. Having said that, she is the most amazing gal – having a huge impact on others with her blog, sharing what God has done in her and through her by way of this disease. Someone asked her recently if she could erase her years of suffering the disease to be completely health, would she do it? And she said she doesn’t think so, because she would not be the person she is today and she would not have learned to rely fully on God if she’d not had this.Isn’t that amazing? I encourage you to read her blog when you have time. {{{hugs}}}

Leave a Reply

